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NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC REGULAR MEETING OF THE 
MICHIGAN STATE HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

TO ALL PERSONS INTERESTED IN THE MEETINGS OF THE 
MICHIGAN STATE HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that in accordance with Public Act 228 of 2020 amending Section 3 
(MCL 15.263) of the “Open Meetings Act” (1976 PA 677), a regular meeting of the Michigan State 
Housing Development Authority (the “Authority”), 735 East Michigan Avenue, P.O. Box 30044, Lansing, 
Michigan 48909, will be held electronically by telephonic conferencing on the following date and time: 

DATE TIME CONFERENCE CALL 
PARTICIPATION 

January 21, 2021 10:00 a.m. Conference Call Number: 
+1 248-509-0316

Conference ID: 419 617 944#

Public Act 228 of 2020 permits electronic meetings under certain conditions, including a statewide or local 
state of emergency or state of disaster as described in section 3(2) thereof. A county-wide 
state of emergency is referenced in the attached Ingham County Emergency Orders (the “Orders”). 
This regular meeting is being held electronically to mitigate and address the risk described in 
the Orders, which are attached to and made a part of this notice. Members of the public may attend, 
and during public comment, address the Authority by calling the conference call telephone 
number listed above, thereby allowing contact with Authority members to provide input or ask 
questions. Proposed agendas can be accessed through the following link: https://
www.michigan.gov/mshda/0,4641,7-141-7559_49253---,00.html. 

Proposed minutes of said meeting will be available for public inspection during regular business hours at 
735 East Michigan Avenue, Lansing, Michigan, not more than eight business days after said meeting, 
and approved minutes of said meeting will be available for public inspection during regular business 
hours, at the same location, not more than eight business days after the meeting at which they are 
approved. The minutes will also be posted on the Authority’s website. 

Call 517-335-4797 if you require assistance connecting to the meeting. This notice is given in 
compliance with Act No. 267 of the Public Acts of Michigan, 1976 and Public Act 228 of 2020. 

Clarence L. Stone, Jr.

DATED MATERIAL 
PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE UNTIL January 22, 2021 

Persons with disabilities needing a reasonable accommodation to effectively participate in this meeting 
should contact the Director of Legal Affairs, MSHDA, at (517) 335-9935. 

http://www.michigan.gov/mshda/0%2C4641%2C7-141-7559_49253---%2C00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/mshda/0%2C4641%2C7-141-7559_49253---%2C00.html


EMERGENCY ORDER (2020-21) FOR CONTROL OF EPIDEMIC 
FACIAL COVERINGS 

This Order is made pursuant to Section 2453 of the Public Health Code, being MCL 333.2453. 

In response to the ongoing public health emergency and the risk posed by a resurgence of COVID-19, matters 
concerning the public health of the residents of Ingham County have been brought to the attention of the 
Ingham County Health Officer. The Local Health Officer has determined that controls are necessary to reduce 
transmission of COVID-19 and to protect the public’s health in Ingham County based on the following facts: 

• A communicable disease, novel Coronavirus, which causes COVID-19 has been identified and
can be transmitted from person to person.

• In order to control and limit the spread of the novel Coronavirus, it is necessary to prevent
infected people from coming into contact with uninfected people.

• The spread of COVID-19 can be reduced with cloth face coverings, social distancing, and staying
home when sick.

• Center for Disease Control and Prevention advises that cloth face coverings are recommended
as a simple barrier to help prevent respiratory droplets from traveling into the air and onto
other people when the person wearing the cloth face covering coughs, sneezes, talks, or raises
their voice. This is called source control.

It is hereby ordered that: 

1. Any individual who leaves their home or place of residence must wear a face covering over their nose
and mouth in the following instances:

a. When in any indoor public space; this includes all students in grades kindergarten through
twelve; and

b. When outdoors and unable to consistently maintain a distance of six feet or more from
individuals who are not members of their household; and

c. When waiting for or riding on public transportation, while in a taxi or ride-sharing vehicle, school
bus or when using a private car service as a means of hired transportation.

d. Athletes training for, practicing for, or competing in an organized sport must wear a facial
covering (except when swimming) or consistently maintain 6 feet of social distance (except for
occasional and fleeting moments).

