

# Questions? MICRMail@michigan.gov





## Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act (MRTMA) Violations

Violations of the MRTMA that are designated as civil infractions should not be reported to the Michigan Incident Crime Reporting (MICR) program.

Violations of the MRTMA that are designated as misdemeanors should be reported to MICR using Offense File Class 35001 "Violation of Controlled Substance Act."

If an arrest is made for a MRTMA violation, use one of the following arrest charge codes:

- **3515** Possession/Cultivation/Delivery without remuneration/Possession with Intent to Deliver—Not more than twice the legal limit, Third Offense
- **3516** Possession/Cultivation/Delivery without remuneration/Possession with Intent to Deliver—More than twice the legal limit
- **3517** Possession/Cultivation/Delivery without remuneration/Possession with Intent to Deliver—More than twice the legal limit for commercial purpose or violence involved.

**Note** – Violations of the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act should <u>not</u> be reported using these arrest charge codes.

#### **Examples**

### Scenario A

A 24-year-old individual is cited for possessing not more than twice the amount of marihuana allowed, first offense.

<u>MICR Action:</u> No offense should be reported to MICR, as the penalty for the first offense of possessing not more than twice the legal limit is a civil infraction.

#### Scenario B

A 32-year-old individual is charged with possessing not more than twice the amount of marihuana allowed third offense.

MICR Action: A 35001 "Violation of Controlled Substance Act" should be reported, as the penalty for the third offense of possessing not more than twice the legal limit is a misdemeanor.