STATE OF MICHIGAN

GRETCHEN WHITMER DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS ORLENE HAWKS
GOVERNOR LANSING DIRECTOR

RE: CHILD CARE HOME APPLICATION

Dear Applicant:

The following is information regarding application for a family child care home of 6 or
less children or a group child care home of 7 — 12 children.

Instructions and additional materials are included which will assist you in completing the
application.

Please complete and return all of the required application materials with the application
fee to:

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Community and Health Systems

P.O. Box 30664

Lansing, M| 48909-8164

All of the required application materials must be returned in the same envelope. The
application fee is $50.00 for a family child care home application or $100.00 for a group
child care home application. The check or money order for payment of the application
fee must be payable to the “State of Michigan.”

Please make and keep copies of all documents submitted to the Bureau of
Community and Health Systems for future reference.

For additional information, please contact the Licensing Unit at (517) 284-9738 or toll
free at 866-685-0006 or fax to (517) 284-97009.

Thank you.

P.O. BOX 30664 « LANSING, MICHIGAN 48909-8164

www.michigan.gov e (517) 335-1980
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CHILD CARE HOME APPLICATION PROCESS

Return ALL of the items listed below as a COMPLETE PACKET. All items must be filled out and
returned together in the same envelope to:

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Community and Health Systems

P.O. Box 30664

Lansing, M|l 48909-8164

1. Child Care Application (BCAL-3970).
2.  Supplemental Information Form (BCAL-3737).

3. FOR GROUP CHILD CARE HOMES ONLY: Zoning Approval for Group Child Care Homes
(BCAL-3748). Approval for a special use permit or other similar permit to run a group child
care home must be obtained from your city or township, per the Michigan Zoning Enabling
Act,|_2006 PA 110. Your local zoning authority must complete this form and return it to the
applicant.

4. A $50.00 check or money order for family homes or $100.00 check or money order for group
homes, payable to the State of Michigan.

5. Upon application, you will receive a “launch letter” from the Child Care Background Check
unit. The letter will provide you with the instructions for activating your account in the Child
Care Background Check System. Once your account is activated, you may begin to enter all
individuals into the system requiring a comprehensive background check, which includes all
household members over age 18, all assistant caregivers (regardless of age) and all
unsupervised volunteers. You must be determined eligible by the Child Care Background
Check System in order to receive a child care license.

6. You must submit a Child Care Licensing Information Request (BCHS-CC-001) form for each
Licensee and Adult Household Member. These forms will be sent to you upon completion of
your application.

7. A Medical Clearance Request (BCAL-3704-CC) for you and each assistant caregiver. The
Patient Information section must be completed before submitting the form to your (or your
assistant caregiver’s) physician for completion.

8. Documentation of Tuberculosis (TB) testing results for all persons in the home who are 14
years of age and older. Assistant caregivers must also have documentation of TB test results.

9. Documentation of valid infant/child/adult CPR, First Aid, and blood-borne pathogen training.
First aid and CPR training must be from a person certified as a trainer from an organization
approved by the department. See www.michigan.gov/michildcare-training for a list of
approved organizations.

10. Documentation of completion of the online training “Infant Safe Sleep Training for Child Care
Providers” available at www.michigan.gov/michildcare-training. > Infant Safe Sleep and
Shaken Baby Syndrome section.

11. Documentation that the level of radon gases does not exceed 4 picocuries per liter of air in

the lowest level of your home. See www.michigan.gov/deqradon for more information on
radon testing.
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12. Proof of inspection and approval of your heating system (includes wood-burning stoves and
any other permanently installed heating devices) and fuel-fired water heater within the past
12 months. Furnaces, other flame or heat-producing equipment used to heat the home when
children are in care and fuel-fired water heaters shall be inspected by one of the following

entities:
e Alicensed heating contractor for a fuel-fired furnace.

e Alicensed heating contractor or licensed plumbing contractor for fuel-fired water heater.
e A mechanical inspector for the local jurisdiction or licensed mechanical inspector for a

wood stove or other solid fuel appliance.

Note: Electric heat does not require an inspection.
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WHAT HAPPENS NEXT REGARDING THE CHILD CARE HOME APPLICATION PROCESS?

1. When you have returned the required application materials, they will be reviewed and
evaluated. (An incomplete application packet will be returned to you.)

