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Michigan Wage and Hour Division

Disclaimer

Information provided in this presentation may contain legal information.
Legal information is not the same as legal advice — the application of law to
an individual's specific circumstances.

The division will do its best to provide you with information that is accurate
and useful, but it is recommended you consult a lawyer if you want
professional assurance the information, and your interpretation of it, Is
appropriate to your particular situation.



Wage & Hour Division

Currently 26 people in the Department of Labor and Economic
Opportunity (LEO) who administer Michigan statutes:

Public Act 90: Youth Employment Standards

Public Act 390: Payment of Wages & Fringe Benefits

Public Act 337: Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage
(Minimum Wage & Overtime)

Public Act 338: Paid Medical Leave

Public Act 62: Human Trafficking Notification Act

Mission

To provide public service through the
fair, effective, and efficient
administration of laws that protect the
wages and fringe benefits of Michigan
workers including paid medical leave,
provide for the safe and legal
employment of minors, and require
posting of notices related to human
trafficking, youth employment, paid
medical leave, and minimum wage.



State of Michigan
Payment of Wages & Fringe Benefits

Public Act 390



PUBLIC ACT 390

The Payment of Wages &
Fringe Benefits Act

Applies to most Michigan employees:

» Regulates payment of hourly, salary, piece rate,
and commission wages on a regular basis: weekly,
biweekly, semimonthly, or monthly.

« Permits payment of wages by US currency, negotiable check,
direct deposit, or payroll debit card.

» Restricts deductions from wages to those allowed by law,
court ordered garnishment, collective bargaining agreement,
or employee signed written consent.

» Allows overpayment deductions resulting from clerical errors
without written consent under certain conditions.




Cont'd. PUBLIC ACT 390

The Payment of Wages &
Fringe Benefits Act

Requires fringe benefits of vacation pay, sick pay, holiday
pay, bonuses, and authorized expenses be paid
In accordance with written contracts or written policies.

Prohibits employers from receiving payment from employees
as condition of or for continued employment.

Requires employers to provide retainable check stub.

Provides protection for employees who file a claim or
exercise a right protected by Act 390.




State of Michigan

Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage
(Minimum Wage and Overtime)

Public Act 337




PUBLIC ACT 337

The Improved Workforce
Opportunity Wage Act

Applies to:

« Employers with 2 or more employees
16 years of age and older.

« Employers not covered by the federal
Fair Labor Standard Act (FLSA).

» Individuals covered by the FLSA
when state requirement is stricter
than federal requirement.

Provides a minimum hourly rate of $9.87
currently and will potentially increase

to $10.10/hr. on January 1, 2023, dependent
on the state’s 2022 unemployment rate
being less than 8.5%.



Cont'd. PUBLIC ACT 337

The Improved Workforce
Opportunity Wage Act,
cont’d

* Permits a 16 to 17-year-old subminimum wage equal to
85% of minimum wage rate: currently $8.39/hour.

 Allows tipped employees to be paid 38% of minimum wage
rate, $3.75/hour currently, if they report in
writing receiving tips equal to minimum wage.

« Offers a $4.25/hour 16 to 19-year-old training wage for 90
calendar days of employment.

* Necessitates overtime, 1% times regular pay rate, for
hours worked over 40 in a 7-day workweek.




PUBLIC ACT 337

Impact of Recent Court of Claims Ruling:

The adoption of the 2018 ballot initiative and subsequent
amendment by the 2018 legislature was ruled unconstitutional
on 7/19/2022.

The current decision increases the Michigan minimum wage.

There will be changes for businesses that need to determine
how to comply.

An order staying the effect of the decision until 2/19/2023 was
Issued on 7/29/2022.

The adopted version of the IWOWA may be found in the
legislature’s archives at mcl-Act-337-0f-2018.pdf (mi.gov).

The situation is fluid and available updates will be posted at
www.Michigan.gov/wagehour.



http://legislature.mi.gov/documents/mcl/archive/2019/April/mcl-Act-337-of-2018.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/wagehour

State of Michigan
Youth Employment Standards

Public Act 90




PUBLIC ACT 90

The Youth Employment Standards Act

« Covers all Michigan employers who employ minors,
people under 18 years old, along with the Fair Labor
Standards Act (FLSA) on federally
covered businesses (stricter standard applies).

« Sets work permit requirements.

* Prohibits employment in hazardous or injurious
occupations.

