Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission

Virtual Meeting via Zoom Webinar. Full agenda, presentations, and video recordings are available at Michigan.gov/MICRC

Thursday, September 21, 2023 10:03 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

MINUTES

PRESENT: Douglas James Clark (remotely from Rochester Hills,

Michigan)

Juanita Curry (remotely from Rochester, Michigan) Anthony Eid (remotely from Detroit, Michigan) Rhonda Lange (remotely from Reed City, Michigan)

Khohda Lange (remotely from Reed City, Michigan)

Steven Terry Lett (remotely from Grand Traverse County,

Michigan)

Cynthia Orton (remotely from Battle Creek, Michigan)

MC Rothhorn (remotely from Lansing, Michigan)

Rebecca Szetela (remotely from Wayne County, Michigan)

Janice Vallette (remotely from Highland Township, Michigan) Erin Wagner (remotely from Eaton Township, Michigan)

Richard Weiss (remotely from Saginaw Township, Saginaw,

Michigan)

Dustin Witjes (remotely from Cook County, Illinois)

OTHERS PRESENT: Edward Woods III, Executive Director

Michigan Department of State ("MDOS") staff

Fink Bressack

ABSENT: Brittni Kellom

CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME

Commissioner Clark, Chair, called the meeting of the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (MICRC), to order at 10:03 a.m.

ROLL CALL

MDOS staff called roll. A quorum was met with 12 commissioners present.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

MOTION: To remove the review of the Constitution from unfinished business that is agenda item 5A. Moved by Commissioner Szetela. Supported by Commissioner Lange. MOTION APPROVED, 11-1.

MOTION: To adopt the amended agenda. Moved by Commissioner Lett. Supported by Commissioner Orton. MOTION APPROVED.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERTAINING TO AGENDA TOPICS

Commissioner Clark, Chair, put forth the motion "to begin public comment pertaining to the agenda topics portion of the agenda", which was adopted. One individual provided public comment: James Gallant.

A complete inventory of live and written public comment is available at www.michigan.gov/micre.

UNFUNISHED BUSINESS

- b. Review of the Ode of Conduct. Nate Fink, Fink Bressack, and Executive Director Edward Woods III, shared proposed changes and facilitated the discussion for Code of Conduct. After discussion, it was agreed that Mr. Fink and Mr. Woods would bring back a revised document.
- c. Review of the Conflict of Interest Policy. Nate Fink, Fink Bressack, and Executive Director Edward Woods III shared proposed changes and facilitated the discussion for the Conflict of Interest Policy. After discussion, it was agreed that Mr. Fink and Mr. Woods would bring back a revised document.

NEW BUSINESS

a. <u>Vacation Request for the Executive Director</u>. Commissioner Clark, Chair, presented a request for vacation from Monday, September 25, 2023, to Friday, September 29, 2023 for Executive Director Edward Woods III. **Moved by Commissioner Lett. Supported by Commissioner Szetela. MOTION APPROVED, 11-1**

- b. <u>Fiscal Year 23 Financial Report for August 2023.</u> Executive Director Edward Woods III presented this item.
- c. <u>Extend the Abacus Services Corporation Contract.</u> Executive Director Edward Woods III presented this item. **Moved by Commissioner Lett. Supported by Commissioner Rotthorn. MOTION APPROVED.**
- d. <u>Increase the Financial Cap for the Aggregate Litigation Counsel Baker Hostetler.</u> Edward Woods III presented this item. Moved by Commissioner Lett. Supported by Commissioner Orton. Commissioner Clark, Chair, held a vote by roll call. **MOTION APPROVED, 8-3.**

Commissioner	<u>Vote</u>
Doug Clark	Yes
Juanita Curry	Not present to vote.
Anthony Eid	Yes
Rhonda Lange	No
Steve Lett	Yes
Cynthia Orton	Yes
MC Rothhorn	Yes
Rebecca Szetela	No
Janice Vallette	Yes
Erin Wagner	No
Richard Weiss	Yes
Dustin Witjes	Yes

e. <u>Election of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson</u>. Commissioner Clark, Chair, opened the election process with requesting nominations for Chairperson. Commissioner Orton was the only one nominated who accepted. Commissioner Cynthia Orton was elected as the new Chairperson, 9-2.

Commissioner Clark, Chair, opened the election process with requesting nominations for Vice Chairperson. Commissioners nominated Commissioners Vallette and Szetela. Both accepted their nomination. Commissioner Clark, Chair,

held a roll call vote. Commissioner Janice Vallette was elected as the new Vice Chairperson, 8-3.

Commissioner Vote

Doug Clark Vallette

Juanita Curry Not present to vote.

Anthony Eid Vallette

Rhonda Lange Szetela

Steve Lett Vallette

Cynthia Orton Vallette

MC Rothhorn Vallette

Rebecca Szetela Szetela

Janice Vallette Vallette

Erin Wagner Szetela

Richard Weiss Vallette

Dustin Witjes Vallette

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

a July 20, 2023

MOTION: Approve the minutes of July 20, 2023, meeting. Motion by Commissioner Lett. Supported by Commissioner Rothhorn. Commissioner Orton, Chair, held a vote by show of hands. MOTION APPROVED.

Referred the August 17, 2023, minutes for consideration at the next Commission meeting.

REPORTS

<u>Executive Director Report.</u> Executive Director Edward Woods III presented updates to the Commission.

<u>Legal Liaison Report.</u> Commissioner Lett presented legal updates to the Commission.

MDOS Report. MDOS Staff had no report.

CORRESPONDENCE

None provided.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

No items provided.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Commission shared announcements.

ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Commissioner Lett to adjourn the meeting. Supported by Commissioner Rothhorn. Chair Orton held a vote by show of hands. **MOTION APPROVED.**

The meeting was adjourned at 11:30 a.m.