
Driver Education 
Instructor INSTRUCTOR ORIGINAL CERTIFICATION PACKET Michigan Department of State 

       10/2020

This packet will provide you with the information needed to apply for a Driver Education Instructor Original Certificate. Additional information can be 
found at: Michigan.gov/DriverEd. To apply, you must complete and submit the following requirements either by mail or online: 

KEY Required document if applying by mail. Required document if applying through CARS e-Services. 

MAIL Michigan Department of State    Driver Education & Testing Section    430 W. Allegan St. 3rd Floor    Lansing, MI  48918 

ONLINE It’s FAST, EASY, and SECURE!  Apply through CARS, e-Services TODAY! 
INSTRUCTOR ORIGINAL CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 

Be at least 21 years of age. ☐ 

Submit a $45.00 NON-REFUNDABLE original application processing fee by check or money order made payable to “State of Michigan”. ☐ 

In order to provide Behind-the-Wheel instruction involving the actual operation of a Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) by a Commercial 
Learner’s Permit holder on a range or a public road, you MUST hold a Commercial Driver License of the same (or higher) class and with all 
endorsements necessary to operate the CMV for which training is to be provided. 

☐

DES-N01 Instructor Original Application. Do not submit page one of this packet.  ☐ 

DES-N03 Instructor e-Services Certification. Document in lieu of DES-N01 when renewing through e-Services. ☐ 

DES-N05 Medical Examination Report which MUST BE CERTIFIED NOT OLDER THAN 90 DAYS FROM THE DATE THIS 
DEPARTMENT RECEIVES YOUR APPLICATION, or if instructor holds a Truck classification an MCSA-5876 FMCSA 
Commercial Driver Medical Certification which MUST BE A VALID MEDICAL CERTIFICATION THAT IS NOT EXPIRED. 

☐ 

RI-030 Live Scan Fingerprint. Required every 4 years. You must submit this form. ☐ 

If you DO NOT hold a Michigan Driver’s License, you must submit a copy of your out of state driver’s license in addition to a 
verified copy of your driving record. MUST SUBMIT BY MAIL EVEN IF APPLYING THROUGH CARS E-SERVICE. ☐ 

DRIVING RECORD REQUIREMENTS  

Refer to the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act [PA 384 of 2006] included in the Driver Education Provider Manual for all requirements. 

Possesses a valid driver license that has been in continuous effect for not less than 5 years immediately preceding the application. ☐

Has not received a conviction for which 4 or more points were assessed under MCL 257.320a within the 5 years preceding the date the 
application was submitted. ☐

Has not had 3 or more driver license denials, suspensions, or revocations, or any combination, imposed by the Secretary of State for the 
failure to appear in court (FAC) or a failure to comply with a court judgment (FCJ) within the 2 years preceding application. ☐

Has not received a conviction or finding of responsibility for a traffic violation in connection with 2 or more motor vehicle accidents within the 2 
years preceding application. ☐

Has not accumulated 6 or more points under MCL 257.320 within the 2 years preceding application. ☐

Has not received a conviction for transportation or possession of open alcohol container in vehicle within the 2 years preceding application. ☐

Has not received a conviction for a person less than 21 years of age with any bodily alcohol content within the 2 years preceding application. ☐

Has not received a conviction for careless or negligent driving resulting in a civil infraction within the 2 years preceding application. ☐

CRIMINAL HISTORY REQUIREMENTS 
Refer to the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act [PA 384 of 2006] included in the Driver Education Provider Manual for all requirements. 

Has not received a conviction for criminal sexual conduct, assault with intent to commit criminal sexual conduct, or an attempt to commit 
criminal sexual conduct, in any degree under MCL 750.520b to 750.520g. ☐

Has not received a conviction for a felony involving a criminal assault or battery on an individual. ☐

Has not received a conviction for a crime involving felonious assault on a child, child abuse in the first degree, cruelty, torture, or indecent 
exposure involving a child. ☐

Has not received a conviction for a felony involving the manufacture, distribution, or dispensing of a controlled substance or possession with 
intent to manufacture, distribute, or dispense a controlled substance. ☐

Has not received a conviction for a felony conviction involving fraud as an element of the crime. ☐
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Driver Education 
Instructor  

INSTRUCTOR ORIGINAL APPLICATION
Michigan Department of State    Driver Education Section    430 W. Allegan St.    Lansing, MI  48918

Michigan Department of State 
DES-N01                     5/2019 

PART A – CLASSIFICATION (S) Check all that apply. 

