
MSHDA 

MSHDA FOIA 
Michigan’s Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), MCL 15.231 et seq, provides that certain persons 
can receive copies or make inspections of most public records of public bodies upon written 
request.  The person must sufficiently describe the records he or she seeks. The public body may 
charge a fee to cover the cost of complying with a person’s FOIA request. 
FOIA requests to the Michigan State Housing Development Authority can be sent by email or mail 
to: 

Email: MSHDA-FOIA@michigan.gov 

Michigan State Housing Development Authority  
Attn. FOIA Coordinator 
735 East Michigan Avenue 
P.O. Box 30044 
Lansing, MI 48909  

Requests should include a name, phone number, and mailing address. 

MSHDA’s Transparency Liaison is Kara Hart-Negrich.  Email: hartnegrichk@michigan.gov 

 

Michigan State Housing Development Authority 
Written Public Summary the Authority’s Freedom 
of Information Act Procedures and Guidelines 
A. How to submit written requests. 
FOIA requests to the Michigan State Housing Development Authority (the “Authority”) can be sent by 
email or mail to: 

Email: MSHDA-FOIA@michigan.gov 

Michigan State Housing Development Authority 
Attn. FOIA Coordinator 
735 East Michigan Avenue 
P.O. Box 30044 
Lansing, MI 48909 

FOIA requests must include all the following information: 

• Individual (other than one who claims indigence)  
o Complete name 
o Address – Must be written in compliance with United States Postal Service 

addressing standards. 
o Contact information – Must include a valid telephone number and/or email address. 

• Person (other than individual)  
o Complete name of person’s agent 
o Address of person’s agent – Must be written in compliance with United States Postal 

Service addressing standards. 
o Contact information of person’s agent – Must include a valid telephone number 

and/or email address. 

http://www.michigan.gov/mshda/
mailto:MSHDA-FOIA@michigan.gov
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If a good faith deposit is required, it must be paid within 45 days, or the request is considered 
abandoned. 

B. How to understand the Authority’s written responses to FOIA requests. 
The Authority has several options when responding to written requests for public records. It can 
grant the FOIA request, deny the request, grant it in part and deny it in part, or take one 10 business 
day extension. After 10 business days pass, the Authority has to respond with one of the other 
options. 

If the request is granted or granted in part and denied in part, the Authority can also charge a fee to 
process the request.  There is no fee for requests that do not require the Authority to incur costs 
above the threshold set in its Procedures and Guidelines.  Fees are calculated using its procedures 
and guidelines and you will receive a detailed itemization of the fee. The Authority may require you 
to pay a good-faith deposit before it processes your request. After you pay any deposit and final 
balance due, the Authority will produce records in its possession that fall within the scope of your 
request and that legally may be disclosed to the public.  If the Authority is able to provide a portion of 
the response early, it will do so.  The Authority may also notify you that some of the records you 
have requested are available on its website.  If there is a delay in fulfilling the request, the Authority 
will notify the requestor. 

If the request is denied, the Authority will inform you of the basis for its denial in a written notice. 
Reasons the Authority may deny a request include: 

1. You did not describe the records you have requested well enough and the Authority cannot 
determine what you are asking for; 

2. The Authority has determined that it does not have records that respond to your request in its 
possession; or 

3. The records you have requested are exempt from public disclosure. 

If all or part of your request is denied, the Authority will inform you of your right to appeal its denial to 
the head of the Authority and/or to file a lawsuit against the Authority in its written response. 

C. Deposit requirements. 
If the Authority estimates a fee to process a FOIA request greater than $50.00, the Authority will 
require a good-faith deposit from you before providing the public records. The deposit shall not 
exceed 1/2 of the total estimated fee. Any written notice containing a notice of a deposit shall also 
contain a best efforts estimate by the Authority regarding the time frame after a deposit is received 
that it will take the Authority to provide the public records. The time frame estimate is not binding 
upon the Authority, but the Authority shall provide the estimate in good faith and strive to be 
reasonably accurate and to provide the public records in a manner based on this State's public 
policy under section 1 of the FOIA, MCL 15.231, and the nature of the request in the particular 
instance. 

D. Fee calculations. 
The FOIA permits the Authority to charge a fee to process FOIA requests using a form to give you a 
detailed itemization of the costs involved. The Authority may charge for the following costs: 

1. the costs of labor for the search, location, and examination of public records; 
2. the costs of labor for the review of public records and separation and deletion of exempt from 

nonexempt material; 
3. the cost of nonpaper physical media; 
4. the cost of duplication and publication of public records; 
5. the costs of labor for the duplication or publication of public records; 
6. the actual cost of mailing public records. 



