
Veteran Designation Application
Military veterans from any branch of the U.S. armed forces with an honorable or under honorable 
conditions (general) discharge may have a veteran designation printed on their Michigan driver’s license 
or state identification card. Applications for the veteran designation may be submitted by mail or at a 
Secretary of State branch office. A copy of your DD-214 form must be included with this application. Other 
documentation may be accepted in lieu of a DD-214. Any veteran documentation enclosed with your 
application will not be returned and will be destroyed. Photocopies of original documents are accepted. 

Fees

If ordering the veteran designation when renewing your driver’s license or state ID card, you pay only your
normal renewal fee (and late fee if applicable). Please refer to your renewal notice for your renewal fee total. 

If ordering the veteran designation at any time when not renewing, a corrected card fee is due as shown:
Standard DL

$9
Chauffeur DL

$18
Enhanced DL

$24
Enhanced Chauffeur DL

$33
Enhanced state ID 

$30
Enhanced state ID

$20 (65 or older/blind)

More information about the veteran designation and a list of other acceptable documents can be found at Michigan.gov/SOS.

To add the veteran designation by mail:
Complete the order form below. Pay by check or money order made payable to State of Michigan. (Please note: there is no fee to 
add a veteran designation to a standard state ID card.) Mail your veteran documentation, your renewal notice (if renewing) and 
the completed application along with the payment to: Michigan Department of State, Internal Services Section, Lansing, MI 48918.

Veteran designation application

Name on driver’s license or state ID: Driver’s license or state ID number:

Street address: City:

State:  ZIP Code: County:

My payment is by:
Check (enclosed)			 Money order (enclosed)				 Fee total due:

Sign your name: Date (mm/dd/yyyy):

Print your name: Phone number:

(My signature):

Under Michigan law, eligible residents are automatically registered to vote when conducting a driver’s license or state ID card transaction with 
the Secretary of State unless they choose to opt out. If you are already a registered Michigan voter, you may skip this section.

Are you a U.S. citizen?		 Yes		 No

Your date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy):

To be eligible to vote, you must be a U.S. citizen, at least 18 years old (when you vote) and a 30-day resident of your city or township in 
Michigan. We will register you to vote unless you check the box below.

Do not use my information for voter registration.

With this signature, I hereby certify, under penalty of perjury, that the information contained on this application is true and correct. I understand 
that if I have provided false information to apply to register to vote, I may be subject to federal or state criminal penalties. 

(The veteran designation information on this form won’t be shared. Some voter registration information, however, is public.)

Automatic voter registration application

Secretary of State
Jocelyn Benson
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