Adult ☐ Conditional
Instruction that is provided to a person 18-years of age or older in the operation of a motor vehicle, other than a commercial 
motor vehicle.   

☐ Reapply Previous Instructor Number N _____  _____  _____  _____  _____  _____ 

 
Teen ☐ Conditional

Driver training instruction provided through a segment 1 or segment 2 driver education course that allows a person 17-years of 
age or less to apply for a level 1 or level 2 graduated driver license.   

☐ Reapply Previous Instructor Number N _____  _____  _____  _____  _____  _____ 

Truck  ☐ Original Instruction that is provided to operate a commercial motor vehicle. 

☐ Reapply Previous Instructor Number N _____  _____  _____  _____  _____  _____ 

CDL:  Group  _______________ Endorsement(s) _______________  Restriction(s) _______________ 

TOTAL DUE = $45.00  (Check or money order made payable to the “State of Michigan”) 

PART B – APPLICANT INFORMATION I prefer to be addressed as:   ☐ Miss ☐ Mrs. ☐ Mr.
First Name Middle Name Last Name Suffix 

Home Address (Street, City, State, Zip Code, and County) 

Mailing Address (If different from above home address) (Street, City, State, Zip Code, and County) 

Date of Birth Driver License Number and State of Licensure Phone Number Email Address 

PART C – REQUIRED STATEMENT 

Has the applicant ever applied for a driver education instructor certificate in Michigan or any other state? ☐ Yes ☐ No

If YES, was the certificate:           In Good Standing ☐           Denied ☐          Suspended ☐            Revoked☐
PART D – STIPULATION 
The applicant agrees that legal process affecting the applicant, served on the secretary of state against the applicant or the applicant’s successor in interest for a violation of 
this act, a rule promulgated under this act, or an order issued under this act, has the same effect as if personally served on the applicant.  This appointment remains in force 
as long as the applicant has any outstanding liability within this state under this act (2006 PA 384). 

 Printed Name of Applicant          Signature of Applicant            Date Signed 

PART E – CERTIFICATION 
Any misleading, incomplete, or false statement may be grounds for denial of this application, or suspension or revocation of the certificate issued. 

 I, hereby grant the licensing authority in any state or jurisdiction permission, to release information concerning any previous certification (license) applications,
certification (license) history, and disciplinary actions or sanctions to the Department of State.

 I hereby certify that I do not have a pending criminal matter or an outstanding arrest, warrant, or conviction since submitting a request for my criminal history check
under Section 29.

 I authorize the Department of State to receive and review my criminal history obtained from the Michigan State Police and the FBI.  I understand that the cost of the
criminal history check is my responsibility. 

 I hereby certify that if I have a driver license issued by a state other than Michigan, I agree to submit a certified copy of my driving record to the Department of State
every 60 days.

 I hereby affirm that I understand the Professional Development requirements prescribed by the Secretary of State for an instructor and will complete an approved
course during the two years between the date the original certification was issued and the expiration date, and then each two-year renewal cycle thereafter.

 I hereby affirm that if I am applying for an Instructor Conditional Certificate, I WILL NOT participate in a practicum (student teach) before I receive my Instructor 
Conditional Certificate.

 With knowledge of the penalties for false statements under, but not limited to, Section 69 of the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act [MCL 256.689, PA 384 of
2006], I hereby certify that the statements and information contained in this application are true to the best of my knowledge and belief.

 Printed Name of Applicant          Signature of Applicant            Date Signed 
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Driver Education  
Instructor  

INSTRUCTOR E-SERVICES CERTIFICATION 
Michigan Department of State    Driver Education Section    430 W. Allegan St.    Lansing, MI  48918 

Michigan Department of State 
DES-N03                     5/2019 

This document is to be used ONLY if you are applying through CARS e-Services. DO NOT submit if applying through mail. 

PART A – APPLICATION TYPE                                                                    Indicate what type of application you are applying for through CARS e-Services. 

☐ Conditional 
Teen / Adult 
Classification(s) 

When prompted, upload this form in lieu of DES-N01 Instructor Original Application.  

☐ Reapply 
Any 
Classification(s) 

When prompted, upload this form in lieu of DES-N01 
Instructor Original Application. Previous Instructor Number 

_N ___  ___  ___  __  ___  ___

☐ Renewal 
Any 
Classification(s) 

When prompted, upload this form in lieu of DES-N07 
Instructor Renewal Application. Instructor Number 

_N ___  ___  ___  __  ___  ___

☐ Original Truck Classification When prompted, upload this form in lieu of DES-N01 Instructor Original Application. 

