Building the 21st Century Economy Commission

The 20-member commission serves as an advisory body within the Executive Office of the Governor. Members are charged with identifying priorities over the next 20 years along with short-term and long-term action items to achieve the vision of Michigan’s economic future. The commission will issue a final report to the Governor by June 30, 2017 for his consideration.
Membership will consist of 11 gubernatorial appointees, four legislative appointees, and several department directors or their representatives. Members serve at the pleasure of the governor.
Sandy Baruah, Grosse Pointe Park
President and CEO of the Detroit Regional Chamber
JoAnn Crary, Frankenmuth
President of Saginaw Future, Inc.
Kathi Dobies, Beverly Hills
Engineering Manager for Ford Motor Company
Jim Holcomb, Haslett
Senior Vice President and General Counsel for the Michigan Chamber of Commerce
Joe Lauer, Birmingham
Founder and CEO of the Finance Organizer Greenback, Inc.
Jason McCormack, Portland
Project Manager and Contractor for National Heritage Academies
Timothy Nelson, Traverse City
President of Northwestern Michigan College
Sandra Pierce, Northville
Senior Executive President, Private Client Group and Regional Banking Director as well as Chair of Michigan for Huntington National Bank
Thomas Pleger, Sault Ste. Marie
President of Lake Superior State University
Nedda Shayota, Bloomfield Hills
Vice President of Sigma Associates, Inc.
Jessica Ann Tyson, Kentwood
President and Owner of JA PR Group, LLC.
Legislative Appointees:
  • Kathleen Wilbur, appointed by the Speaker of the House
  • Matthew Cullen, appointed by the Senate Minority Leader
  • Matt Sweeney, appointed by the Senate Majority Leader
  • Lou Glazer, appointed by the House Minority Leader