Nursing Home, County Medical Care Facility or Hospital Long Term Care Unit License
The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Community and Health Systems issues licenses to nursing homes, county medical care facilities and hospital long term care units.
A "Nursing Home" is a nursing care facility, including a county medical care facility, that provides organized nursing care and medical treatment to 7 or more unrelated individuals suffering or recovering from illness, injury, or infirmity.
A “Hospital Long-Term Care Unit” is a nursing care facility, owned and operated by and as part of a hospital, providing organized nursing care and medical treatment to 7 or more unrelated individuals suffering or recovering from illness, injury, or infirmity.
A nursing home, county medical care facility or hospital long term care unit that is state licensed can be federally certified to participate in Medicare/Medicaid.
A. NAME OF LICENSE OR APPROVAL:
Health Facility License – Nursing Home, County Medical Care Facility, or Hospital Long Term Care Unit
B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended (Michigan Public Health Code)
C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:
D. SUMMARY OF LICENSE/APPROVAL PROCESS:
1. Applicability (activities that require the license)
Offering inpatient nursing care services to residents.
2. Pre-Application Requirements
Medical staff ready to start, policies and procedures established to offer nursing services, supplies and equipment ready, etc.
3. Application Submission Requirements
4. Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval
To be state licensed as a nursing home, county medical care facility or hospital long term care unit, a provider must first receive Certificate of Need, Health Facilities Engineering and Fire Safety approvals. A provider also must submit an application for state licensure. After confirmation of the necessary approvals, a pre-licensure inspection will be conducted by the State Licensing Section. If the applicant is in compliance with the Code and applicable rules, a license will be issued and a post-licensure inspection will be conducted. Once licensed, the department will conduct routine inspections and complaint investigations as required.
5. Operational Requirements
Facility ready for occupancy and license.
$500 annual license fee plus $3 per bed (after the first 100 beds). There is a $2,000 application fee for initial licensure.
7. Appeal Process
8. Public Input Opportunities
E. Contact Information:
Contact the Bureau of Community and Health Systems at 517-241-1970.