   
 Restriction(s)Endorsement(s)CDL Certification:  Group _ _______________  ______________ _______________ 

   PART B – APPLICANT / INSTRUCTOR INFORMATION  
First Name of Applicant / Instructor                               Middle                                 Last                   Suffix 

PART C – STIPULATION  

The applicant agrees that legal process affecting the applicant, served on the secretary of state against the applicant or the applicant’s successor in interest 
for a violation of this act, a rule promulgated under this act, or an order issued under this act, has the same effect as if personally served on the applicant.  
This appointment remains in force as long as the applicant has any outstanding liability within this state under this act (2006 PA 384). 

Signature of Applicant / Instructor Date Signed 

PART D – CERTIFICATION                                        

Any misleading, incomplete, or false statement may be grounds for denial of this application, or suspension or revocation of the certificate issued. 

 I hereby grant the licensing authority in any state or jurisdiction permission to release information concerning any previous certification (license) 
applications, certification (license) history, and disciplinary actions or sanctions to the Department of State. 

 I hereby certify that I do not have a pending criminal matter or an outstanding arrest, warrant, or conviction since submitting a request for my criminal 
history check under section 29. 

 I authorize the Department of State to receive and review my criminal history obtained from the Michigan State Police and the FBI.  I understand that 
the cost of the criminal history check is my responsibility. 

 I hereby certify that if I have a driver license issued by a state other than Michigan, I agree to submit a certified copy of my driving record to the 
Department of State every 60 days. 

 I hereby affirm that I understand the Professional Development requirements prescribed by the Secretary of State for an instructor and will complete an 
approved course during the two years between the date the original certification was issued and the expiration date, and then each two-year renewal 
cycle thereafter. 

 With knowledge of the penalties for false statements under, but not limited to, Section 69 of the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act [MCL 
256.689, PA 384 of 2006], I hereby certify that the statements and information contained in this application are true to the best of my knowledge and 
belief. 

 I hereby affirm that if I am applying for an Instructor Conditional Certificate, I WILL NOT participate in a practicum (student teach) before I receive my 
Instructor Conditional Certificate.   

Signature of Applicant / Instructor Date Signed 
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MEDICAL EXAMINATION REPORT 
Michigan Department of State  ⚫  Driver Education Section  ⚫  430 W. Allegan St.  ⚫  Lansing, MI  48918

Michigan Department of State
DES-N05                    10/2023 

PART A – RELEASE OF INFORMATION Application for:    ☐ Driver Education Instructor 

Name of Applicant (Last, First, Middle): Instructor’s Certificate Number: Date of Birth: 

Street Address: City: State: Zip Code: 

I hereby authorize and request that information regarding my medical condition be released to the Michigan Department of State and understand that the information provided may 
be used to request an assessment of my driving privilege.   

Signature of Applicant: Date Signed: 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PHYSICIAN 

The Michigan Department of State requests your professional assistance to determine the physical and mental condition of the above patient.  Your response to these 
questions and any other pertinent information will help the MDOS assess the patient’s ability to safely operate a motor vehic le and to train others to operate a motor vehicle.  
Confidential information may be mailed directly to the MDOS at the address shown above.  

1. DEPIA MCL 256.637 (3)(j) Submits a certified medical examination report that is not older than 90 days and that is prepared by a physician, a physician’s assistant, or a certified nurse 
practitioner licensed to practice in this state or in the applicant’s state of residence.  The report shall include a statement by the person that certified the report that the applicant is medically 
qualified to operate a motor vehicle and to train others to operate a motor vehicle. 

PART B – HEALTH QUESTIONS YES NO 

1. In the last twelve months has the patient had a medical condition which affected their ability to drive? ☐ ☐ 

If “yes”, please explain: ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

2. In the last twelve months has the patient had a fainting spell, blackout, seizure or other loss of consciousness? ☐ ☐ 

If “yes”, please explain: ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

3. Does the patient have any visual impairments that would interfere with their ability to drive a motor vehicle safely? ☐ ☐ 

4. Has the patient had a heart attack, angina, coronary insufficiency, thrombosis, stroke, other heart problem, or cardiovascular disease? ☐ ☐ 

If “yes”, has patient had labored breathing, fainting, collapse, congestive heart failure, or other symptoms in the last two (2) years? ☐ ☐ 

