Michigan Tribal Historic Preservation Officers and Tribal Cultural Representatives

THPO and Tribal Cultural representatives for Michigan's twelve federally-recognized tribes are listed below.
Updated January 14, 2016

Bay Mills Indian Community
Paula Carrick, THPO
12140 West Lakeshore Drive
Brimley, MI 49715
906-248-8458
paulacarrick@baymills.org

Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa & Chippewa Indians
Cindy Winslow, Museum Director
Eyaawing Museum & Cultural Center
2605 North West Bay Shore Drive
Suttons Bay, MI 49682
231-534-7764
cindy.winslow@gtbindians.com

Hannahville Indian Community
Earl Meshigaud
N-14911 Hannahville B1 Road
Wilson, MI 49896
906-466-2932
earlmeshigaud@hannahville.org

Keweenaw Bay Indian Community of the Lake Superior Band of Chippewa Indians
Gary Loonsfoot, Jr., THPO
16429 Bear Town Road
Baraga, MI 49908
906-353-6623 x 4178
gloonsfoot@kbic-nsn.gov

Lac Vieux Desert Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians
Daisy McGeshick, THPO
P.O. Box 249
Watersmeet, MI 49969
906-358-0137
daisy.mcgeshick@lvdtribal.com

Little River Band of Ottawa Indians
Jonnie J. Sam, Director
375 River Street
Manistee, MI 49660
231-723-8288 x6893
jsam@lrboi.com

Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians
Wes Andrews, THPO
7500 Odawa Circle
Harbor Springs, MI 49740
734-585-5033
wandrews@LTBBODAWA-NSN.GOV

Match-e-be-nash-she-wish Band of Pottawatomi Indians
Sydney Martin
3556 26th Street
Hopkins, MI 49328
616-896-7576

Nottawaseppi Huron Band of the Potawatomi
Douglas Taylor, Interim Cultural Historic Preservation Office Manager/THPO
2221 1 1/2 Mile Road
Fulton, MI 49052
269-275-4260
Doug.Taylor@nhbpi.com

Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians
Jason S Wesaw, THPO
58620 Sink Road
Dowagiac, MI 49047
269-462-4316
Jason.Wesaw@pokagonband-nsn.gov

Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan
William Johnson, Interim THPO
Ziibiwing Center of Anishinabe Culture and Lifeways
6650 East Broadway
Mt. Pleasant, MI 48858
989-775-4751
wjohnson@sagchip.org

Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians
Cecil Pavlat, Cultural Repatriation Specialist
523 Ashmun Street
Sault Ste Marie, MI 49783
906-440-7849
cpavlat@saulttribe.net
or
Colleen Medicine
cmedicine@saulttribe.net

 

Additionally, the following websites contain pertinent information about federally-recognized tribes in Michigan and historic preservation responsibilities as they relate to tribal lands: