
AR-0018 (8/2022) By Authority of Public Act 300 of 1974 
Michigan Department of State 

DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 
APPLICATION FOR MOTOR VEHICLE SPECIALTY 
or MASTER MECHANIC CERTIFICATION 

CERTIFICATION NUMBER 

Please read instructions on back before completing. 
Please TYPE or PRINT 

APPROVED BY DATE 

1.  NAME (First)  (Middle) (Last) 2.  BIRTH DATE   (Month) (Day) (Year) 

3.  HOME ADDRESS (Street) (City) (County) (State) (Zip) 

4.  CONTACT TELEPHONE # 5.  DRIVER LICENSE OR ID NUMBER 6. EMAIL ADDRESS 7.  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

8.   A.  Circle the highest school grade completed:    8 or under     9      10      11     12            GED              College:      1      2      3      4 

B.  Number of months of vehicle mechanic education or training you have received: 

 

C.  Number of years you have been employed as a motor vehicle mechanic: 

 

D.  States/jurisdictions where you are presently licensed or certified as a motor vehicle mechanic:  
 
9.  CHECK THE REPAIR CATEGORIES IN WHICH YOU HAVE PASSED TESTS AND ARE APPLYING FOR MECHANIC CERTIFICATION. 

   Automobiles and Light Trucks (Vehicles under 14,000# GVW) L.  Collision-Related Mechanical Repair 
A.  All Repairs B through I (Master Certification) M.  Motorcycle 
B.  Engine Repair N.  Recreational Trailer 
C.  Automatic Transmission O.  BAIID 
D.  Manual Transmission, Front and Rear Drive Axle Heavy-Duty Trucks (Vehicles 14,000# GVW or more) 
E.  Front End, Suspension and Steering Systems P.  All Truck Repairs Q through V (Master Certification) 
F.  Brakes and Braking Systems Q.  Engine Repair - Gasoline 
G.  Electrical Systems R.  Engine Repair - Diesel 
H.  Heating and Air Conditioning S.  Drive Train 
I.  Engine Tune-Up/Performance T.  Brakes and Braking Systems 
J.  Pre-1973 Vehicles U.  Suspension and Steering Systems 
K.  Unitized Body Structural Repair V.  Electrical Systems 

 
10.  ARRESTS OR CONVICTIONS - Have you been arrested or convicted of a crime, other than a traffic violation, in Michigan or any other state within the 

past 10 years?    NO   YES       If your answer is YES, give complete details of all arrests or convictions which took place in the past 10 years. 
Attach an additional sheet, if necessary. 

 
Details: 

 

  

 
Date of Arrest(s) or Conviction(s): 

 

 
Court(s): 

 
City and State: 

 

 
11.  FEE - A FEE OF $25.00 MUST ACCOMPANY THE APPLICATION FOR SPECIALTY OR MASTER MECHANIC CERTIFICATION.  Enclose a check or 

money order made payable to STATE OF MICHIGAN.  Mail application and fee to: 

MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
BUSINESS LICENSING SECTION 
LANSING, MICHIGAN 48918 

12.  CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE 
 

I certify to the truth and accuracy of representations made in this application, including all statements attached hereto, and further agree that any legal 
process affecting me served on the Secretary of State or his/her deputies shall have the same effect as if personally served on me, and hereby authorize the 
release of all criminal history information that pertains to me on file with the Michigan State Police or at any court of record. 
Any misleading, incomplete, or false statement may be grounds for revocation, suspension, or denial of certification as a Michigan motor vehicle mechanic. 
 

    

Signature Date 
 

 



 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING APPLICATION 

PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION 

Item 1…....Enter your first, middle, and last names. 

Item 2……Enter your birth date. 

Item 3……Enter your home address. 

Item 4……Enter your contact telephone number. 

Item 5……Enter your driver license or State of Michigan ID number. 

Item 6……Enter your email address. 

Item 7……Enter your Social Security Number (SSN) 

Item 8…....A. Circle the highest grade you completed in school. 

B. Enter the number of months of education or training you have received in motor vehicle service and repair 
while attending high school, trade or technical schools, or college. 

C. Enter the number of years that you have been employed as a motor vehicle mechanic for compensation.  
(NOTE:  THERE IS NO MINIMUM EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT FOR MICHIGAN CERTIFICATION.) 

D. If you are presently licensed or certified to work as a motor vehicle mechanic, please list the states or 
jurisdictions which issued your license or certification. 

Item 9……Check the repair categories in which you have passed tests and are applying for mechanic certification. 
NOTE:  For instructions to submit your ASEs please go to https://www.michigan.gov/sos/industry-
services/mechanics and expand the “ASE Certification” item under “Certification.” 

Item 10…..You must indicate whether you have been arrested or convicted of a crime within the past 10 years.  If so, you 
must provide complete details of each arrest and conviction. 

Item 11…..THE FEE FOR SPECIALTY OR MASTER MOTOR VEHICLE MECHANIC CERTIFICATION IS $25.00.  Make 
check or money order payable to STATE OF MICHIGAN.  Applications without the $25.00 fee will be returned. 

Item 12…..You must sign the application attesting to the best of your knowledge and belief that the information presented 
on the application form is true, correct, and complete, and authorizing the Department of State to obtain 
criminal history information from the Michigan State Police. 

AFTER YOU HAVE COMPLETED THE APPLICATION, ENCLOSE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER AND MAIL TO: 
 

Michigan Department of State 
Business Licensing Section 
Lansing, MI 48918 
 

REMINDER: If you perform motor vehicle repairs part-time, evenings, or in addition to a full-time job as a mechanic at 
any place other than a registered repair facility, you must obtain a repair facility registration if you intend to 
be paid for your work.  You may apply for a facility registration online or through a paper application.  Visit 
www.michigan.gov/sos for more information. 

 

 
Questions? Contact the Business Licensing Section:  By phone:  1-888-SOS-MICH (1-888-767-6424) 

By email:  Licensing@michigan.gov   
 

https://www.michigan.gov/sos/industry-services/mechanics
https://www.michigan.gov/sos/industry-services/mechanics
http://www.michigan.gov/sos
mailto:Licensing@michigan.gov
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