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The National Scene
Safe Haven Laws

* Increase in infant abandonment in
the late 1990’s

» Safe Haven laws enacted in
response

* All states in the U.S. have passed
Safe Haven legislation, including
the District of Columbia.

Source: National Safe Haven Alliance, https://www.nationalsafehavenalliance.org/




Who Abandons a Newborn?

* No “typical” profile

* Infant abandonment crosses all
* Socioeconomic groups
* Ages
* Races & Ethnicities

* Educational Levels




Michigan’s Safe Delivery of Newborns
History & Legislation

Michigan lawmakers enact Safe
Delivery of Newborns law,
effective January 1, 2001.

The law was amended in 2002,
2003, 2006, and 2010.

Legal protections to surrender a
newborn safely and confidentially

Safe, legal, and confidential

Toll Free 24/7 Safe Delivery
Hotline: 1-866-733-7733




Safe Delivery of Newborns Law

® Parent(s) can surrender a newborn up to 72 hours (3 days) old to an Emergency Service
Provider (ESP) who is on site and on duty.

* ESP is an employee/contractor of a
* Hospital

* Fire Department
* Police

* Emergency Medical Services (EMS) or paramedic when responding to a 9-1-1
emergency call

* The newborn will be examined by a physician.

* The newborn, if unharmed, will be transferred to a child placing agency to be placed with
an approved prospective adoptive family.

* Surrendering parent(s) may petition the court within 28 days of the surrender to regain
custody.

Source: 1939 PA 288, MCL 712.1t0 712.20
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Safe Delivery Statistics

* 239 safe surrenders in 38 counties ‘
throughout Michigan since the law
was enacted on January 1, 2001

* Where have the surrenders
occurred?

* Hospitals: 232

* Fire Departments: 6
* Police Stations: 1

* 9-1-1Call: 0

m Hospitals m Fire Departments

m Police Stations  m 9-1-1 Calls

Data from 1/1/2001 - 2/25/2019
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The Surrendering Parent(s)

* At the time of the surrender, the parent(s) will
* Be Informed that the newborn will be placed for adoption

* Have the opportunity to provide family/medical information, which will be kept confidential
* Have the opportunity to sign a release of parental rights
* Be Informed that information they share will be kept confidential

* No criminal investigation will be initiated, just based on the newborn being surrendered.
* May receive confidential counseling and/or medical care
* Parent(s) have 28 days to petition the court for custody.

* May surrender the newborn without providing any information
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Responsibilities of the
Emergency Service Provider (ESP)



Responsibilities of the ESP

* ESP immediately accepts surrendered newborn, taking the newborn
into temporary protective custody.

* Make a reasonable effort to do the following:
Protect the health and safety of the newborn

* Inform parent that newborn will be placed for adoption

* Inform parent they have 28 days to petition the court for custody

* Provide Safe Delivery approved written information

* Encourage the parent(s) to provide family/medical background information
* Inform parent(s) of counseling and/or medical care

* Ask parent to identify himself/herself and non-surrendering parent

* Inform parent they may sign a voluntary release of parental rights

* Inform the parent, that information shared will be kept confidential
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Responsibilities of the ESP
Continued

* An ESP that is not a hospital will transfer the newborn to a hospital

* The hospital will take the newborn into temporary protective custody
* A physician will examine the newborn

* If the newborn is unharmed and is determined to be 72 hours old or less, the hospital will notify
a child placing agency.

Source: 1939 PA 288, MCL 712.1 to 712.20
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Responsibilities of the
Child Placing Agency

* Once notified by hospital, immediately assume care, control and temporary protective custody
of newborn.

* Meet with the parent, if known and willing
* Place newborn with approved prospective adoptive family

* If birth was not witnessed by ESP, immediately request assistance from law enforcement to
investigate and determine whether the newborn is a missing child.

* File a placement petition in court

* Attempt to identify, locate, and provide notice of the surrender to the non-surrendering parent.

* Petition for termination of parental rights




What Happens to the Newborn?

* The newborn, if unharmed, will be placed with a prospective adoptive family under temporary
custody of the court

* After 28 days, the child placing agency petitions for termination of parental rights unless the
surrendering parent petitions for return

» After the 28 days for the parent(s) to petition the court elapses, there will be a hearing to terminate
parental rights

* The parent will not receive personal notice of the hearing

* The newborn will be placed for adoption as soon as parental rights have been legally
terminated
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Safe Delivery Surrender Flowchart

Scenario 1 Scenario 2

Mother gives birth

Mother gives birth
in hospital

outside hospital

: N\

Parent surrenders newborn
Parent surrenders newborn fie mEre dhem T2 heurs el Parent calls 9-1-1
no more than 72 hours old to ESP inside hospital, fire and surrenders to EMS
to hospital staff or police station

y
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assurances of confidentiality™
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Parent will be asked
to share information with
assurances of confidentiality™®

v

Hospital assumes Fire, EMS, or Police
temporary protective < will transfer

custody surrendered newborn

v

Physician
examines newborn

Suspects abuse
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and/or neglect
and/or neglect or older than 72 hours
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Contact adoption STOP HERE—Safe Delivery
agency law doeTot apply

¢ IMMEDIATELY contact

Children’s Protective Services

Adoption Agency:

® Assumes temporary protective

custody KEY
® PLaces_ OORiFEITEE SRS [DFSH CEE AT ESP: Emergency Service Provider is an
adoptive parent(s)

employee or contractor of a hospital,
fire department, or police station who
is inside the premises and on duty

*Parent may leave at any time < W=
without sharing information emergency medical technician

EMS: is defined as a paramedic or an
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The Safe Delivery Program

* Education and Technical Assistance to
Emergency Service Providers

* Public Awareness of Safe Delivery

- Safe Delivery Hotline S f '

DELIVERY

Safe. Legal. Confidential.




Safe Delivery Information

For more information:

* Please visit www.michigan.gov/safedelivery

* Email mdhhs-safedeliveryprogram@michigan.gov

* Toll-free 24/7 Hotline 1-866-733-7733



http://www.michigan.gov/safedelivery
mailto:mdhhs-safedeliveryprogram@michigan.gov

Questions?




Safe €y

Thank you!  DELIVERY

Safe. Legal. Confidential.

Audra Brummel

Infant Health Consultant

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
BrummelA@Michigan.gov

517-335-9017
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