* Regulates hours of employment.
» Requires meal and rest periods.

« Mandates adult supervision.

« Contains posting requirement.



State of Michigan
Paid Medical Leave

Public Act 338




The Paid Medical Leave Act

Effective March 29, 2019

Applies to employers with 50 or more employees that work anywhere in
the United States.

v Employer:
» any person, firm, business, educational institution, nonprofit agency, corporation,
limited liability company, government entity, or other entity.

» does not include the United States government, another state, or a political
subdivision of another state.

» number of employees used to determine the count for employer required coverage
do not have to work in the State of Michigan.

v Employee:
» an individual engaged in service to an employer, in the business of the employer,
and from whom an employer is required to withhold for federal income tax

purposes




Cont'd. PUBLIC ACT 338

There are 12 categories of Employees not covered
by the Paid Medical Leave Act. Most common
categories are:

Individuals whose primary work location is not in the state of Michigan.
Individuals 18 — 19 years-of-age for their first 90 calendar days of employment.
Employees of a staffing agency contracted to work for a third party are not eligible for PMLA.

Individuals employed by an employer for 25 weeks or fewer in a calendar year for a job that is
scheduled for 25 weeks or fewer.

Individuals who worked on average fewer than 25 hours per week during the immediately
preceding calendar year.

Variable hour employees as defined in 29 CFR 54.4980H-I.



Cont'd. PUBLIC ACT 338

Accrual, benefit year, carry over, & frontloading

Accrual:
» Begins March 29, 2019, or an employee’s 1st day of employment, whichever is later.
» 1 hour for every 35 actual hours worked.
» However, employer is not required to allow accrual of over 1 hour in a calendar week or
more than 40 hours in a benefit year.

Benefit Year:
» Any consecutive 12-month period used by an employer to calculate an eligible employee’s
benefits.

Carry over:
» Up to 40 hours allowed from one benefit year to the next.
» However, employer not required to allow employees to use more than 40 hours in a single
benefit year.

Frontloading 40 hours in lieu of accrual:
» May be done at the beginning of the benefit year or on date individual becomes eligible
during the benefit year on a prorated basis.
» Carry over not required.




Cont'd. PUBLIC ACT 338

Usage

« Allowed as leave is accrued:
» However, employer may require employee to wait until the 90th calendar day after
commencing employment before using accrued leave.

« Must be used in 1-hour increments:
» Unless employer has a different increment policy set forth in writing in an employee
handbook or other employee benefit document.

 Employees must:
» Follow the employer’s usual and customary notice, procedural, and documentation
requirements for requesting leave.
> Be allowed at least 3 days to provide documentation.




Cont'd. PUBLIC ACT 338

Employees may take paid medical leave for any of the
following reasons:

« Physical or mental illness, injury, or health condition of the employee or his or her family
member.

- Medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of the employee or employee’s family member.
* Preventative care of the employee or his or her family member.

« Closure of the employee’s primary workplace by order of a public official due to a public
health emergency.

« Care of his or her child whose school or place of care has been closed by order of a public
official due to a public health emergency.

- Employee’s or his or her family member’s exposure to a communicable disease that would
jeopardize the health of others as determined by health authorities or a health care
provider.




Cont'd. PUBLIC ACT 338

For domestic violence and sexual assault situations,
employees may use paid medical leave for any of the
following:

Medical care or psychological or other counseling.
Receiving services from a victim services organization.
Relocation and obtaining legal services.

Participation in civil or criminal proceedings related to or resulting from the domestic
violence or sexual assault.




PUBLIC ACT 338

The Paid Medical Leave Act in Court

Impact of Recent Court of Claims Ruling:

» The adoption of the 2018 Earned Sick Time Act (ESTA) ballot
initiative and subsequent amendment to the Paid Medical
Leave Act by the 2018 legislature was ruled unconstitutional
on 7/19/2022.

» The current decision expands the eligibility, accrual, and use
of paid sick leave.

» There will be changes for businesses that need to determine
how to comply.

» An order staying the effect of the decision until 2/19/2023 was
iIssued on 7/29/2022.

» The adopted version of the ESTA may be found in the
legislature’s archives at mcl-Act-338-0f-2018.pdf (mi.gov).

