Trooper of the Year

Trooper Blaine Bachman

Trooper Blaine Bachman of the Wayland Post was named Trooper of the Year.

The Gerstacker Trooper of the Year Award recognizes the MSP trooper or sergeant who symbolizes outstanding professional ethics, dedication to duty and a concern for giving back to their community. The late Dr. Carl A. Gerstacker, former chairman of Dow Chemical Company, created the award in 1961.

Bachman is a recipient of the Cpl. Samuel A. Mapes Criminal Patrol and Investigation Award, recognized for excelling in looking past the traffic stop to identify serious crimes and close investigations with felony arrests. He is a mentor to younger troopers as a field training officer and has become someone to turn to for assistance with criminal investigations. He also coordinates the post’s Explorers program, which a career-oriented program that gives young adults the opportunity to explore a career in law enforcement.

“Tpr. Bachman rarely does only what is expected. His exemplary work performance, extensive community involvement and leadership skills make him an excellent choice for Trooper of the Year,” said Etue. “He is keenly aware of the needs of his fellow troopers and also works hard to make a positive difference in his community.”

Bachman participates in MSP community initiatives, such as Stuff the Turkey and Shop with a Cop. He has mentored a child during the DNR’s youth hunt and, like others in the department, has taken the frigid polar plunge to raise money for Special Olympics.

Bachman enlisted with the MSP in 2014, graduating as a member of the 126th Trooper Recruit School.