2. Although a face covering is strongly encouraged even for individuals not required to wear one, the
requirement to wear a face covering does not apply to individuals who:

a. Are younger than five years old, though children two years old and older are strongly
encouraged to wear a face covering, pursuant to guidance from the Centers for Disease
Control and Prevention (“CDC”);

b. Cannot medically tolerate a face covering;
c. Are eating or drinking while seated at a food service establishment;
d. Are receiving a service for which temporary removal of the face covering is necessary to

perform the service;



e. Are entering a business or are receiving a service and are asked to temporarily remove a
face covering for identification purposes;

f. Are communicating with someone who is hearing impaired or otherwise disabled and where
the ability to see the mouth is essential to communication;

g. Are actively engaged in a public safety role, including but not limited to law enforcement,
firefighters, or emergency medical personnel, and where wearing a mask would seriously
interfere in the performance of their public safety responsibilities;

h. Are at a polling place for purposes of voting in an election;
i. Are officiating at a religious service; or
j. Are giving a speech for broadcast or an audience.

3. To protect workers, shoppers, and the community, no business that is open to the public may provide
service to a customer or allow a customer to enter its premises, unless the customer is wearing a face
covering as required by this order.

4. Businesses that are open to the public must post signs at entrance(s) instructing customers of their
obligation under this order to wear a face covering while inside.

5. The protections against discrimination in the Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act, 1976 PA 453, as amended,
MCL 37.2101 et seq., and any other protections against discrimination in Michigan law, apply in full
force to individuals who wear a face covering under this order.

6. No individual is subject to penalty under section 7 of this order for removing a mask while engaging in
religious worship at a house of religious worship. Consistent with guidance from the CDC, congregants
are strongly encouraged to wear face coverings during religious services.

7. Consistent with MCL 333.2261 and 764.15(1), willful violation of any emergency order constitutes a
misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or a fine of not more than $200,
or both.  An individual may be arrested if violation occurs in the presence of a police officer, or the
police officer has reasonable cause to believe individual has violated a rule or order.

This order takes effect immediately and will remain in effect until it is determined by the Ingham County Health 
Officer that the threat to the public's health and lives is no longer present. 

This order may be revised as well as supplemented with specific procedures and orders in accordance with the 
Michigan Public Health Code. 

Respectfully, 

 October 4, 2020 
Linda Vail, Health Officer Date 
Ingham County Health Department 



EMERGENCY ORDER (2020-22) FOR CONTROL OF EPIDEMIC 
GATHERINGS AND EVENTS 

This Order is made pursuant to Section 2453 of the Public Health Code, being MCL 333.2453. 

In response to the ongoing public health emergency and the risk posed by a resurgence of COVID-19, matters 
concerning the public health of the residents of Ingham County have been brought to the attention of the 
Ingham County Health Officer. The Local Health Officer has determined that controls are necessary to reduce 
transmission of COVID-19 and to protect the public’s health in Ingham County based on the following facts: 

• A communicable disease, novel Coronavirus, which causes COVID-19 has been identified and
can be transmitted from person to person.

• In order to control and limit the spread of the novel Coronavirus, it is necessary to prevent
infected people from coming into contact with uninfected people.

• The spread of COVID-19 can be reduced with cloth face coverings, social distancing, and staying
home when sick.

• The Center for Disease Control and Prevention recommends that individuals stay at least 6 feet
from others who are not in the same household. Risk of COVID-19 transmission at a gathering
or event increases as the size of the event or gathering increases.

It is hereby ordered that: 

1. Gatherings and events. Social gatherings and organized events among persons not part of the same
household are permitted only to the extent provided in this order. In all cases, organizers and venues must
ensure that the gathering or event complies with this order, and that persons not part of the same
household maintain six feet of distance from one another, including by designing the gathering or event to
encourage and maintain social distancing. This section does not apply to an incidental gathering of persons
in a shared space, including an airport, bus station, factory floor, restaurant, shopping mall, public pool, or
workplace (although it does apply to social gatherings and organized events held in such places).

a. An indoor social gathering or indoor organized event of 10 people or fewer is permitted.
b. An indoor social gathering or indoor organized event of more than 10 and fewer than 500 people

occurring at a non-residential venue is permitted only to the extent that the organizers and venue:
1. In cases where the gathering or event occurs in a venue with fixed seating, limit attendance

to 20% of seating capacity;
2. Otherwise, limit attendance to 20 people per 1,000 square feet of venue space, including no

more than 20 people per 1,000 square feet in each room;
3. Consistent with Ingham County Emergency Order 2020-21, Facial Coverings, require

individuals at the venue to wear a facial covering.
c. An outdoor social gathering or outdoor organized event of 100 people or fewer is permitted.
d. An outdoor social gathering or outdoor organized event of more than 100 and fewer than 1,000

people occurring at a non-residential venue is permitted only to the extent that the organizers and
venue:

1. In cases where the gathering or event occurs in a venue with fixed seating, limit attendance
to 30% of seating capacity;

2. Otherwise, limit attendance to 30 people per 1,000 square feet of event space, including no
more than 30 people per 1,000 square feet in any distinct area within the event space.



