Board Members

A 12-member Board oversees the Michigan Public School Employees Retirement System administration. The Governor appoints 11 of the 12 Board members to represent active and retired public school employees as defined by Section 22 of Public Act 300. One Board member serves by virtue of his or her office in state government. Upon expiration of a term a member may continue to serve, at the pleasure of the governor, until a successor is appointed.

Board Member Representing
Scott Koenigsknecht, Chair
for Dr. Michael Rice
State Superintendent of Education, ex officio
Charles "Dan" Christner
Term expires March 30, 2022
Classroom Teachers, Retirants
Laura Colligan
Term expires March 30, 2020
Reporting Unit Board of Control
Liz Eastway
Term expires March 30, 2021
Active or Retired Non-certified Educational Support Positions
Mike Engle  
Term expires March 30, 2021
Classroom Teachers, Active
Stephen Epstein
Term expires March 30, 2020
General Public Investments
Ann G. Kroneman
Term expires March 30, 2020

Community College Administrators and Trustees

Jeff Mills
Term expires March 30, 2021
School System Superintendents
Kevin Philipps 
Term expires March 30, 2020
Finance/Operations, non-Superintendents
Fred Baker
Term expires December 31, 2022
General Public Health Insurance/Actuaries
Timothy Raymer, Vice Chair
Term expires December 31, 2021
Finance/Operations, Retirants, Member of largest retirant organization
Vacant Classroom teachers and First Class School District Employees
Anthony Estell, Executive Secretary