 

Michigan State Housing Development Authority 
Freedom of Information Act Procedures and Guidelines 
Procedure: Freedom of Information Act Requests 
Effective Date: July 1, 2015 
A. Appointment of FOIA Coordinator. 
In accordance with section 6 of the FOIA, MCL 15.236, the Authority has appointed a FOIA 
Coordinator, as well as an alternate FOIA Coordinator.  The names of the FOIA Coordinator and 
alternate FOIA Coordinator are available from the Authority’s Executive Office. 

B. Submission of FOIA Request. 
FOIA requests to the Michigan State Housing Development Authority can be sent by email or mail 
to: 

Email: MSHDA-FOIA@michigan.gov 

Michigan State Housing Development Authority 
Attn. FOIA Coordinator 
735 East Michigan Avenue 
P.O. Box 30044 
Lansing, MI 48909 

Requests should include a name, phone number, and mailing address. 

C. Immediately Forward FOIA Request. 
Any employee of the Authority who receives a written request for a public record must immediately 
forward that request to the Authority’s FOIA Coordinator at MSHDA-FOIA@michigan.gov.  If an 
Authority employee receives a written request for a public record that is delivered to a spam or junk-
mail folder, the employee must record the date and time the written request is delivered to the spam 
or junk-mail folder and date and time the employee first becomes aware of the written request. The 
employee must forward those dates and times to the Authority’s FOIA Coordinator with the written 
request. 

D. Request Response Time. 
The Authority may extend the time for responding by an additional 10 business days by notifying the 
requesting person in writing of the reason for the extension and the new due date. MCL 15.235(2)(d) 
and (6) Due to the short statutory time period within which the Authority must issue a written notice 
in response to the FOIA request, it is imperative that there be no delay in complying with the 
Authority’s procedures and guidelines. 

E. Response to a FOIA Request. 
Only the Authority's FOIA Coordinator or Alternate FOIA Coordinator will respond to FOIA requests. 
The Authority will provide copies of these procedures and guidelines and a summary of these 
procedures and guidelines with each written response or provide a link to an on-line version of these 
documents. If a request is denied, in full or in part, the Authority will provide the requester with an 
explanation of the basis of the denial under the FOIA, and give notice to the requester of his or her 
remedial rights. MCL 15.235(4) 

F. Notification of FOIA Request. 
Upon receipt of a FOIA request, the Authority’s FOIA Coordinator will email or, with the permission of 
the FOIA Coordinator’s supervisor, fax the division or divisions that might possess records 
responsive to the FOIA request. In the discretion of the Executive Director, his designee, the Director 
of Legal Affairs, the Deputy Director of Legal Affairs or the FOIA Coordinator, the Authority may 
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request FOIA email search requests be performed by the Department of Technology, Management 
and Budget (DTMB). 

G. Division Response to Authority’s FOIA Coordinator. 
As soon as possible, but not later than four business days before the Authority’s FOIA response is 
due, the division’s response is due to the FOIA Coordinator. 

H. Assessment of Fees for a FOIA Request. 
The FOIA permits the Authority to charge a fee for the search, retrieval, examination, review, and 
separation and deletion of exempt from nonexempt material, but only if the failure to charge a fee 
would result in unreasonably high costs to the Authority because of the nature of the request in the 
particular instance, and the Authority specifically identifies the nature of these unreasonably high 
costs. MCL 15.234(1) and (3) 

The following fee guidelines for calculating labor and material costs incurred in processing FOIA 
requests are established pursuant to MCL 15.234(3): 

1. Fees will be uniform and not dependent upon the identity of the requesting person. 
2. Fees will be itemized using the attached detailed itemization form and will include: 

 

A. Labor costs for the search, location, and examination of public records will be calculated 
using the hourly wage of the Authority’s lowest paid employee capable of conducting the 
search, location, and examination, whether or not they are available or actually perform the 
labor. Such labor costs shall be estimated and charged in increments of 15 minutes with all 
partial increments rounded down. The hourly wage will be based on the Authority’s payroll 
records for the applicable fiscal year. Labor costs shall also include up to 50% of the hourly 
wage to partially cover the cost of fringe benefits, not to exceed the actual cost of fringe 
benefits.  In the event DTMB performs an email search, the search will be calculated using 
the Authority’s lowest paid employee capable of conducting the search. 

B. Labor costs for the review of public records and separation and deletion of exempt from 
nonexempt material will be calculated using the hourly wage of the Authority’s lowest paid 
employee capable of conducting the review and separation and deletion of exempt from 
nonexempt material, whether or not they are available or actually perform the labor. Such 
labor costs shall be estimated and charged in increments of 15 minutes with all partial 
increments rounded down. The hourly wage will be based on the Authority’s payroll records 
for the applicable fiscal year. Labor costs shall also include up to 50% of the hourly wage to 
partially cover the cost of fringe benefits, not to exceed the actual cost of fringe benefits. 