» The situation is fluid and available updates will be posted at
www.Michigan.gov/wagehour.



http://legislature.mi.gov/documents/mcl/archive/2019/April/mcl-Act-338-of-2018.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/wagehour

State of Michigan
Human Trafficking Notification

Public Act 62




PUBLIC ACT 62

The Human Trafficking Notification Act

Requires conspicuous, public posting of a human trafficking notification in English
and Spanish at the following entities:

» Public rest stops and welcome facilities.

» Public bus and rail transportation stations.
* Public airports.

« Adult entertainment establishments.

* Court declared public nuisance properties.

Notification also available in the following languages:

1. Arabic 4. Chinese Traditional (Cantonese) 6. Hmong

2. Bengali 5. Chinese Simplified (Mandarin) 7. Polish

3. Bosnian 8. Ukrainian
/\\ National Human Trafficking Resource

Hotline: 1-888-373-7888 Text: 233733



Where to report misclassification issues?

https://www.michigan.gov/ag/initiatives/payroll-fraud

Internal Revenue Service 800-829-1040

U nemployment Misclassification Unit - 1o report suspected cases of employee
misclassification, call UIA Employer Customer Service at 1-855-484-2636

MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF

LABOR & ECONOMIC

OPPORTUNITY
2\



https://www.michigan.gov/ag/initiatives/payroll-fraud

Claim Filing

Claims for investigation are accepted:

Within 12-months of alleged violation under the Payment of Wages and Fringe
Benefits Act.

Within 3 years of alleged violation under the Michigan minimum wage and
overtime law.

Anonymous complaints are not accepted under Act 390.

A claim for Paid Medical Leave must be filed within 6 months of the alleged
violation.

A claim may be filed electronically online at www.michigan.gov/wageclaim by
calling Wage and Hour at 855-4MI-WAGE (855-464-9243)



http://www.michigan.gov/wagehour

FAQS

Can my employer change my rate of pay?
Yes, if your employer tells you about the reduction before it goes into effect, and you work any
hours under the new agreement. The employer cannot reduce your rate of pay on hours that you
have already worked.

Can my employer make overtime mandatory?
Yes, if you are over 18, your employer can ask or schedule you to work overtime at any time.

Do | have to work 40 hours to be considered full-time?
The laws the Wage and Hour Division enforces do not define full-time or part-time employment.
If your employer chooses to distinguish full time and part time employment in order to determine
eligibility for fringe benefits, the employer is required to pay those fringe benefits in accordance
with their written contract or written policy.

Does my employer have to pay me for training time?
On the job training which is directly related to the employee's job should be counted as hours
worked and paid accordingly.



State of Michigan

Recordkeeping, Resources, & Services




Recordkeeping

Maintain records for 3 years:

Employee name, address, birthdate, occupation, and
rate of pay.

Daily time records with starting and ending times to
the nearest 10th of an hour or smaller increment.

Total hours worked each pay period.

Total wages paid each pay period along with an
itemization of deductions.

Itemization of fringe benefits including
written agreements and paid medical leave taken.

Signed, dated tip statements each pay period.

Signed, written deduction authorizations.



Poster Requirements

« General Requirements
Minimum Wage and Overtime by all businesses

* Youth Employment Standards Act
Posting requirement by businesses who
employ minors

« General Requirements
Paid Medical Leave Act by businesses with 50
or more employees

 Human Trafficking Notification
by certain entities

Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity
Wage and Hour Division
PO Box 30476
Lansing, Ml 48909-7976

GRETCHEN WHITMER REQUIRED POSTER JEFF DONOFRIO
GOVERNOR GENERAL REQUIREMENTS - PAID MEDICAL LEAVE ACT* DIRECTOR
Coverage

The Paid Medical Leave Act, 2018 Public Act 338, as amended by 2018 Public Act 369, effective March 29, 2019, covers
employers who employ 50 or more individuals. The act covers individuals engaged in service to an employer in the business of
the employer and from whom an employer is required to withhold for federal income tax purposes. An eligible employee does
not include executive, administrative, and professional overtime exempt employees, employees covered by a private collective
bargaining agreement that is in effect, employees of the United States govemment, another state, or a political subdivision of
another state, individuals whose primary work location is not in this state, individuals 16-19 years of age being paid the youth
training wage in accordance with the Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act, temporary employees as described in the
Michigan Employment Security Act, variable hour employees as defined by

Railway Labor Act and Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act, individuals em H u m a n Trafﬁ c ki n g N Oti ﬁ cati O n

calendar year for a job scheduled for 25 weeks or fewer, individuals who wc
during the immediately preceding calendar year.(See section 2 of The Paid Me

