Skip to main content

Outdoor Adventure Center - Boater Education

People in boat on water with breakwater in background

Outdoor Adventure Center - Boater Education

2024-05-11T13:00:00Z 2024-05-11T21:00:00Z Outdoor Adventure Center - Boater Education

The main purpose of the boater safety education course is to train knowledgeable, safe and responsible boaters. Topics covered include general boating and water safety, navigational rules, causes and prevention of crashes, operation and fueling techniques, environmental concerns and reporting responsibility. Any motorized boat operator born after June 30, 1996, is required by law to pass an approved boater safety course and to carry a boater safety certificate. In addition, boater education is also required for all PWC operators born after Dec. 31, 1978. Michigan’s boater education course is taught by a dedicated core of certified volunteer instructors, sheriff’s deputies and Michigan conservation officers.

About this class:

  • In-person, traditional classroom setting.
  • Written test (75% or better to pass).
  • No minimum age requirement; however, students under 10 years of age should be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.

This is free event. Preregistration required.

1801 Atwater Street, Detroit, Michigan, 48207
Event Date

Start: May 11, 2024 9:00 AM

End: May 11, 2024 5:00 PM

Contact Information
Outdoor Adventure Center

The main purpose of the boater safety education course is to train knowledgeable, safe and responsible boaters. Topics covered include general boating and water safety, navigational rules, causes and prevention of crashes, operation and fueling techniques, environmental concerns and reporting responsibility. Any motorized boat operator born after June 30, 1996, is required by law to pass an approved boater safety course and to carry a boater safety certificate. In addition, boater education is also required for all PWC operators born after Dec. 31, 1978. Michigan’s boater education course is taught by a dedicated core of certified volunteer instructors, sheriff’s deputies and Michigan conservation officers.

About this class:

  • In-person, traditional classroom setting.
  • Written test (75% or better to pass).
  • No minimum age requirement; however, students under 10 years of age should be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.

This is free event. Preregistration required.