

MICHIGAN STATE POLICE

LEGAL UPDATE

No. 66 June 16, 2008 This update is published by the Michigan State Police Executive Division. Questions and comments may be directed to MSPLegal@michigan.gov. Past editions can be found at www.michigan.gov/msp-legal.

STATUTES

MCL 750.110 & MCL 750.111

Shipping containers now protected by breaking & entering and illegal entry statutes

Effective: June 1, 2008

Public Act 10 of 2008 amended the statutes prohibiting breaking and entering (MCL 750.110) and entering without breaking 750.111) to include (MCL shipping containers in the list of places protected by those statutes. For the purposes of those statutes, a shipping container is "a standardized, reusable container for transporting cargo that is capable of integrating with a railcar flatbed or a flatbed semitrailer."

Public Act 10 of 2008

MCL 750.50

Animal abuse now punished according to the number of victim-animals

Effective: April 1, 2008

Public Act 152 of 2007 amended the animal abuse statute (MCL 750.50) to provide for punishments according to the number of animals abused, whether death of an animal resulted, and the number of previous offenses. Violations of MCL 750.50 are now punished as follows:

- 93-day misdemeanor 1 animal
- 1-year misdemeanor 2-3 animals <u>or</u> the death of any animal
- 2-year felony 4-9 animals <u>or</u> a prior conviction under MCL 750.50
- 4-year felony 10 or more animals or two or more prior convictions under MCL 750.50

Public Act 152 of 2007

BACK-TO-BASICS

Firearms-related frequently raised issues

What follows are the short answers to those firearms-related questions most often asked by police officers and the public.

Open carry of firearms

Subject to MCL 750.234d, it is legal to carry a visible pistol in public.

Possession of a pistol belonging to another Per MCL 28.432, a person with a Concealed Pistol License (CPL) may legally possess a properly registered pistol belonging to another. The owner need not be present.

Possession of pistols by non-residents
A resident of another state may possess a pistol in Michigan if they have a CPL issued by their state of residence (MCL 28.432 & MCL 28.432a). Without a CPL, a non-resident may not have a pistol in Michigan.

Safety Inspection Certificates

Michigan law does <u>not</u> require a person to have a copy of their certificate with their pistol after it has been registered; nor does the law require that a person keep a copy.

Transporting ammunition and long-guns MCL 750.227d describes the lawful way to transport a shotgun or rifle. While they must be unloaded, they may be transported in the same case as ammunition (including loaded magazines).

CPL holders – required notifications
The notification requirements of MCL
28.425f only apply when a CPL holder is
actually carrying a concealed pistol. Nothing
in Michigan law allows an officer to search a
CPL holder to determine whether they are
carrying a pistol.

SUBSCRIPTIONS

To subscribe to receive the Update via e-mail, send an e-mail to MSPLegal@michigan.gov. The body of the e-mail must include: Name (first & last), Rank, Department, and Work Phone.