2. Exceptions. Indoor gathering and event limitations imposed by this order do not apply to any of the
following:

a. Aspects of training of law enforcement, correctional, medical, or first responder personnel not
capable of being performed remotely;

b. Polling places.
3. Religious worship. Consistent with prior guidance, neither a place of religious worship nor its owner is

subject to penalty under section 5 of this order for allowing religious worship at such place. No individual is
subject to penalty under section 5 of this order for engaging in religious worship at a place of religious
worship.

4. Nothing in this order supersedes any other Ingham County emergency order. Emergency orders that further
restrict gathering or event size beyond the limitations set forth in this order shall prevail where in direct
conflict with this order.

5. Consistent with MCL 333.2261 and 764.15(1), willful violation of any emergency order constitutes a
misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or a fine of not more than $200, or
both. An individual may be arrested if violation occurs in the presence of a police officer, or the police
officer has reasonable cause to believe individual has violated a rule or order.

This order takes effect immediately and will remain in effect until it is determined by the Ingham County Health 
Officer that the threat to the public's health and lives is no longer present. 

This order may be revised as well as supplemented with specific procedures and orders in accordance with the 
Michigan Public Health Code. 

Respectfully, 

 October 4, 2020 
Linda Vail, Health Officer Date 
Ingham County Health Department 



EMERGENCY ORDER (2020-24) FOR CONTROL OF EPIDEMIC 
EMPLOYEE SCREENING 

This Order is made pursuant to Section 2453 of the Public Health Code, being MCL 333.2453. 

In response to the ongoing public health emergency and the risk posed by a resurgence of COVID-19, matters 
concerning the public health of the residents of Ingham County have been brought to the attention of the 
Ingham County Health Officer. The Local Health Officer has determined that controls are necessary to reduce 
transmission of COVID-19 and to protect the public’s health in Ingham County based on the following facts: 

• A communicable disease, novel Coronavirus, which causes COVID-19 has been identified and can be
transmitted from person to person.

• In order to control and limit the spread of the novel Coronavirus, it is necessary to prevent infected
people from coming into contact with uninfected people.

• The spread of COVID-19 can be reduced with cloth face coverings, social distancing, and staying home
when sick.

It is hereby ordered that all businesses and operations take the following precautions: 

1. Develop and implement a daily screening program for all staff upon reporting to work sites.
i. The screening procedures must include the following questions:

i. Symptoms: new or worsening cough, shortness of breath or difficulty breathing, new
loss of taste or smell, fever (100.0° F), OR TWO (2) or more of the following: chills,
muscle aches, headaches, sore throat, diarrhea, nausea or vomiting, congestion or
runny nose. When a touchless thermometer is available, a temperature check is strongly
recommended in lieu of verbal confirmation of lack of fever.

ii. Any close contact in the last 14 days with someone with a diagnosis of COVID-19.
ii. Any “yes” response to the screening questions above requires the individual to be excluded:

i. With symptoms, until COVID-19 can be ruled out OR if COVID-19 cannot be ruled out
the individual needs to self-isolate for at least 10 days or 24 hours with no fever without
use of medicine that reduces fevers AND other symptoms have improved, whichever is
longer;

ii. With close contact, for 14 days since close contact with diagnosed case of COVID-19
unless exempt or otherwise approved for work with appropriate safety precautions.

2. Develop and implement a social distancing plan (at least 6 feet from another person) for employees
working in shared spaces and customers waiting for services inside or outside of the business.

3. Publish this order at all facility entrances so that it is visible to all employees and customers.

Consistent with MCL 333.2261 and 764.15(1), willful violation of any emergency order constitutes a 
misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or a fine of not more than $200, or 
both. An individual may be arrested if violation occurs in the presence of a police officer, or the police officer 
has reasonable cause to believe individual has violated a rule or order. 



 

This order takes effect immediately and will remain in effect until it is determined by the Ingham County Health 
Officer that the threat to the public's health and lives is no longer present. 

 
This order may be revised as well as supplemented with specific procedures and orders in accordance with the 
Michigan Public Health Code. 

 
Respectfully, 

 
 

October 4, 2020 
Linda Vail, Health Officer Date 
Ingham County Health Department 
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