Members of the Commission

The Michigan Public Service Commission is composed of three members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Commissioners are appointed to serve staggered six-year terms. No more than two Commissioners may represent the same political party. One commissioner is designated as chairman by the Governor.

Information regarding previous commission members can be found on the Past Commission Membership page.


MPSC Commissioner Talberg

Sally A. Talberg, Chairman

Sally A. Talberg was appointed by Governor Rick Snyder to the Michigan Public Service Commission on July 3, 2013, and was appointed chairman on January 4, 2016. The Governor appointed her to a new term on March 17, 2017, which ends July 2, 2021.

Prior to her appointment, Chairman Talberg worked in the public and private sectors with a focus on energy policy and utility regulation. Most recently, she served as a senior consultant at Public Sector Consultants focusing on energy policy issues. During her tenure at Public Sector Consultants, she also helped establish Michigan Saves, a financing organization to support energy waste reduction. Chairman Talberg previously served as an analyst at the Michigan Public Service Commission, managed enforcement and contested cases at the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, and advised commissioners at the Public Utility Commission of Texas. 

Chairman Talberg serves on the Board of Directors of the Organization of MISO States. Also, through her involvement with the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners, she serves on the Committee on Critical Infrastructure, Committee on Telecommunications, and the Federal-State Joint Boards on Jurisdictional Separations, and on Universal Service. In 2018, she became a member of the U.S. Department of Energy's State Energy Advisory Board (STEAB), which is a federal advisory committee that provides input primarily on the activities of the DOE's Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. 

Ms. Talberg holds a bachelor's of science degree in Environmental and Natural Resources Policy Studies from Michigan State University and a master's degree in Public Affairs from the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs, University of Texas-Austin.

MPSC Commissioner Saari

Norman J. Saari, Commissioner

Norman J. Saari was appointed by Governor Rick Snyder to the Michigan Public Service Commission for a term beginning on August 2, 2015. The Governor appointed him to a new term on March 17, 2017, which ends July 2, 2019.

Commissioner Saari is a member of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners and serves on its Committee on Natural Gas, Chairs the Subcommittee on Pipeline Safety, and is a member of the Washington Action Program. Commissioner Saari also serves as the board president of the Mid-America Regulatory Conference. Additionally, he was appointed in 2016 to serve on the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration's Liquid Pipeline Advisory Committee, which makes recommendations to help PHMSA develop safety requirements. In 2018 he became a member of the NARUC-DOE Natural Gas Infrastructure Modernization Partnership program.

Commissioner Saari served as an executive director of governmental affairs for 20 years at the Consumers Energy Company, a position from which he retired in 2006. Commissioner Saari was most recently Chief of Staff for the Michigan House of Representatives under Speaker Kevin Cotter as well as under former Speaker Jase Bolger. He also served as Governor Snyder's manager of appointments and Chief of Staff for former State Senator Jason Allen.

Commissioner Saari earned a bachelor's degree in journalism from Michigan State University, and served as a public information officer in the Michigan National Guard.