5. Has the patient been diagnosed with a respiratory condition, such as emphysema, chronic asthma, or tuberculosis? ☐ ☐ 

If “yes”, is patient’s respiratory condition likely to interfere with patient’s ability to drive a motor vehicle safely? ☐ ☐ 

6. Has the patient ever been diagnosed with rheumatic, arthritic, orthopedic, muscular, neuromuscular, or vascular disease? ☐ ☐ 

If “yes”, is the condition likely to interfere with patient’s ability to drive a motor vehicle safely? ☐ ☐ 

7. Does the patient have clinical evidence or do you have personal knowledge of misuse or abuse of prescription drugs, illicit drugs or alcohol? ☐ ☐ 

If “yes”, please explain: ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

8. Does the patient have any diagnosed mental, nervous, organic or functional disease, or psychiatric disorder? ☐ ☐ 

If “yes”, is the condition likely to interfere with patient’s ability to drive a motor vehicle safely? ☐ ☐ 

PART C – MEDICAL EXAMINER’S CERTIFICATION       To be completed by authorized physician. 

▪ I hereby certify that I am a physician, physician’s assistant, or a certified nurse practitioner  licensed to practice in this state or in the applicant’s state of residence, and the 
statements contained in this report are true to the best of my knowledge and belief, and affirm that I have examined the applicant for any and all physical impairments or
conditions that would preclude them from operating a motor vehicle and to train others to operate a motor vehicle in accordance to MCL 256.637(3)(j) and that the patient:

☐ Has no physical impairment or condition that would preclude them from operating a motor vehicle and to train others to operate a motor vehicle in accordance with MCL
256.637(3)(j).

☐ Has a physical impairment or condition that would preclude or limit them from operating a motor vehicle and to train others to operate a motor vehicle in accordance 
with MCL 256.637(3)(j).

☐ Preclude the applicant from: TRAINING OTHERS TO OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE (NO Behind-the-Wheel Instruction.).

☐ Limit the applicant to: TRAIN OTHERS TO OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE ONLY DURING THE DAYTIME HOURS.

Medical Examiner’s Name: Date of Medical Examination: Office Phone #: 

Office Address: License Number: 

Medical Examiner’s Signature: Date Report Completed: 



 

 

O F F I CE  O F  I NVE ST I GA T I VE  SE RVI CE S  –  D R I VE R  E D UCA T I O N & T E ST I N G SE CT I O N 
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The following Live Scan Fingerprint Background Check Request (RI-030) form should 
ONLY be used if you are either a Driver Education Provider Owner/Designated 
Representative or a Driver Education Instructor. This form should not be utilized by 
any other entities, fingerprint codes, or agencies. 

In “Section I” of the RI-030, the following information must be used for Driver 
Education Provider Owners/Designated Representatives and/or Driver Education 
Instructors: 

• Fingerprint Reason Code: LDE 
• Requestor/Agency ID: 3720E  
• Agency Name: MDOS Driver Education & Testing Section 
• Individual ID (MNU-OA): Provider “P” or Instructor “N” Certificate Number 

Please ensure that “Sections I & II” of the RI-030 are filled in prior to your scheduled 
appointment with a Michigan State Police approved Live Scan Vendor who will 
administer the fingerprints. The Live Scan Vendor will complete “Section III” once 
fingerprints have been captured and return a copy of the RI-030 form to you so you can 
sign “Section VI” (the Consent), then submit the properly completed copy with your 
Driver Education application to the Driver Education & Testing Section. 

Fingerprint reason code LDE is pursuant to Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL) 256.631(2), 
256.641(4), 256.649 and 256.679. 

The Driver Education & Testing Section cannot accept an obsolete version of the Live 
Scan Fingerprint Background Check Request RI-030 form. Providers or individuals 
should not save old, blank forms for future use. 

http://www.michigan.gov/sos
https://www.michigan.gov/msp/services/live-scan-vendors
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-256-631
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-256-641
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-256-649
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-256-679


RI-030 (10/2020) 
Michigan State Police 
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AUTHORITY:  MCL 28.162, MCL 28.214, MCL 28.248, & MCL 28.273 
COMPLIANCE:  Voluntary.  However, failure to complete this form will 
result in denial of request. 

LIVE SCAN FINGERPRINT BACKGROUND CHECK REQUEST 
Purpose: To conduct a civil fingerprint-based background check for employment, to volunteer, or for licensing purposes as authorized by law. 
Instructions: See page two. 

