The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Pay Phone Sale & Service
Required State License(s):
Required State Registration(s):
All payphone providers conducting business in Michigan must register annually with the Michigan Public Service Commission. The Michigan Telecommunications Act 179 of 1991, as amended, Sec. 320, states that “A person shall not provide payphone service in this state without first registering with the commission. The registration shall include all of the following information:
(a) The name of the provider.
(b) The address and telephone number of the provider's principal office.
(c) If the provider is not located in this state, the address and telephone number of the registered office and the name and telephone number of the registered agent authorized to receive service of process in this state.
(d) The specific location of each payphone in this state owned or operated by the provider. Information required under this subdivision shall be made available to the local unit of government solely for the enforcement of the reporting, repairing, and replacement standards under subsection (8). The information required to be provided under this subsection shall be considered commercial information under section 210, and the information submitted shall be exempt from the freedom of information act, Act No. 442 of the Public Acts of 1976, being sections 15.231 to 15.246 of the Michigan Compiled Laws.
(2) The registration shall be accompanied by a registration fee of $100.00.
(3) The registration is effective immediately upon filing with the commission and the payment of the registration fee and shall remain in effect for 1 year from its effective date.
(4) A registration may be renewed for 1 year by filing with the commission a renewal registration on a form provided by the commission and the payment of a renewal fee of $100.00.
The annual payphone provider registration form can be located at: http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mpsc/payphoneproviderform_543700_7.xlsx