Electric Utilities In Michigan

Public utilities that distribute electricity to customers in Michigan

  • To inquire or complain about utility matters, contact the utility first at the Customer Service telephone number shown below or follow links to the utility's web site.
  • To inquire or complain about an Alternative Electric Supplier (AES), contact the licensed AES first.
  • For further help, see Inquiries page.

Investor-Owned Electric Utilities
Utility Name and Address
Chief Company Official
    Alpena Power Company
401 N. Ninth Avenue
PO Box 188
Alpena, MI 49707
    Gary Graham
FAX: 989-358-4990
  Quick Links  
 •  Rates - Average Comparison
 •  Rates - Bill Comparison
 •  Rate Books
 •  Service Area Map
 •  Cities Served
 •  Townships, Counties Served
 •  Customer Choice
    Customer Service: 989-358-4900
    Consumers Energy Company
One Energy Plaza
Jackson, MI 49201-2276
    Patricia Poppe
President & Chief Executive Officer
FAX: 800-363-4806
    Customer Service: 800-477-5050
    DTE Electric Company
One Energy Plaza
Detroit, MI 48226
    Trevor Lauer
President & Chief Operating Officer
FAX: 313-235-0491
    Customer Service: 800-477-4747
    Indiana Michigan Power Company
110 West Michigan
Suite 1000-A
Lansing, MI 48933-1603
    Greg Clark
Vice President of Governmental Affairs
FAX: 517-367-1250
    Customer Service: 800-311-6424
    Northern States Power Company - Wisconsin (Xcel)
1414 West Hamilton Avenue
Eau Claire, Wisconsin 54702-0008

For mailing purposes:
Northern States Power Company-Wisconsin (Xcel Energy)
P.O. Box 8
Eau Claire, Wisconsin 54702-0008
    Mark E. Stoering
President & Chief Executive Officer
FAX: 800-895-2895
    Customer Service: 800-895-4999

Upper Michigan Energy Resources Corporation
231 West Michigan Street, P458
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203

Michigan Service Centers:
800 Industrial Park
Iron Mountain, MI 49801

1717 Tenth Avenue
Menominee, MI 49858

Patrick Keyes
Executive Vice President Strategy & President Minnesota & Michigan
FAX: 414-221-3985


    Customer Service: 800-242-9137 for former WEPCO customers
Customer Service: 800-450-7260 for former WPSC customers
    Upper Peninsula Power Company
1002 Harbor Hills Dr.
Marquette, MI 49855
    Jim Larsen
Chief Executive Officer
    Customer Service: 800-562-7680

Wisconsin Electric Power Company
231 West Michigan Street, P460
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203

Michigan office address:
800 Industrial Park
Iron Mountain, MI 49801

    Mr. Kevin Fletcher
President, Wisconsin Utilities
FAX: 414-221-3985
    Customer Service: 800-242-9137
Cooperative Electric Utilities
Utility Name and Address
Chief Company Official
    Alger Delta Cooperative Electric Association
426 North 9th Street
Gladstone, MI 49837
    Tom Harrell
General Manager
FAX: 906-428-3840
    Customer Service: 800-562-0950
    (rates are member-regulated. See note below)
    Bayfield Electric Cooperative, Inc.
68325 Lea St.
P.O. Box 68
Iron River, Wisconsin 54847
    Diane Berweger
CEO & General Manager
FAX: 715-372-4318
    Customer Service: 800-278-0166
    Cherryland Electric Cooperative
5930 U.S. 31 South
P.O. Box 298
Grawn, MI 49637
    Anthony A. Anderson
General Manager
FAX: 231-943-8204
    Customer Service: 800-442-8616 or local 231-486-9200
    (rates are member-regulated. See note below)
    Cloverland Electric Cooperative
2916 W. M-28
P.O. Box 97
Dafter, MI 49724
    Dan Dasho
General Manager
FAX: 906-635-6815
    Customer Service: 800-562-4953 or local 906-635-6800
    (rates are member-regulated. See note below)
    Great Lakes Energy Cooperative
1323 Boyne Ave.
P.O. Box 70
Boyne City, MI 49712-0070
    Steven L. Boeckman
President & Chief Executive Officer
FAX: 231-582-6213
    Customer Service: 888-485-2537
    (rates are member-regulated. See note below)  
    Midwest Energy Cooperative
901 E. State St.
P.O. Box 127
Cassopolis, MI 49031
    Robert Hance
President & Chief Executive Officer
FAX: 269-445-3792
    Customer Service: 800-492-5989
    (rates are member-regulated. See note below)
    Ontonagon County Rural Electrification Association
500 J.K. Paul Street
P.O. Box 97
Ontonagon, MI 49953
    Debbie Miles
FAX: 906-884-6247
    Customer Service: 906-884-4151
    (rates are member-regulated. See note below)
    Presque Isle Electric & Gas Co-op
19831 M-68 Highway
P.O. Box 308
Onaway, MI 49765
    Brian Burns
President & Chief Executive Officer
FAX: 989-733-2247
    Customer Service: 800-423-6634
    (rates are member-regulated. See note below)
    Thumb Electric Cooperative
2231 Main Street
P.O. Box 157
Ubly, MI 48475-0157
    Dallas Braun
General Manager
FAX: 989-658-2571
    Customer Service: 800-327-0166 or local 989-658-8571
    Tri-County Electric Cooperative
7973 E. Grand River Avenue
Portland, MI 48875
    Mark Kappler
General Manager & Chief Executive Officer
FAX: 517-647-4856
    Customer Service: 800-562-8232
    (rates are member-regulated. See note below)
    Wolverine Power Supply Cooperative, Inc. Unregulated by the MPSC
10125 West Watergate Rd.
P.O. Box 229
Cadillac, MI 49601-0229
    Eric Baker
President & Chief Executive Officer
FAX: 231-775-2077

Note: The MPSC does not regulate the retail rates of electric cooperatives whose rates are member-regulated per PA 167 of 2008. The MPSC does, however, regulate choice rates, service territories, and service and safety standards.

Municipal Electric Utilities - Unregulated by the MPSC

Municipally owned electric utilities (muni’s) are not subject to MPSC regulation with the exception of the filing of a renewable energy plan as required by Public Act 295 of 2008