2. Environmental Health Inspection — If your application indicates that your home has a private
well and/or septic system, an environmental health inspection and approval of the system(s)
is required. The environmental health inspection, requested and paid for by BCHS, is done by
your local health authority prior to licensure.

3. After review and approval of your application materials, you will be scheduled for an orientation

by your local licensing office.

e This orientation lasts approximately 6 hours.

e It will cover the licensing rules and the Child Care Organizations Act (1973 PA 116).

e Additional information will be provided which will help you to be successful in the business
of caring for children.
Time will be provided for you to ask questions.
If you have questions about the orientation, please contact your local licensing
office.

4. Licensing Inspection — Once all required application materials have been submitted and are
complete, a licensing consultant will inspect your home to assess compliance with the
licensing rules. It is your responsibility to be in compliance with the rules and the law at the
time of the inspection and at all times thereatfter.

Items that must be available during the on-site inspection include:

e Atleast 1 functioning multipurpose fire extinguisher, with a rating of not less than 2A-10BC,
properly mounted on each floor level that will be used by child in care. [R400.1944(3)]

e A working smoke detector on each floor of your home. [R400.1944(1)]
e A carbon monoxide detector on each floor that is used by children in care. [R400.1934(3)]

e A posted evacuation and care plan for tornado, fire, and serious accident or injury.
[R400.1945]

e A written discipline policy. [R400.1913(1)]
IV. LICENSE ISSUANCE

As an applicant, you can expect the licensing process to take 3 to 6 months to complete after you
submit a complete application packet. Individual circumstances may effect the actual time required
to issue your license. Once it has been determined that you are in compliance with the rules and
the law you will be issued a 6 month original license.

1. Prior to the expiration of the 6 month original license, you will receive a renewal application
packet. After you submit a complete renewal application packet, an on-site inspection will
occur. If you continue to remain in compliance with the rules and the statute, you will then be
issued a regular license that is valid for 2 years.

2. 10 clock hours of training must be completed each year by the applicant. Annual training is
assessed by the calendar year. Note: The orientation session counts as 6 hours of training.
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PLEASE NOTE:
A license is issued to a specific person at a specific address.

¢ If you plan to move, contact BCHS prior to the move so that you can apply for a license at
your new address.

¢ If you decide to no longer care for children, contact your local licensing office to request
closure of your license.

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, PLEASE CALL THE LICENSING UNIT AT 1-866-685-0006 OR
VISIT OUR CHILD CARE WEBSITE (www.michigan.gov/michildcare).
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[ ] FAMILY - 6 or less CHILD CARE APPLICATION

[ JGROUP -7to12 Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

[ ] CENTER Bureau of Community and Health Systems

FOR CASHIER USE ONLY - Cashier code: 100201
License Number:

q BCHS USE ONLY > Application is:
(2] Original [] Renewal [] Other

COMPLETE FOR ALL APPLICANTS

If Individual, Applicant Name (Last, First, Middle)/If Entity, Corporate Name or Sponsoring Organization Name Social Security Number

or Federal ID Number

Joint Applicant Name (Last, First, Middle), If Applicable Social Security Number

Address (Street Number and Name) Telephone Number County
C )

City State Zip Code E-mail Address

Have You Been Previously Licensed To Care For Children Or Adults?
[1No [ Yes If Yes, License No.

Are You Currently Licensed To Care For Children Or Adults?
[1No [ Yes If Yes, License No.

Have You Applied For Any Other License To Care For Children Or Adults?

[ I have reviewed the Child Care Organizations Act (1973 PA 116)
and the licensing rules for the operation of the child care | ]
organization indicated above, and if granted a license, certificate
of approval, or certificate of registration, | agree to comply with
the Act and Rules.

[] | understand that the Department must enter and inspect my | []
home or center to enforce the Act and Rules. | give consent to
the Department to inspect my home or center for licensing

purposes which includes initial, renewal, interim, and follow-up J
inspections and complaint investigations. My consent includes
inspections of the proposed/approved child care areas of my O

home or center and non-child care areas that are relevant to the
licensing purpose. | understand that | may withdraw this consent
in whole or in part at any time, subject to licensing requirements.

[0 | agree not to care for more children at one time than my
licensed capacity states.