Paid Medical Leave Accru: | If you or someone you know is being forced to engage in any

Paid medical leave accrual begins on March 29, 2019, or upon commencen

later. Paid medical leave is accrued at a rate of 1 hour for every 35 actual hour |3CtiVity and cannot leave, whether the activity is commercial
allow accrual of over 1 hour in a calendar week or more than 40 hours in a £ |sex, housework, farm work, or any other activity, please

month period used by an employer to calculate an eligible employee’s bene

unused accrued paid medical leave from one benefit year to the next; howeve contact the National Human Trathkmg Resource Center

to use more than 40 hours in a single benefit year. An employer may provide |hotline at 888-373-7888 or text 233733 to access help

by providing at least 40 haurs at tha hani

nninn ~f tha hanafit vaar ar an tha d

LANSING

POSTING REQUIREMENT
YOUTH EMPLOYMENT STANDARDS ACT, 1978 PA 90, as amended
MCL 409.110 Minor under 16 years; days and hours of

benefit year on Ly Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity afficking are protected
| leave lo the ne; tvolthirf‘ = Wage and Hour Division tate.
PO Box 30476 >3 s
Lansing, MI 48909-7976 Trafficking Notification Act
GRETCHEN WHITMER REQUIRED POSTER JEFF DONOFRIO  nan trafficking:
GOVERNOR GENERAL REQUIREMENTS - MINIMUM WAGE and OVERTIME DIRECTOR
Coverage
The Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act (IWOWA), Public Act 337 of 2018, as amended, covers employers who
employ 2 or more employees 16 years of age and older. nd ons of his/her work.
Minimum Hourly Wage Rate
Employees must be paid at least. g - ”
Effective Date Minimum Hourly Wage Tipped Employee 85%""
Rate Minimum Hourly Rate | Reported Average Hourly Tips | Hourly Rate
January 1, 2018 $9.25 $3.52 $5.73 $7.86
March 29, 2019 $9.45 $3.59 $5.86 $8.03
January 1, 2020* $9.65 $3.67 $5.98 $8.20
January 1, 2021* $9.87 $3.75 $6.12 $8.39
*An increase in the minimum hourly wage rate as prescribed in subscction (1) docs not take cffcct if the unemphoyment rate for this state, as determined by the Burcau|
United States Dy o,
rate as preseri T@j
year for which the uncmployment rat =l
—_— 3
& " Minars 1617 ygars o (ﬁ‘(,gb
STATE OF MICHIGAN
GRETCHENWHITMER  DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY JEFF DONOFRIO
GOVERNOR DIRECTOR

Sec. 10. A minor under 16 years shall not be employed in an occupation subject to this act for more than 6 days in 1
week, nor for a period longer than a weekly average of 8 hours per day or 48 hours in 1 week, nor more than 10
hours in 1 day. The minor shall not be employed between the hours of 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. A minor who is a student
in school shall not be employed more than a combined school and work week of 48 hours during the period when
school is in session.
MCL 409.111 Minor 16 years or older; days and hours of
Sec. 11. (1). Except as provided in subsection (3), a minor 16 years of age or older shall not be employed in an

occupation subject to this act for more than any of the following periods:

(a) Six days in 1 week.

(b) A period longer than a weekly average of 8 hours per day or 48 hours in 1 week.

(c) Ten hoursin 1 day.

(d) For a minor 16 years of age or older who is a student in school, a combined school and work week of 48 hours

during the period school is in session.

(2) Except as provided in subsection (3), a minor 16 years of age or older shall not be employed between 10:30
p.m. and 6 a.m. However, except as provided in subsection (3), a minor 16 years of age or older who is a
student in school may be employed until 11:30 p.m. on any of the following days:

(a) On Fridays and Saturdays.
(b) During school vacation periods.
(c) During periods when the minor is not regularly enrolled in school

R Aaingid S mam A Aoyt Caging QP00 1 icl o el % naad Ao_ g ),




State of Michigan Contact Information

Online;

 michigan.gov/WageHour

Department of Labor and

Economic Opportunity Lansing Office:
C. 530 W. Allegan Street
Wage and Hour Division PO Box 30476

Lansing, MI 48909-7976

« 517-284-7800
* Toll-Free: 855-4MI-WAGE (855-464-9243)



http://michigan.gov/WageHour​
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