C. Nonpaper physical media costs will be calculated using the actual and most reasonably 
economical cost of computer discs, computer tapes, and other digital and similar media 
provided by the Authority. 

D. Duplication and publication costs will be calculated using the actual total incremental cost of 
necessary duplication or publication of a public record, not including labor. The actual and 
incremental cost, calculated per sheet, shall be charged and will not exceed 10 cents per 
sheet of paper for letter or legal size paper. The Authority shall use the most economical 
means available for making copies, including the use of double-sided printing, if cost-saving 
and available. 

E. Labor costs for the duplication or publication of public records, including making paper 
copies, making digital copies, or transferring digital public records to be produced on 
nonpaper physical media or through electronic means, will be calculated using the hourly 
wage of the Authority’s lowest paid employee capable of duplicating or publishing the public 
records, whether or not they are available or actually perform the labor. Such labor costs 
shall be estimated and charged in increments of 15 minutes with all partial increments 



rounded down. The hourly wage will be based on the Authority’s payroll records for the 
applicable fiscal year.  Labor costs shall also include up to 50% of the hourly wage to 
partially cover the cost of fringe benefits, not to exceed the actual cost of fringe benefits. 

F. Actual costs of mailing using a reasonably economical and justifiable manner. 

  

3. No Authority employee shall stipulate to work overtime or include overtime wages in the 
labor costs described in these procedures and guidelines. 

  

4. If a requester submits an affidavit of indigency, the first $20.00 of a fee will be waived. A 
requesting person must include a statement that the request is not being made in 
conjunction with outside parties in exchange for payment or other remuneration. 

  

5. Labor costs for monitoring an inspection of original records will be calculated using the hourly 
wage of the Authority’s lowest paid employee capable of monitoring the inspection. Labor 
costs for monitoring an inspection will not be charged for the first hour. The hourly wage will 
be based on the Authority’s payroll records for the applicable fiscal year. Note: Section 3(3) 
of the FOIA, MCL 15.233(3), provides, in pertinent part, that “[a] public body shall protect 
public records from loss, unauthorized alteration, mutilation, or destruction.” 

  

6. If a statute authorizes the sale or production of public records to the public for a specified fee 
or if a fee for production of public records is otherwise set by statute, the Authority will charge 
the statutory fee in lieu of a fee calculated using the guidelines set forth above. 

  

7. The Authority will not charge a fee for the search, retrieval, examination, review, and 
separation and deletion of exempt from nonexempt material that will take less than fifteen 
minutes. If the search, retrieval, examination, review, and separation and deletion of exempt 
from nonexempt material will take more than fifteen minutes, a fee will be charged in 
accordance with this procedure pursuant to section 4 of the FOIA, MCL 15.234. The hourly 
wage will be based on the Authority’s payroll records for the applicable fiscal year. 

I. Deposit Requirements. 

If the Authority estimates a fee to process a FOIA request greater than $50.00, the Authority will 
require a good-faith deposit from the requestor before providing the public records to the requestor. 
The deposit shall not exceed 1/2 of the total estimated fee. Any written notice containing a notice of 
a deposit shall also contain a best efforts estimate by the Authority regarding the time frame after a 
deposit is received that it will take the Authority to provide the public records to the requestor. The 
time frame estimate is not binding upon the Authority, but the Authority shall provide the estimate in 
good faith and strive to be reasonably accurate and to provide the public records in a manner based 
on this State's public policy under section 1 of the FOIA, MCL 15.231, and the nature of the request 
in the particular instance. 



J. Appeals of Fees and Disclosure Determinations. 
If the Authority charges a fee or denies all or part of a request, the requestor may submit to the head 
of the Authority a written appeal that specifically states the word “appeal” and identifies the basis for 
which the fee should be reduced or the disclosure determination should be reversed. Written 
appeals may be sent to the email address or mailing address listed above and will be forwarded to 
the Authority’s Executive Director or the person designated by the Executive Director to respond to 
written appeals. 

K. Avenues for challenge and appeal.  
If the Authority charges a fee or denies all or part of a request, you may submit to the head of the 
Authority a written appeal that specifically states the word “appeal” and identifies the basis for which 
the fee should be reduced or the disclosure determination should be reversed. Written appeals may 
be sent to the email address or mailing address listed above and will be forwarded to the Authority’s 
Executive Director or the person designated by the Executive Director to respond to written appeals. 
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