LINo [ Yes
Have You, Or Has Any Person That Will Be Assisting In The Care Of Children Or Living In The Child Care Home:
Been Convicted of an Offense Other Than A Minor Traffic Violation? [1 No [] Yes
A History Of Substantiated Abuse Or Neglect Of Children Or Adults? 1 No ] Yes
Check boxes to confirm statements have been read: [1 1 certify that | have a high school diploma, GED certificate or

equivalent (new family/group home applicants only).

| certify that | will notify the Department if | or any member of my
household or any person caring for children has been arraigned for
an offense specified in MCL 722.115r, MCL 722.115n or has a
history of substantiated child abuse or neglect.

| am aware of the legal provision that to operate a child care
organization without a license constitutes a misdemeanor as stated
in 1973 PA 116, Section 15.

| certify that any information | give in respect to the Department's
investigation will be, to the best of my ability, true and correct.

| give permission to the Michigan Department of Licensing and
Regulatory Affairs to contact persons, including those | give as
references, in order to determine if | am in compliance with the Act
and the Rules.

COMPLETE FOR CHILD CARE CENTER ONLY

Facility Name Corporate Name/Sponsoring Organization Name, if applicable
Address (Street Number and Name) Address (Street Number and Name)
City State Zip Code City State | Zip Code
Telephone Number County Telephone Number County
( ) ( )
Applicant’s E-mail Address Sponsoring Organization’s E-mail Address
Auspices Status
Governmental [J Local Government | L] State Government [] State College/University SI:(|end Mail To g?rforate
(Check One) L1 County Government_| [ 1 Community College [ Public School Facility aus
. . [ Licensee | (Check One)
Non-Governmental 1 Church (1 Parent Cooperative (1 Private Funded Comm. Org. ] None
(Check All That Apply) | [ privately Owned J Employee Sponsors [ Private School/College O Profit
] Non-Profit
Applicant/Representative Signature (If Corporation, Must Be Signed By Authorized Person.) Title Date

LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program.

AUTHORITY: 1973 PA 116
COMPLETION: Required
PENALTY: No license will be issued.
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[0 FAMILY -6 or less
O GROUP -7 to 12

SUPPLEMENTAL APPLICATION INFORMATION

Michigan Department of Licensi

ng and Regulatory Affairs

Bureau of Community and Health Systems

LICENSE NUMBER
FOR RENEWAL ONLY

[C] ORIGINAL

SECTION | APPLICANT AND FACILITY INFORMATION:

[0 RENEWAL

[] OTHER

Applicant Name (Last, First, Middle) Birthdate Soc Sec or FED ID Number | Phone Number
Co-applicant Name (If joint) Birthdate Soc Sec or FED ID Number | Phone Number
Address (Street Number & Name) City State | Zip Code
Mi
Name of Adult Who Will Assist in an Emergency Telephone Age
( )
Address (Street Number & Name) City State | Zip Code
Mi
Assistant Caregiver, If Any Age Assistant Caregiver, If Any Age
LIST ALL PERSON(S) LIVING IN YOUR HOME AND RELATIONSHIP
Name Birthdate Relationship Name Birthdate Relationship
Name Birthdate Relationship Name Birthdate Relationship
Name Birthdate Relationship Name Birthdate Relationship

Water Type: (check one)

Sewer Type: (check one)

Water Heater (check one)

Year Home was Built:

|:| Well D Public |:| Septic D Public |:| Gas [ Electric
Heat Type: (check all that apply) Date of Furnace Inspection
|:| Gas |:| Electric |:| Propane |:| Wood |:| Forced Air |:|| Boiler

Have you been previously or are you presently licensed for children or adults?

|:| Yes (License No.) }

DNO

Have you applied for any other license to care for children or adults?

El Yes (License No.) }

Number of Children for whom you wish to be licensed.

Who will provide food?

DNo
?

Length of time in present home.

List room names and sizes for children’s use. Basement Days and Time of Operation (indicate a.m./p.m.):
[ No [ Yes |Sunday From: To:
Where will children sleep/nap? Describe sleeping arrangements. Monday From: To:
Tuesday From: To:
Directions to Home (Indicate Nearest Intersection). Wednesday From: To:
Thursday From: To:
Friday From: To:
Saturday From: To:

SECTION Il - PROGRAM AND TRAINING INFORMATION

What will the children do during the day? Describe planned daily activities including provisions for outdoor play. List toys/materials — attach a separate sheet, if necessary.

How do you plan to supervise children at all times (in your home, outdoors, on field trips, etc.) — attach a separate sheet, if necessary.

