Skip to main content

Public Swimming Pool, Hot Tub, Health Spa License

The Drinking Water and Environmental Health Division (DWEHD) of the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE), has the responsibility for issuing the annual licenses for public swimming pools (including spas, leisure pools, activity pools, water slide pools, and lazy rivers). A license must be obtained prior to opening the pool for public use. Licenses are issued by EGLE on an annual basis.


Public Swimming Pool License


Sections 333.12527, Public Health Code, Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended


Michigan Administrative Code Rules administered by EGLE, DWEHD

Public Swimming Pool (R325.2111 - 325.2199)


1.  Applicability

"Public swimming pool" means an artificial body of water used collectively by a number of individuals primarily for the purpose of swimming, wading, recreation, or instruction and includes related equipment, structures, areas, and enclosures intended for the use of individuals using or operating the swimming pool such as equipment, dressing, locker, shower, and toilet rooms. Public swimming pools include those which are for parks, schools, motels, camps, resorts, apartments, clubs, hotels, mobile home parks, subdivisions, waterparks, and the like. A pool or portable pool located on the same premises with a 1-, 2-, 3-, or 4-family dwelling and for the benefit of the occupants and their guests, a natural bathing area such as a stream, lake, river, or man-made lake or pond that uses water from natural sources and has an inflow and outflow of natural water, an exhibitor's swimming pool built as a model at the site of the seller and in which swimming by the public is not permitted, or a pool serving not more than 4 hotel, motel, apartment, condominium, or similar units is not a public swimming pool. A public swimming pool license is required before opening all new public swimming pools or existing pools that have been modified.

2.  Pre-Application Requirements
  • The initial license will be issued after inspection of the public swimming pool to ensure that it was built according to the approved plans and specifications and after determination that the operation of the pool is adequate to protect the public health. The inspection will be conducted by staff of DWEHD or by certain local health department representatives that are specifically designated to perform the initial license inspections.
  • An annual inspection is conducted to determine whether the operation and maintenance of the public swimming pool is adequate to protect the public health and meets the standards in the act and rules. The inspection serves as the basis for licensure. Renewal licenses are available for 1-year, 2-year, or 3-year periods.
3.  Application Submission Requirements

A public swimming pool license application must be submitted along with the appropriate fee to the EGLE Cashier's Office at the address indicated on the license application.

4.  Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval

The applicant must submit an application (EQP 1706) for approval. The applications are pre-printed and mailed in November of each year. The applicant must obtain an approval to operate the public swimming pool through an inspection before a license can be issued.

5.  Operational Requirements

The owner/operator of the public swimming pool must demonstrate maintenance and operation of the pool, pool equipment, and pool facilities is in compliance with administrative rules R 325.2191 through R 325.2199. The annual inspection is conducted for this purpose. Specific operating requirements are contained in the swimming pool inspection report (EQP 1735), and can be viewed at the swimming pool program website.

6.  Fees

The initial license fees for a new swimming pool are changed every three years in accordance with the Consumer Price Index, and the fees beginning in 2005 range from $550 to $1000 depending on the size of the pool. The renewal license fee also changes every three years starting with a fee of $55 in the year 2005 if the fee is paid prior to December 31. A late fee of $100 is added for application received after December 31 through April 30. An additional lapsed fee of $50 is added for applications submitted after April 30. The replacement license fee for transfer to another person is $50. The current licensing fees are posted on the program website.

7.  Appeal Process

An informal conference and then a contested case hearing under the Administrative Procedures Act, 1969 PA 306, as amended, provides the means of appeal for a license denial or revocation action initiated by EGLE.

8.  Public Input Opportunities

Public input is considered through complaints that are investigated by Local Health Departments on an on-going basis. All inspection results of the Local Health Department are reviewed by staff of the DWEHD on an annual basis, and licenses are based upon that review or other relevant information. The best timing for public comment would be concurrent with the annual review, which takes place at the beginning of each calendar year.


EGLE, DWEHD, 525 West Allegan Street, P.O. Box 30273, Lansing, Michigan 48909-7773

  • Program Phone: 517-241-1353


Revision Date: December 2019