

STATE OF MICHIGAN GOVERNOR'S TRAFFIC SAFETY ADVISORY COMMISSION LANSING

MICHAEL L. PRINCE CHAIR

GRETCHEN WHITMER GOVERNOR

March 9, 2020

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Kendall Wingrove 517-284-3147

## Marquette City Fire Department honored for commitment to child passenger safety

The Marquette City Fire Department (MCFD) will be honored during the Governor's Traffic Safety Advisory Commission (GTSAC) annual awards celebration Wednesday at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center in East Lansing for their efforts to ensure the safety of children in car seats.

Since 2000, nearly 1,000 Marquette area car seats have been evaluated by MCFD technicians and they distribute about 100 car seats a year to those in need. The department will receive the Richard H. Austin Long-Term Traffic Safety Award, an honor given to individuals or organizations making significant long-term contributions to the field of traffic safety.

The GTSAC recognizes organizations, programs and individuals for outstanding involvement in traffic safety. The awards ceremony is part of the 25th Annual Michigan Traffic Safety Summit. Three long-term awards, six Outstanding Traffic Safety Achievement awards and one student award are being presented.

Starting in 1997, nine Marquette city firefighters have become Child Passenger Safety technicians. All have passed recertification every two years. This 100 percent recertification rate tops the national recertification rate of 56.1 percent.

The department also donates 300-square-feet of storage for car seats and spends 3,000 hours annually conducting car seat education sessions.

The GTSAC was formed in 2002 to serve as the state's forum for identifying key traffic safety challenges and developing and implementing plans to address those issues. The commission includes representatives from the Michigan Department of Transportation and the Michigan State Police and departments of: Education, Health and Human Services and State, as well as the Office of the Governor, Aging and Adult Services Agency and Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning. There are also three representatives from local government appointed by the governor.

- 30 -

Michael L. Prince, Chair, Office of Highway Safety Planning • Steven Kiefer, Governor's Office • Carol Reagan, Department of State • • Gregg Brunner, Department of Transportation • Linda Scarpetta, Department of Health and Human Services• Kenneth Micklash, Department of Education• Inspector Scott Marier, Department of State Police • Rachel Telder, Aging and Adult Services Agency • Hank Kelley, Local Representative • Chief Ronald Wiles, Local Representative • Sheriff Michael Poulin, Local Representative