
 

 

 

Connect to Disconnect 4-Hour Enforcement 
April 7, 2022 

FACT SHEET AND TALKING POINTS 

Distracted driving is one of the fastest-growing safety issues on the roads today. Distracted drivers 
aren’t just a threat to themselves—they are a danger to everyone else on the road. To help keep road 
users safe, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) is teaming up with law 
enforcement during April’s National Distracted Driving Awareness Month for the U Drive. U Text. U Pay. 
campaign from April 7-11, 2022. This national distracted driving effort focuses on ways to change the 
behavior of drivers through enforcement, public awareness, and education. 

Connect to Disconnect—April 7, 2022 
• Connect to Disconnect (C2D) is a special 4-hour enforcement operation coordinated by State 

Highway Safety Offices and law enforcement agencies across the country. The initiative will take 
place on April 7, 2022—the first day of the U Drive. U Text. U Pay. campaign. During C2D, 
officers are asked to ticket drivers for violating their state’s or local jurisdiction’s cell phone or 
texting ban. 

• The C2D initiative aims to demonstrate a nationwide commitment to enforcing cell phone and 
texting bans and reduce traffic crashes caused by distracted drivers, ultimately preventing 
injuries and deaths associated with cell phone use and texting while driving. 

Michigan Statistics—According to Michigan Traffic Crash Facts 
• In 2020, 5.8 percent of Michigan crashes involved a distracted driver. 
• There were 14,236 motor vehicle crashes involving a distracted driver in 2020, and 48 of those 

crashes resulted in a fatality. 
• There were 5,560 injuries and 52 distracted driving fatalities in 2020. 
• The most common crash type for distracted driving crashes in 2020 was rear end, which 

accounted for 44.7 percent of distracted driving crashes. 
• In 2020, a total of 2,394 crashes occurred in Michigan where a motor vehicle driver was using a 

cell phone. Fifteen of those crashes involved a fatality. 
• A total of 2,397 motor vehicle drivers, 15 pedestrians, and 5 bicyclists were reported in 2020 to 

be using cell phones in 2,414 crashes. 
• In 2020, of the 2,397 motor vehicle drivers using cell phones, 417 (17.4 percent) were 20 years 

of age or younger. 
• In 2020, there were 988 (40.9 percent) rear end crashes where a driver was using a cell phone. 

National Statistics—According to NHTSA 
• According to NHTSA, between 2012 and 2019, nearly 26,004 people died in crashes involving a 

distracted driver. While fatalities from motor vehicle crashes decreased slightly from 2018, 
distraction-related fatalities increased by 10 percent. 

• NHTSA reports that the number of deaths linked to driver distraction was 3,142 nationwide, or 
almost 9 percent of all fatalities, in 2019. That represents a 10 percent increase over the year 
2018, or 284 more fatalities. The distraction figure was the largest increase in causes of traffic 
deaths reported for 2019.  

• Texting while driving has become an especially problematic trend among younger drivers. In 
fact, 9 percent of drivers aged 15 to 19 years old involved in 2019 fatal crashes were reported as 



distracted. That age group has the largest proportion of drivers who were distracted at the time 
of the fatal crashes. 

• In 2019, there were 566 nonoccupants (pedestrians, bicyclists, and others) killed in crashes 
involving a distracted driver.  

Distracted Driving 
Sending a quick text, taking a phone call, or munching on a treat can seem simple enough, but when 
those tasks—and others like them—are done while you are driving, they can become deadly 
distractions. Distracted driving happens when a driver does non-driving activities while operating a 
motor vehicle. 

Texting is the most alarming distraction because it… 
• Takes your eyes off the road. (visual distraction) AND 
• Takes your hands off the wheel. (manual distraction) AND 
• Takes your mind off the drive. (cognitive distraction 

Michigan’s Texting While Driving Law 
• Prohibits drivers from reading, manually typing, or sending a text message while driving. 
• Defines driving as: operating a motor vehicle on a street or highway. 
• Is a primary enforcement law, meaning officers can make traffic stops if they observe texting 

drivers. 
• Includes exceptions for reporting crashes, crimes, or other emergencies. 

$100 ticket for the first offense. 
$200 ticket for each subsequent offense. 

How Not to Be Distracted 
• Use your phone’s Do Not Disturb feature or an app to silence calls and texts. 
• Put your phone in the glove box or elsewhere to curb the urge to look at it. 
• Avoid eating, drinking, and smoking while driving. 
• Never attempt to read while driving, including a map. 
• Do not do any personal grooming or adjust your clothing while driving. 
• Avoid a lot of interaction with passengers. 
• Emotions can interfere with driving. Do not drive when you are angry or upset. 
• Keep music at a reasonable level, and avoid using headphones or earbuds. 
• Pull over to a safe location and park your vehicle if you need to make or take a call. 
• Do not drive with a pet on your lap. 
• Ask a passenger to help navigate, change the music, or monitor your texts. 
• Pull over to a safe place to address situations involving children. 
• Do not daydream when you are behind the wheel. 


