
Slow Down! And 
Move Over

Michigan’s 
 Move Over 

Law

Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning
P.O. Box 30634, Lansing, MI 48909

517-284-3332
Michigan.gov/ohsp

This material was developed through a project funded by the Michigan Office  
of Highway Safety Planning and the U.S. Department of Transportation. 

8-2021



MICHIGAN’S MOVE OVER LAW
Michigan’s Move Over law requires motorists to 
slow down and move over for stationary authorized 
vehicles with flashing, rotating, or oscillating lights 
activated. 

When approaching a stationary authorized 
vehicle with flashing, rotating, or oscillating lights 
activated, carefully slow down to at least 10 mph 
below the posted speed limit and fully move over 
into an open lane. If this is not possible due to 
traffic, weather, or road conditions, slow down to 
at least 10 mph below the posted speed limit, and 
pass with caution, allowing the authorized vehicle 
as much space as possible.

The law applies to these authorized emergency 
vehicles:

	■ Police
	■ Fire
	■ Rescue
	■ Ambulance
	■ Road service 
Road service vehicles include tow trucks and
courtesy vehicles operated by the Michigan
Department of Transportation.

The Move Over law also applies to these other autho-
rized vehicles with flashing, rotating, or oscillating 
lights activated: solid waste haulers, utility service 
vehicles, and road maintenance vehicles.

PENALTIES
A motorist violating the Move Over law for autho-
rized emergency vehicles is responsible for a civil 
infraction and is subject to two points on their driv-
er’s license and a fine of $400.

A motorist faces felony charges and enhanced 
penalties of up to 15 years in prison and/or a 
$7,500 fine if the violation causes death to a police 
officer, firefighter, or other emergency response 
personnel. For injury to a police officer, firefighter, 
or other emergency response personnel, the 
motorist is guilty of a felony, and the penalty is  
up to 2 years in prison and/or a $1,000 fine.

Violation of the Move Over law for other 
authorized vehicles is punishable as a 90-day 
misdemeanor.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q.
If I am on a two-lane road and 
see a police car on the shoulder 
and a car is traveling in the 
opposite direction, what am I 
supposed to do?

A.
If it is not safe for you to move over 
into an adjacent lane, then you 
must slow down to at least 10 mph 
below the posted speed limit and 
pass with caution, giving the 
emergency vehicle as much room 
as possible.

Q. Do I have to move over for a  
tow truck?

A. Yes, road service vehicles, including 
tow trucks, are considered to be 
emergency vehicles under this law.

Q.
If I see an emergency vehicle 
on the side of the road and it 
doesn’t have its emergency 
lights activated, do I have to 
move over?

A.
No, you do not have to move 
over if the emergency vehicle 
doesn’t have its emergency lights 
activated. However, you should 
always pass with caution, giving 
the emergency vehicles as much 
space as possible.