Training (Check all that apply)

DI Have Completed:

O
0
|

Infant & Child CPR

<

Name of Training Agency

Date Card Received

Adult CPR
First Aid Training

4

Name of Training Agency

Date Card Received

D Have Not Completed:

O

Infant & Child CPR

[ Adutt

CPR

[] First Aid Training

I have [7] /have not[] completed 10 hours of training annually.

|AII assistant caregivers have [ ] /have not [ ] completed 5 hours of training annually.

Applicant/Licensee Signature

Date

Co-Applicant/Licensee Signature

Date

Authority: 1973 PA 116
Completion: Required
Penalty:

Applicant cannot be licensed/registered

LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program.
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ZONING APPROVAL FOR GROUP CHILD CARE HOMES
Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Community and Health Systems

Licensee Name:

Licensee Address:

License Type: DG — Group Child Care Home (capacity 7-12 children)
Zoning Authority:

According to the Michigan Zoning Enabling Act, 2006 PA 110, a group child care
home located in a county or township shall be issued a special use permit,
conditional use permit, or other similar permit if the group child care home meet
specific standards. A group child care home located in a city or village may be
issued a special use permit, conditional use permit, or other similar permit.

Please complete the lower portion of this form and return this completed form to the
licensee/applicant.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the Michigan Department of
Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Community and Health Systems, at
517-284-9730.

Thank you.

[0 Location is APPROVED by the local zoning authority.
[0 Location is DISAPPROVED by the local zoning authority.
O City, township or county is unzoned.

Signature of Zoning Authority or Date Telephone Number
City, Township, County Manager for Unzoned Communities

Printed Name of Zoning Authority Authority or Jurisdiction (City, Township)
City, Township, County Manager for Unzoned Communities

Authority: 1973 PA 116
Completion: Required LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program.
Penalty: Applicant cannot be licensed/registered

BCAL-3748 (Rev. 10-16) Previous edition obsolete. MS Word



MEDICAL CLEARANCE REQUEST - CHILD CARE LICENSING
Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Community and Health Systems

APPLICANT/LICENSEE INFORMATION

Facility/Home Name

License Number

Facility/Home Address (Street Number and Name)

City State Zip Code

Licensing Consultant (Name, Address, Phone)

PLEASE Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Child Care Licensing
MA“;TO PO Box 30664

Lansing, MI 48909

PATIENT INFORMATION (To be Completed by Patient) (Ple

License Application Type
[] Child Care (Less Than 24-Hour Care)

ase Print or Type)

Name (Last, First, Middle, Jr., Il, etc.) Date of Birth Telephone Number
Address (Street Number and Name) City State Zip Code
RELEASE OF INFORMATION (To be Completed by Patient)

Date

| authorize the release of medical information concerning me

to the home listed above and to the Michigan Department of
Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Child Care Licensing, for
the purpose of determining my suitability to provide or be

Patient’s Signature

associated with the care of children.

Physician’s Name (Please PRINT or TYPE)

MEDICAL INFORMATION (To be Completed by Physician)

e This individual is, or will be, caring for children in a child care setti

ng and may be solely responsible for children birth to age 17.

It is necessary to establish that those providing care are in such physical and mental condition and health as not to adversely affect the

health or safety of a child and the quality and manner of his/her care.

the following.

e To assist us in this determination, you are being asked to answer
Has this Person Been Tested for T.B.? Date Tested Test Type
(Required Only
One Time)
[ INo []Yes IfYesw [ ] Skin Test

Results

[] Positive (Explain in Comments) [] Negative

[ ] X-Ray

How would you describe the patient’s general physical/mental condition and health? (Use Comments section for explanations)

[] No physical/mental condition or health problem exists that would
17) in a child care setting.

limit the ability to provide independent care of children (birth to age

] Physical/mental condition or health problem exists which would affect the ability to provide independent care of children (birth to age
17) in a child care setting, with or without reasonable accommodation. Explain in comments if reasonable accommodation may be

needed.

Comments (Please use back of this form if additional space is needed.)

Would you like to be contacted by the licensing consultant regarding your recommendation?

[] Yes [] No

Physician’s Signature

Signature Date Telephone Number Examination Date

Address (Street Number and Name)

City State Zip Code

AUTHORITY: 1973 PA 116
RESPONSE: Voluntary
PENALTY:  Application for licensure/registration may be denied.

LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program.
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