

## **Requirements**

- In Michigan, individuals, organizations, or entities are not required to register or attend a training to run a voter registration drive.
- In Michigan, there is no age, citizenship, residency, or citizenship requirement to run or assist with a voter registration drive.
- Voter registration drives may not compensate individuals registering persons to vote based on the total number of persons registered, or the total number of persons registered to vote in a particular political party. Violation of this provision of Michigan law is a felony.
- Voter registration drives may not compensate individuals or provide any incentive considered "payment" for registering to vote or for voting. Violation of this provision of Michigan law is a felony.
- Individuals registering persons to vote may not fill in any missing or incomplete information on a registration form themselves.

# **Voter registration eligibility**

Michigan residents are eligible to vote if they are:

- A Michigan resident (at the time you register) and a resident of your city or township for at least 30 days (when you vote)
- A United States citizen
- At least 18 years of age
- Not currently serving a sentence in state or federal prison

#### **Voter registration process**

There are a few formats for registering voters in your drive, as listed below.

• **Printed voter registration application** - Printed voter registration application forms are available at **Michigan.gov/Vote** by selecting "Get a printable application" from the side menu. Voter registration applications are available in English, Arabic, Bengali, Burmese, Hindi, Korean, Mandarin and Spanish.

To register to vote using a printed voter registration form, an individual must provide:

- A Michigan driver's license or ID number, OR
- > The last 4 digits of your Social Security number

A completed paper voter registration application returned to a local election clerk by a person other than the individual registering to vote must be submitted to the clerk 15 or more days prior to Election Day for the registration to take effect for the upcoming election. Completed forms may be emailed, mailed or hand delivered to an election clerk. To determine which election clerk should receive a form, look up the home address listed on the voter registration application at **Michigan.gov/Vote** by selecting "Your Clerk."

Individuals registering 14 or fewer days before Election Day must register to vote in person at their designated election clerk's office and must provide proof of residency in order to participate in the upcoming election.

Online voter registration application - An online voter registration
application is available at <u>Michigan.gov/Vote</u> by selecting "<u>Register to vote</u>
online." Michigan residents can register to vote online 15 or more days prior to
Election Day at this site.

To register to vote online, you must have both:

- A Michigan driver's license or ID number, AND
- > The last 4 digits of your Social Security number

## **Answers to frequently asked questions**

- Registered voters will be mailed a registration card by their designated election clerk after their registration has been processed. This card may be retained for the voter's records but it is not required to vote.
- Registering to vote does not enter you into selective service (the draft) and does not register you for jury duty!
- Registered voters can request an absentee ballot, check their voter registration status, locate their election clerk's office and their polling place, and learn what's on their ballot by visiting <u>Michigan.gov/Vote</u>.
- Updating your voter registration address will result in a change to your address on record for your Michigan driver's license or ID. Once updated, you will be mailed a sticker with your updated address to place on the back of your license or ID.

# **Michigan voting rights**

- Photo ID requirements: Photo identification is not required in Michigan to cast a ballot. Voters not in possession of a photo ID at the precinct will be asked to sign a document confirming that they aren't in possession of a photo ID and then will be issued a ballot as normal.
- No-excuse absentee voting: Every registered voter in Michigan has the right to vote from home, vote early and vote by mail using absent voter (AV) ballots. AV ballots are issued to registered voters beginning 40 days prior to Election Day. To request an AV ballot, visit <u>Michigan.gov/Vote</u> for the online and paper AV ballot applications.
- **Returning citizens:** Michigan residents who are not currently serving a sentence in jail or prison have the right to register to vote and cast a ballot. This means that you have the right to register and cast a ballot if you are currently in jail but have not been sentenced, if you are serving a sentence but are not currently incarcerated, if you are on probation or parole but are not incarcerated and if you have finished a sentence of incarceration.
- Language access: Michigan residents have the right to bring a non-English interpreter with them to the polls for assistance in casting a ballot. Your interpreter cannot influence your vote, and they cannot be your employer, an agent of your employer or an officer or agent of your labor union.

For more tips on running a successful voter registration drive, check out these nonpartisan voter registration drive guides:

- Planning a Voter Registration Drive, League of Women Voters (<u>lwv.org/blog/planning-voter-registration-drive</u>)
- High School Voter Registration Training Manual, League of Women Voters (<u>lwv.org/HSVRmanual</u>)
- Host a Voter Registration Drive, Rock the Vote (<u>rockthevote.org/get-involved/help-register-voters</u>)

