5. MSHDA

MICHIGAN STATE HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

M E M O R A N D U M
TO: Owners and Managers of MSHDA LIHTC and Bond-financed Projects

FROM: Michael Witt, Director of Asset Management
Sherri Davio, Compliance Manager

DATE: September 12, 2017

RE: Temporary Emergency Housing for Displaced Individuals
Affected by Hurricane Harvey or Hurricane Irma

In accordance with Revenue Procedures 2014-49 and 2014-50, the Michigan State Housing
Development Authority (MSHDA) is permitting owners of low-income housing tax credit (“LIHTC”)
and MSHDA Bond properties in the State of Michigan to provide temporary emergency housing
to displaced individuals affected by Hurricane Harvey or Hurricane Irma. Information about the
major disaster declarations for these hurricanes can be accessed at www.fema.gov/disaster.

o Hurricane Harvey received a Major Disaster Declaration on August 25, 2017, with a
FEMA incident period beginning on August 23, 2017.

o Hurricane Irma received a Major Disaster Declaration on September 10, 2017 with a
FEMA incidence period beginning on September 04, 2017.

I: BACKGROUND

Revenue Procedure 2014-49 provides temporary relief from certain requirements of Section 42
of the Internal Revenue Code for owners of LIHTC buildings after the declaration of a Major
Disaster by the President. Revenue Procedure 2014-50 provides temporary relief from certain
requirements of Section 142 of the Internal Revenue Code for owners of bond projects or
bond/LIHTC projects. Specifically, Section 12 of Rev Proc 2014-49 and Section 6 of Rev Proc
2014-50 (“Emergency Housing Relief”) allow the owners of LIHTC properties to provide temporary
housing for displaced individuals for a period of 12 months with approval from the state housing
credit agency. Through this Notice, MSHDA hereby authorizes all LIHTC owners/management
agents in the State of Michigan to utilize the emergency housing relief authorized in the applicable
Revenue Procedures for the duration of the temporary housing period, as defined below.

II: KEY DEFINITIONS


http://www.fema.gov/disaster

e DISPLACED INDIVIDUAL: An individual who is displaced from his or her principal
residence as a result of a Major Disaster and whose principal residence was located in a
Major Disaster Area designated as eligible for Individual Assistance by FEMA.

¢ MAJOR DISASTER: An event for which the President has declared a major disaster under
the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121 et
seq.

¢ MAJOR DISASTER AREA: Any city, county, or other local jurisdiction for which a Major
Disaster has been declared by the President and which has been designated by FEMA
as eligible for Individual Assistance, Public Assistance, or both.

o TEMPORARY HOUSING PERIOD: The period, if any, beginning on the first day of the
incident period, as determined by FEMA, and ending on the date determined by the
Agency under section 12.02 of Revenue Procedure 2014-49 or section 5.02 of Revenue
Procedure 2014-50. The Temporary Housing Period cannot exceed 12 months from the
end of the month in which the President declared the Major Disaster.

o Hurricane Harvey - The relevant Temporary Housing Period for this emergency
housing relief begins on August 23, 2017 and ends on August 31, 2018.

o Hurricane Irma — The relevant Temporary Housing Period for this emergency
housing relief begins on September 04, 2017 and ends on September 30, 2018.

Il EMERGENCY HOUSING RELIEF FOR DISPLACED INDIVIDUALS

If a displaced individual applies for residency at a LIHTC property, the owner may allow the
individual to move into an income-restricted unit regardless of income qualification. The displaced
individual may be treated in one of two ways:

1. Qualified LIHTC Households: If a displaced individual qualifies as a low-income
household under the applicable LIHTC income limits, then the Owner may either
move the household in as a LIHTC qualified household or may apply the
emergency housing relief rules described in this notice.

2. Ungualified LIHTC Households: If a displaced individual does not qualify as a
low-income household under the applicable LIHTC income limits, then the owner
may move the household into an available market rate unit or may move the
household into a LIHTC unit by applying the emergency housing relief rules
described in this notice.

