Michigan Natural Resources Commission

The Michigan Natural Resources Commission (NRC) is a seven-member body whose members are appointed by the Governor and subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

With voter adoption of Proposal G in 1996 and enactment of PA 21 of 2013, exclusive authority to regulate the taking of game and fish has been vested with the NRC.

Click here to access the Natural Resources Commission homepage and meeting information


MCL 16.354, Act 380 of 1965

Contact Information

Department of Natural Resources
Executive Division
Attention: Cheryl Nelson
P.O. BOX 30028
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: 517-284-6237

Email:  nelsonc@michigan.gov

J.R. Richardson (R), Ontonagon
Term expires 12/31/2018

Christine Crumbaugh (R), St. Louis
Term expires 12/31/2018


Vicki Pontz (I), Portland - Chair

Term expires 12/31/2019


Rex Schlaybaugh, Jr. (R), Birmingham

Term expires 12/31/2019


Christopher Tracy (I), Richland

Term expires 12/31/2020


Louise Klarr (R), Bloomfield

Term expires 12/31/2020


John Walters (I), Vanderbilt

Term expires 12/31/2021