Skip to main content

Hazardous Waste Transporter Registration and Permit

The Materials Management Division within the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE) has responsibility for reviewing and issuing a registration and permit under the Alliance for Uniform Hazardous Materials Transportation Procedures for the transportation of hazardous waste under the authority of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act, 1998 PA 138.

NAME OF PERMIT OR APPROVALAlliance for Uniform Hazardous Materials Transportation Procedures. Uniform Program Permit and Registration.

STATUTORY AUTHORITYHazardous Materials Transportation Act, Public Act 138 of 1998

APPLICABLE REGULATION: Act 138, Section 29.473.


Applicability (activities that require the permit): Any transporter who transports hazardous waste must be registered and permitted.

Pre-Application Requirements: Transporter must obtain registration and permit to transport hazardous waste. Permit expires three years from date of issuance. Registration expires one year from date of issuance. Both registration and permit must be effective (not expired) for the hazardous waste transport to be authorized.

Application Submission Requirements: Uniform Program Registration and Permit Application for state Hazardous Materials Transportation Program. Financial responsibility, bodily injury, and property damage to third parties caused by accidental occurrences. Liability coverage for accidental occurrences not less than $1,000,000. Hazardous substances transported in cargo tanks or hopper type vehicles with capacities in excess of 3,500 water gallons; or in bulk Class A or B explosives, poison gas, liquefied compressed gas, or compressed gas; or highway-route, controlled-quantity, radioactive materials require a minimum insurance of $5,000,000. An MCS90 form is required. Registration, permit, and processing fees.

Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval: Applicants are encouraged to pay online at the Liquid Industrial By-Product Waste Transporter Payment Website. Applicant must submit the application, a copy of the receipt showing the payment, and all attachments by email (, fax (586-753-3831) or by mail to:

Ms. Sandra Ray
Materials Management Division
Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy
2700 Donald Court
Warren, MI 48902

Or, applicant submits application(s) and fee(s) to EGLE, Cashiering, P.O. Box 30657, Lansing, MI 48909. Application must be complete and timely (received 90 days prior to expiration). Final registration and permitting decision is made by EGLE after complete review of application and available information. Generally, as specified in the Alliance for Haz-Mat Transportation procedures, a registration and permit can be issued in 90 days.

Operational Requirements: Applicant must comply with all applicable rules and regulations.

Fees: $500 for permit (every 3 years); $50 for each power unit based on apportioned hazardous waste activity (annual); and $50 processing fee (annual).

Appeal Process: The applicant with a current registration and permit credential, making a timely and complete application, who receives a notice that EGLE intends to deny the renewal may request a contested case hearing, by submitting a petition to the State Office of Administrative Hearings and Rules within ten days of the notice of denial. The petition can be obtained on the internet. If the application is for a new registration and permit and not a renewal, there is no appeal provision. The hearing is a provision of the Administrative Procedures Act, 1969 PA 306, as amended.

Public Input Opportunities: The decision-maker in this process is the Transporter Program Manager in the Materials Management Division. Complaints or comments related to a transporter may be filed with EGLE at any time. The complaints are investigated upon receipt and are considered in the annual decision-making process for renewal. A list of registered haulers can be found on the program web page.

ADMINISTERING AGENCY: Waste Management and Radiological Protection Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, Southeast Michigan District Office, 27700 Donald Court, Warren, Michigan 48092.

Revision Date:
July 2019