Members of the Commission

The Michigan Public Service Commission is composed of three members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Commissioners are appointed to serve staggered six-year terms. No more than two Commissioners may represent the same political party. One commissioner is designated as chairman by the Governor.

Information regarding previous commission members can be found on the Past Commission Membership page.


MPSC Commissioner Talberg

Sally A. Talberg, Chairman

Sally A. Talberg was initially appointed by former Governor Rick Snyder to the Michigan Public Service Commission on July 3, 2013, and was appointed chairman on January 4, 2016. Her term ends July 2, 2021.

Prior to her appointment, Chairman Talberg worked in the public and private sectors with a focus on energy policy and utility regulation. Most recently, she served as a senior consultant at Public Sector Consultants focusing on energy policy issues and helping to establish Michigan Saves, a financing organization to support energy waste reduction. Chairman Talberg previously served as an analyst at the Michigan Public Service Commission, managed enforcement and contested cases at the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, and advised commissioners at the Public Utility Commission of Texas. 

Through her involvement with the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners, Chairman Talberg serves on the Committee on Critical Infrastructure, Committee on Telecommunications, and the Federal-State Joint Boards on Jurisdictional Separations, and on Universal Service. She also serves as a member of the U.S. Department of Energy's State Energy Advisory Board (STEAB). From 2013-2019 she served on the board of directors of the Organization of MISO States, including President (2016). 

Ms. Talberg holds a bachelor's of science degree in Environmental and Natural Resources Policy Studies from Michigan State University and a master's degree in Public Affairs from the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs, University of Texas-Austin.

MPSC Commissioner Daniel C. Scripps Headshot

Daniel C. Scripps, Commissioner

Daniel C. Scripps was appointed by Governor Gretchen Whitmer to the Michigan Public Service Commission on February 25, 2019. His term ends July 2, 2023. 

Prior to his appointment, Commissioner Scripps was the Energy Foundation’s Midwest Policy Program Director, where he coordinated strategies and grantmaking across thirteen states relating to the power sector, transportation, and other issues, and led efforts to double regional grantmaking to groups engaged in equity-oriented climate and energy work. He previously served as president of the Michigan Energy Innovation Business Council and Institute for Energy Innovation, where he led efforts to expand deployment of advanced energy resources in Michigan, and as a Vice President with Advanced Energy Economy, focusing on energy finance. An attorney, Mr. Scripps practiced law in the Washington D.C. office of Latham & Watkins LLP, advising regulated utilities, project developers, and financial institutions on cutting-edge domestic and international energy projects.

Mr. Scripps served one term representing Benzie, Leelanau, Manistee, and Mason counties in the Michigan House of Representatives (2009-2010), where he chaired the House Banking and Financial Services committee, and served on committees dealing with energy, telecommunications and environmental protection.

Currently, Commissioner Scripps serves on the Upper Peninsula Energy Task Force created by govedrnor Whitmer in June 2019. He also serves on the Board of Directors for the Organization of MISO States, and in August 2019 was selected to serve as the board president of the Mid-America Regulatory Conference. He is a member of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners and serves on its Committee on Electricity, the Committee on International Relations, and Washington Action Program. 

Mr. Scripps is a graduate of Alma College and a 2005 honors graduate of the University of Michigan Law School.

MPSC Commissioner Tremaine L. Phillips Headshot

Tremaine L. Phillips, Commissioner
Tremaine L. Phillips was appointed by Governor Gretchen Whitmer to the Michigan Public Service Commission on September 9, 2019. His term ends on July 2, 2025. 

Prior to his appointment, Commissioner Phillips worked in the public and private sectors to accelerate the nation’s transition to clean, renewable and reliable energy resources. Most recently, he served as the Director of Cincinnati 2030 District, leading the organization to become one of the largest and most engaged 2030 Districts in the country. As Vice President of Strategic Initiatives for EmpowerSaves, a Columbus-based energy efficiency data analytics and marketing company, he was recognized in 2016 as an emerging clean energy leader through the Midwest Energy News’ “40 Under 40” award. He previously worked for the Prima Civitas Foundation, the State of Michigan’s Department of Energy, Labor, & Economic Growth, and the Michigan Environmental Council. He also spent a summer in Washington D.C. working to advance climate and clean energy policies, including the Clean Power Plan, for the Obama Administration as an intern with the White House Council on Environmental Quality.

Commissioner Phillips is a member of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners and serves on its Committee on Consumers and the Public Interest, as well as the Committee on Critical Infrastructure. He also serves on the board of Directors for the Organization of PJM States. In September 2019 he was selected to serve on the Nuclear Waste Strategy Coalition, which represents the collective interests of public and private sectors experts on nuclear waste policy matters.

Mr. Phillips is a graduate of Michigan State University and The Ohio State University, where he received his Juris Doctorate from the Moritz College of Law and a M.A. in Public Policy and Management from the John Glenn College of Public Affairs.