Skip to main content

Outdoor Adventure Center - Boater Safety

People in boat on water with breakwater in background

Outdoor Adventure Center - Boater Safety

2023-04-22T13:00:00Z 2023-04-22T21:00:00Z Outdoor Adventure Center - Boater Safety

This is a no-cost event being hosted by the Michigan Department of Natural Resources Law Enforcement Division and the Wayne County Sheriff Department at the Outdoor Adventure Center.

No meals will be provided at this event. We recommend bringing a bag lunch. All other course materials and supplies will be provided. The main purpose of the boater safety education course is to train knowledgeable, safe and responsible boaters. Topics covered include general boating and water safety, navigational rules, causes and prevention of crashes, operation and fueling techniques, environmental concerns and reporting responsibility.

Any motorized boat operator born after June 30, 1996, is required by law to pass an approved boater safety course and to carry a boater safety certificate. In addition, boater education is also required for all personal watercraft operators born after Dec. 31, 1978. Michigan’s boater education course is taught by a dedicated corps of certified volunteer instructors, sheriffs’ deputies and Michigan conservation officers.

About the class:

  • In-person, traditional classroom setting.
  • Written test (75% or better to pass).
  • No minimum age requirement; however, students under 10 years of age must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.

Free for participants. Regular admission fees apply for building access by nonstudents.

Register for Boater Safety.

1801 Atwater Street, Detroit, Michigan, 48207
Event Date

Start: April 22, 2023 9:00 AM

End: April 22, 2023 5:00 PM

Contact Information
Outdoor Adventure Center

This is a no-cost event being hosted by the Michigan Department of Natural Resources Law Enforcement Division and the Wayne County Sheriff Department at the Outdoor Adventure Center.

No meals will be provided at this event. We recommend bringing a bag lunch. All other course materials and supplies will be provided. The main purpose of the boater safety education course is to train knowledgeable, safe and responsible boaters. Topics covered include general boating and water safety, navigational rules, causes and prevention of crashes, operation and fueling techniques, environmental concerns and reporting responsibility.

Any motorized boat operator born after June 30, 1996, is required by law to pass an approved boater safety course and to carry a boater safety certificate. In addition, boater education is also required for all personal watercraft operators born after Dec. 31, 1978. Michigan’s boater education course is taught by a dedicated corps of certified volunteer instructors, sheriffs’ deputies and Michigan conservation officers.

About the class:

  • In-person, traditional classroom setting.
  • Written test (75% or better to pass).
  • No minimum age requirement; however, students under 10 years of age must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.

Free for participants. Regular admission fees apply for building access by nonstudents.

Register for Boater Safety.