

STATE OF MICHIGAN GOVERNOR'S TRAFFIC SAFETY ADVISORY COMMISSION LANSING

MICHAEL L. PRINCE

GRETCHEN WHITMER GOVERNOR

March 9, 2020

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Kendall Wingrove 517-284-3147

## Otsego High School honored for safe driving campaign

Otsego High School will be honored during the Governor's Traffic Safety Advisory Commission (GTSAC) annual awards celebration Wednesday at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center in East Lansing for Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD), which is part of their *Strive for a Safer Drive (S4SD)* program.

The commission honors organizations, programs and individuals for outstanding involvement in traffic safety. The awards ceremony is part of the 25th Annual Michigan Traffic Safety Summit. Three long-term awards, six Outstanding Traffic Safety Achievement awards and one student award are being presented.

S4SD is a student-led safe driving initiative. SADD has been a part of the S4SD program for the last five years, running a winter driving safety campaign for two years, a distracted driving campaign for two years, and a texting and driving campaign for one year.

The students used state grant funds to conduct parking lot observation surveys to determine how many drivers are distracted and used various slogans and a brochure to highlight the different types of distracted driving. At a school assembly, students used a distracted driving simulator and participated in other games designed to show the dangers of driving while distracted. All of SADD's efforts have helped educate students on how to be a safer driver.

The GTSAC was formed in 2002 to serve as the state's forum for identifying key traffic safety challenges and developing and implementing plans to address those issues. The commission includes representatives from the Michigan Department of Transportation and the Michigan State Police and departments of: Education, Health and Human Services and State, as well as the Office of the Governor, Aging and Adult Services Agency and Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning. There are also three representatives from local government appointed by the governor.

- 30 -

Michael L. Prince, Chair, Office of Highway Safety Planning • Steven Kiefer, Governor's Office • Carol Reagan, Department of State • • Gregg Brunner, Department of Transportation • Linda Scarpetta, Department of Health and Human Services• Kenneth Micklash, Department of Education• Inspector Scott Marier, Department of State Police • Rachel Telder, Aging and Adult Services Agency • Hank Kelley, Local Representative • Chief Ronald Wiles, Local Representative • Sheriff Michael Poulin, Local Representative