I. Authorizing Information
1. Fingerprint Reason Code 3. Agency Name 4. Individual ID (MNU-OA)

II. Applicant Information: Type or clearly print answers in all fields before going to be fingerprinted.
1a. Last Name 1b. First Name 1c. Middle Initial 1d. Suffix 

2. Any Alternative Names, Last Names, or Aliases 3. Social Security Number (Optional)
DO NOT SUBMITT SSN 

4. Place of Birth (State or Country) 5. Date of Birth 6. Phone Number 7. Driver's License / State ID Number 8. Issuing State

9. Home Address 10. City 11. State 12. ZIP Code

13. Sex 14. Race 15. Height 16. Weight 17. Eye Color 18. Hair Color

III. Live Scan Information
1. Date Printed 2. Picture ID Type Presented 3. Transaction Control Number (TCN) 4. Live Scan Operator*

* When an individual ID is provided, please enter the ID into the Miscellaneous Number (MNU) field on the Live Scan device.  Select OA - Originating
Agency Identifier and then enter the unique identifier in the Identification Code field.
IV. Privacy Act Statement
Authority: Acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated information by the Federal Bureau of Investigation 
(FBI) is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534.  Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental authorities include 
Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal regulations. Providing your 
fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval of your application. 
Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-
based background checks.  Your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, investigating, or 
otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI's Next 
Generation Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other 
available records of the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency.  The FBI may retain your fingerprints and associated 
information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared 
against other fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI. 
Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your fingerprints and associated 
information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without 
your consent as permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be published at any time in the Federal 
Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the FBI's Blanket Routine Uses. Routine Uses include, but are not limited 
to, disclosures to: employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, contracting, 
licensing, security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement agencies; criminal 
justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety. 
V. Procedure to Obtain a Change, Correction, or Update of Identification Records
If, after reviewing his/her identification record, the subject thereof believes that it is incorrect or incomplete in any respect and wishes 
changes, corrections, or updating of the alleged deficiency; he/she should make application directly to the agency which contributed the 
questioned information.  The subject of a record may also direct his/her challenge as to the accuracy or completeness of any entry on 
his/her record to the FBI, Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division, ATTN: SCU, Mod. D2, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, 
Clarksburg, WV 26306. The FBI will then forward the challenge to the agency which submitted the data requesting that agency to verify 
or correct the challenged entry. Upon the receipt of an official communication directly from the agency which contributed the original 
information, the FBI CJIS Division will make any changes necessary in accordance with the information supplied by that agency. (28 
CFR § 16.34) 
VI. Consent
I understand that my personal information and biometric data being submitted by Live Scan, will be used to search against identification 
records from both the Michigan State Police (MSP) and the FBI for the purpose listed above.  I hereby authorize the release of my 
personal information for such purposes and release of any records found to the authorized requesting agency listed above. 
Signature: Date: 

2. Requestor/Agency ID
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INSTRUCTIONS 

Section I: 
Authorizing Information: 
This section is to be completed by the agency authorized to request civil fingerprint-based background checks. 

1. Fingerprint Code: 
The fingerprint code identifies the authorizing purpose in law allowing the agency to request the civil fingerprint-based 
background check. For example, School Employment (SE), Child Protection Volunteer (CPV), Health Care employment (HC). 

2. Requesting Agency Identification (ID): 
The requesting agency ID is assigned to your agency by the MSP. No request for fingerprinting can be completed without an 
agency ID. Please ensure the correct fingerprinting reason code and agency Identification is used. The MSP will charge for 
second requests due to incorrect codes. 

3. Agency Name: 
The agency name is the legal name of the authorized agency. For schools specifically, the agency name is the name 
recognized by the Michigan Department of Education. 

4. Individual ID (MNU-OA) 
The Individual ID is a unique identifier specific to the individual requested to submit fingerprints. An ID such as a state issued 
licensing number, a Personnel Identification Code (PIC) number, or other similar uniquely issued identifier/number. 

Section II: 
Applicant Information: 
This section can be completed by the authorized agency, the individual, or as a joint effort by both. Section II specifically pertains to 
the demographic information needed in order to obtain the biometric data of the applicant and is a unique identifier specific to the 
applicant. 

Section III: 
Live Scan Information: 
This section is required to be completed by the Live Scan vendor operator and must be completed at the time of fingerprinting.  
After fingerprinting, the applicant shall return this signed and completed document to the requesting agency. The Live Scan 
operator must return a completed copy of the form to the applicant. 
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