Renewing at a Branch Office
Renewals can be processed at any Secretary of State branch office up to six months before the expiration date. To prevent delays or additional trips, be sure that you have all the documents you need before you arrive. Common documents needed for renewals are:
- Renewal notice or old registration for each registration (or plate configuration)
- Proof of Michigan no-fault insurance for each registration
- Driver's license
- Cash, check, money order, MasterCard, Discover and Visa debit and credit cards*
The plate owner or someone living at the owner's address must appear to process license plate renewals. If a person representing the plate owner does not live at the same address as the plate owner, the representative must submit an appointment of agent from the vehicle owner along with a photocopy of the vehicle owner's drivers license or state ID card.
If your license plate is 10 years old or older, under Michigan law it can no longer be renewed and you will need to select a new plate as a replacement. Check your plate renewal notice to see if there is a statement informing you that your plate needs to be replaced. The Secretary of State's Office offers a number of plates to choose from, including the Pure Michigan standard plate, the Spectacular Peninsulas plate, the Mackinac Bridge plate and a variety of veterans and university and special cause fundraising plates. A $5 plate replacement fee is due in addition to your regular renewal fee when replacing your plate with the Pure Michigan Standard plate, the Spectacular Peninsulas plate or the Mackinac Bridge Plate. If you choose a fundraising plate or a personalized plate, the regular service fees associated with these plates will be charged in lieu of the $5 plate replacement fee. All Auto Centennial plates and any Great Lakes Splendor plates over 10 years old must be replaced with a different plate type since these plates are no longer issued.
Many Secretary of State offices also offer a Self-Service Station that allows you to renew your vehicle registration and tab on the spot. Self-Service Stations accept Discover, MasterCard or Visa credit or debit cards. A nominal processing fee will be charged. To locate the nearest Self-Service Station, visit the branch office locator.
If a license plate expires on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the expiration date of the license plate is extended to include the next business day before assessing a late fee.
- 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday.
- 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Wednesday, except for offices in city centers which are open 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
- PLUS and SUPER!Center branch offices provide extended hours on Wednesday from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
- SUPER!Centers also offer Saturday hours from 9 a.m. to noon.
- Smaller offices may close for a lunch hour, and all branches are closed on state holidays.
* A nominal 1.5-percent processing fee will be charged when using Discover, MasterCard, and Visa debit or credit card at the counter. For example, a $30 transaction would result in a processing fee of about 45 cents.