Barrier Free Design Board

The Barrier Free Design Board was created by Act 190 of 1974, amending Act 1 of 1966. The board has the responsibility to receive, review, and process requests for exceptions to the barrier free design specifications; require appropriate equivalent alternatives when exceptions are granted; receive, process, and make recommendations for barrier free design rules.
The board consists of nine members: four physically limited members, one from the construction industry, one building inspector from a local unit of government, one registered architect, one professional engineer, and one public member. Members of the board will serve 3 year terms. 
Contact Information
LeeAnn Allaire
PO Box 30254
Lansing, MI  48909
517/241-9570 (facsimile)
Aaron Besmer, Caledonia
Term expires 10/31/18
Chris MacKay, Farmington Hills
Physically limited and may be a wheelchair user
Term expires 10/31/18
Jamie Spore, Ludington
Wheelchair user
Term expires 10/31/18
Building Inspectors
Term expires 10/31/19
David Mollitor, DeWitt
Construction Industry
Term expires 10/31/19
Eric Thomas, Flint
Mobility limited individuals
Term expires 10/31/19
Ronald Campbell, Flint
Term expires 10/31/20
Jason Turkish, Southfield
Visually impaired
Term expires 10/31/20


Jeffrey Eischen, Clarkston
Hearing impaired
Term expires 10/31/20