21st Century Education Commission

The 21st Century Education Commission will focus on long-term improvements that can enhance student achievement and better prepare students for a global economy.
Executive Order 2016-6, creates the commission which was announced in Snyder’s State of the State address in January. The commission will be responsible for analyzing top performing education systems in the nation, identifying issues impacting Michigan’s academic success, and recommending changes to restructure Michigan’s education system.
The Governor shall appoint 16 members to serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The Commission shall complete its work and issue a final report to the Governor for his consideration. A copy of the final report shall be transmitted to the Legislature. Ninety (90) days after the issuance and transference of its final report, the Commission shall be deemed to have met the charges placed upon it by Executive Order 2016-6 and shall cease operations. 
*Alloyd Blackmon, Stevensville
Whirlpool Executive on loan working with Michigan's Great Southwest Strategic Leadership Council
*Dave Campbell, Kalamazoo
Superintendent of Kalamazoo Regional Educational Service Agency
*JoAnn Chavez, Ann Arbor
Vice President and Chief Tax Officer for DTE Energy
*Roger Curtis, Onsted
President of the Michigan International Speedway
*Dr. Randy Davis, Marshall
Superintendent of Marshall Public Schools
*Dr. Thomas Haas, Allendale - Chair
President of Grand Valley State University
*Conway Jeffress, Novi
President of Schoolcraft College
*Brandy Johnson, East Lansing
Executive Director of the Michigan College Access Network
*Ann Kalass, Northville
President and CEO of Starfish Family Services
*Doug Luciani, Traverse City
CEO of at TraverseCONNECT
*Matt Oney, Gladstone
Physics and Chemistry Teacher at Escanaba Area High School
*Doug Ross, West Bloomfield
President of the American Promise Schools
*Cindy Schumacher, Mt. Pleasant
Executive Director of the Engler Center for Charter Schools at Central Michigan University
*Kevin Stotts, Grand Rapids
President of Talent 2015
*Teresa Weatherall-Neal, Grand Rapids
Superintendent of Grand Rapids Public Schools
*Eileen Weiser, Ann Arbor
State Board of Education
*Appointed by the Governor
Legislative Appointees
Steven Cook, Lansing
House Minority Leader's Appointee
Nate Walker, Detroit
Senate Minority Leader's Appointee
Scott Hughes, Byron Center
Senate Majority Leader's Appointee
Peter Ruddell, East Lansing
Speaker of the House's Appointee
Department Representatives Include:
  • John C. Austin, President of the State Board of Education
  • Brian J. Whiston, State Superintendent
  • Nick A. Khouri, State Treasurer
  • John Roberts, Director of the State Budget Office
  • Stephanie Comai, Director of the Talent Investment Agency.