Radiation Machine Registration
The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, MIOSHA issues registrations for radiation machines.
A. NAME OF LICENSE OR APPROVAL:
Radiation Machine Registration Certificate
B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
C. APPLICABLE REGULATION: R333.5031 to R333.5047
Ionizing Radiation Rules, Part 2 - Registration of Radiation Machines (R333.5031 to R333.5047)
D. SUMMARY OF LICENSE/APPROVAL PROCESS:
1. Applicability (activities that require the license)
X-ray machines and other ionizing radiation machines are required to be registered with the Radiation Safety Section of the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs.
2. Pre-Application Requirements
None. However, a radiation shielding plan review must be completed (if necessary) prior to issuance of the registration. In addition, covered services must be issued a Certificate of Need before the registration is issued. Covered services include CT scanners, dental CT scanners, x-ray machines used in heart catheterization procedures or in lithotripsy procedures, and therapy accelerators. See Planning or Starting Up a New X-Ray Facility
3. Application Submission Requirements
An application for registration must be on forms furnished by the Department, contain all information requested on that form, and must be accompanied by the registration fee.
4. Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval
Application for registration can be accomplished online or by calling the Radiation Safety Section at (517) 284-7820 to request an application. Once a completed application and fee is received, registration is completed within 10 business days.
5. Operational Requirements
A user of an x-ray machine must apply for registration and receive the registration prior to using the x-ray machine.
$126.82 for each x-ray tube (except for dental and veterinary).
For dental and veterinary, the fee is $76.07 for the first tube and $42.20 for each additional tube.
Registration must be renewed annually. Fees are adjusted annually on October 1 according to the change in the Detroit consumer price index.
7. Appeal Process
In a contested case, the Department shall conduct a hearing as provided in the Administrative Procedures Act of 1969.
8. Public Input Opportunities
E. Contact Information: