Certified Local Government Communities in Michigan

As of January 2019, thirty Michigan local governments have become CLGs. Any municipality can become a CLG: a county, a township, a large city or small village, or a town. By meeting a few simple but important standards, a community may receive financial aid and technical assistance that will enhance and promote historic neighborhoods and commercial districts. An active CLG program can become an important planning vehicle for community development by identifying specific preservation projects and applying for grants to carry out the projects. The SHPO provides guidance for all units of government to initiate and develop such programs.

The current Michigan CLG communities are:

  1. Allegan
  2. Ann Arbor
  3. Battle Creek
  4. Bay City
  5. Birmingham
  6. Boyne City
  7. Calumet
  8. Canton Township
  9. Detroit
  10. East Lansing
  11. Escanaba
  12. Farmington Hills
  13. Franklin
  14. Grand Rapids
  15. Holland
  16. Jackson
  17. Kalamazoo
  18. Lansing
  19. Manistee
  20. Mason
  21. Menominee
  22. Monroe
  23. Mount Clemens
  24. Charter Township of Northville
  25. Northville
  26. Owosso
  27. Rochester Hills
  28. Saline
  29. Washtenaw County
  30. Ypsilanti