The Staff of Michigan's State Historic Preservation Office

  • Please note: the SHPO cannot offer monetary grants to individuals and non-profit organizations. Grant funds are ONLY available through the Certified Local Government Program.
  • When contacting SHPO staff via email, please include a content-specific message in the subject line.
  • Staff is typically available Monday through Friday during regular office hours (8:00-5:00 EST).
  • It is recommended that researchers make an appointment before coming in to use materials. To schedule an appointment, please call us at 517-373-1630.

 

Administration

Brian D. Conway, State Historic Preservation Officer
conwayb1@michigan.gov
517-373-1630

Bethany Berdes, Executive Secretary
berdesb@michigan.gov
517-373-1630

Chelsea Dantuma, Graduate Assistant
DantumaC@michigan.gov
517-335-1578

Lindsay Ellis, Graduate Assistant
ellisl7@michigan.gov

Joelle Letts, Grants Manager & Budget Analyst
lettsj1@michigan.gov
517-373-1904

Designation

Laura Ashlee, Historian, Outreach & Public Relations
ashleel@michigan.gov
517-335-2725

Katie Kolokithas, Survey and Information Coordinator
kolokithask1@michigan.gov
517-241-6062

Todd Walsh, Interim National Register Coordinator & Web Coordinator
walsht@michigan.gov
517-373-1979

Incentives

Debra Ball Johnson, Architect
johnsond70@michigan.gov
517-241-0242

Bryan Lijewski, Historical Architect
lijewskib@michigan.gov
517-373-1631

Robbert McKay, Historical Architect
mckayr@michigan.gov
517-335-2727

Cultural Resource Management & Planning

Martha MacFarlane-Faes, Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer
faesm@michigan.gov
517-335-2720

Dean Anderson, PhD, State Archaeologist
andersond15@michigan.gov
517-373-1618

Amy Arnold, Preservation Planner
arnolda@michigan.gov
517-335-2729

Brian Grennell, Cultural Resource Management Specialist
grennellb@michigan.gov
517-335-2721

Mollie Olinyk, Southeast Michigan Outreach Coordinator
olinykm@michigan.gov
517-241-6602

Diane Tuinstra, Cultural Resource Management Specialist
tuinstrad@michigan.gov
517-335-2723

Stacy Tchorzynski, Archaeologist
tchorzynskis@michigan.gov
517-373-6358

Jessica Yann, Archaeology Graduate Student Assistant
yannj@michigan.gov
517-373-6416

 

The SHPO programs are funded, in part, with federal funds from the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior. However, the contents and opinions herein do not necessarily reflect the views or policies of the Department of the Interior, nor does the mention of trade names or commercial products constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Department of the Interior. Under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, as amended, the U.S. Department of the Interior prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color national origin, or disability or age in its federally assisted programs. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility as described above, or if you desire further information, please write to: Office for Equal Opportunity, National Park Service, 1 849 C Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20240.