If a displaced individual is provided emergency housing relief during a time that is within both the
temporary housing period and the first year of the project’s credit period, then during the
temporary housing period the unit is treated as a low-income unit for purposes of meeting the
project’'s minimum set-aside and qualified basis.

If a displaced individual is provided emergency housing relief during the temporary housing period
but after the first year of the project’'s credit period, then the unit retains the status it had
immediately before occupancy by the displaced individual. The unit does not affect the project’s
minimum set-aside or the building’s applicable fraction. If a displaced individual remains in a
LIHTC unit after the temporary housing period ends, then the status of the unit must be
reevaluated. At this time, the owner must obtain all required income qualification documents to
support the household’s continued status as a qualified low-income household. The household is



treated as a new move-in and must go through an initial qualification. The effective date of the
initial qualification must be no later than the day after the temporary housing period ends.

IV: REPORTING AND DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS

To comply with the emergency housing relief provisions under the applicable Revenue
Procedures, the owner must obtain and maintain certain information concerning each displaced
individual temporarily housed. The information must be contained in a statement signed by the
displaced individual under penalties of perjury. MSHDA is providing a mandatory form entitled
“Affidavit of Displacement”, which is posted on the MSHDA website (www.michigan.gov/mshda,
then select “Rental”, then “Property Managers”, and then “Manuals, Policies, and Codes”). The
information gathered must include:

o Name of the displaced individual(s)

e The address of the principal residence at the time of the Major Disaster of the displaced
individual(s)

e The Social Security number of the displaced individual(s)

o A statement that the individual was displaced from the individual’s principal residence as
a result of a Major Disaster and that the individual’s principal residence was located in a
city, county, or other local jurisdiction that is covered by the President’s declaration of a
Major Disaster and that is designated as eligible for Individual Assistance by FEMA
because of the Major Disaster.

The owner must maintain a copy of the agency’s approval to provide emergency housing relief
(i.e. a copy of this notice) and a copy of the displaced individual's Affidavit of Displacement
(“Affidavit”) in the tenant file. The owner must e-mail a copy of each completed Affidavit to MSHDA
within 24 hours of move-in of the displaced individual to the LIHTC/Bond Unit. Social Security
numbers of the tenants should be blackened out prior to e-mailing the form to MSHDA. Upon a
displaced individual’'s move-out, a second copy of the form should be sent to MSHDA within 24
hours stating the move-out date. The form should be sent by e-mail to
mshdacompli@michigan.gov, with “Affidavit of Displacement” in the subject line.

When updating the property’s tenant event reporting (i.e. move-in, move-out, etc.) through
MSHDA'’s Certification On Line (COL) system, the owner/management agent must include a
comment next to the tenant’s name indicating that the tenant is displaced from the Major Disaster
Declaration and is being temporarily housed at the property. For example:

Tenant Name: Jane Doe (HURRICANE HARVEY)

V: MISC. COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS

RENT RESTRICTIONS

Rents for any low-income housing tax credit units used to house displaced individuals must not
exceed the maximum gross rent allowable for compliance under Section 42(g)(2).

PROTECTION OF EXISTING TENANTS

Existing tenants in occupied low-income housing tax credit units may not be evicted or have
their tenancy otherwise terminated solely to provide emergency housing relief for a displaced
individual.
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SUSPENSION OF NON-TRANSIENT REQUIREMENTS
The non-transient use requirement of Section 42(i)(3)(B)(i) shall not apply to any unit providing
temporary housing to a displaced individual.

NEXT AVAILABLE UNIT RULE

During the temporary housing period, for purposes of determining compliance with the next
available unit rule under Section 42(g)(2)(D)(ii), the owner disregards any unit occupied by a
displaced individuals.

OTHER HOUSING PROGRAMS

This notice applies only to LIHTC and MSHDA Bond projects. Those projects that other
government funding, such as Section 8, HOME, local government funding, etc. should consult the
administrator of those programs prior to providing emergency housing relief.

Questions about this notice should be directed to: Audriene Patterson, Compliance Specialist,
(517) 241-2560, pattersona@michigan.gov.



