Skip to main content

Freestanding Surgical Outpatient Facility License

The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Community and Health Systems issues licenses to Freestanding Surgical Outpatient Facilities (FSOF).

A "Freestanding Surgical Outpatient Facility" (FSOF) is a facility, other than the office of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or other private practice office, offering surgical procedure and related care that can be safely performed without requiring overnight inpatient hospital care and is not operated as part of a hospital.

An Ambulatory Surgical Center (ASC) is a state licensed FSOF that is federally certified to participate in Medicare/Medicaid.

A. NAME OF LICENSE OR APPROVAL:  

Health Facility License -- Freestanding Surgical Outpatient Facility

B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  

Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended (Michigan Public Health Code)  

C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:  

Michigan Public Health Code Part 201 and 208 and Administrative Rules

D. SUMMARY OF LICENSE/APPROVAL PROCESS:  

1. Applicability (activities that require the license)  

Offering surgical services to patients that do not require hospitalization and are not performed in a physician's office.

2. Pre-Application Requirements  

Medical staff ready to start, policies and procedures established to offer surgical services, supplies and equipment ready, etc.

3. Application Submission Requirements  

Information on the state licensing/federal certification process 

4. Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval  

To be state licensed as an FSOF, a provider must first receive Certificate of Need, Health Facilities Engineering and Fire Safety approvals. A provider also must submit an application for state licensure. After confirmation of the necessary approvals, a pre-licensure inspection will be conducted by the State Licensing Section. If the applicant is in compliance with the Code and applicable rules, a license will be issued and a post-licensure inspection will be conducted. Once licensed, the department will conduct routine inspections and complaint investigations as required.

5. Operational Requirements  

Facility ready for occupancy and license.  

6.  Fees  

$500 annual license fee. There is a $2,000 application fee for initial licensure.

7.  Appeal Process  

MCL 333.20166

8.  Public Input Opportunities  

N/A

E. Contact Information:  

Contact the Bureau of Community and Health Systems at 517-241-1970.
 

Revised: 4/2017