Teen and Adult Driver Education Provider Information

PA 384 of 2006 , known as the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act was signed into law effective October 1, 2006. The goal was to eliminate overlap in statutory requirements, create a level playing field for Michigan's driver education program, achieve consistency in program objectives, strengthen and improve curriculum, and establish appropriate requirements and qualifications for driver education providers and instructors.

The Secretary of State's focus is on the administration of driver education programs by providers. This includes ensuring that providers maintain established office locations where records will be kept, possess continuous surety bonds, maintain injury and property damage liability insurance on training vehicles, and obtain and maintain provider certification. In addition, the Secretary of State regulates what information and documentation that must be included in the student records and contracts, investigates consumer complaints, and periodically performs inspections.

The Secretary of State also approves curriculum and course content when providing teen driver training (segment 1 and segment 2). Each provider's curriculum, as well as classroom locations, must meet state standards. Every provider is required to submit a list of texts, test and reference materials, including pamphlets and visual aids that are used when instructing students in the classroom and during practice driving instruction. If you are planning to apply for a driver education provider certificate and offer teen or adult driver education courses, access the application documents provided below and mail the completed forms to:

Michigan Department of State
Licensing Unit
Lansing, Michigan  48918

Please allow 4 to 6 weeks processing time for your driver education provider application.

Select "Required" in the table below for information necessary to complete driver education provider application forms (where applicable).

Form Teen Adult Educational Institution or Governmental Agency
Provider Name Selection. An existing (or similar) provider name or dba cannot be chosen. E-mail DriverEd@Michigan.gov with questions on choice. Required Required Required
Fee (payable to State of Michigan) $225 $225 Fee-exempt
Assumed name filing / partnership agreement / Articles of Organization or Incorporation Required Required N/A
Original Application for Driver Education Provider Certificate (DES-014) Required Required Required
Livescan Fingerprint Background Check Request Required Required Required
Classroom Approval/Fire Marshal Verification (DES-024) Required Required Required
Driver Education Provider Liability Insurance Certificate (DES-017)

Required

Required

Required
Driver Education Provider Surety Bond (DES-019)

Required

Required

N/A
Training Vehicle List (DES-018) Required Required Required
Driver Education Instructor Employment Form (DES-022) Required Required Required
Provider User ID Request (DES-032) Required N/A Required
Multiple Vehicle (Range) Application (DES-023) Required N/A Required
Classroom Instruction Outline Required N/A Required
Classroom Record Keeping Form - Teen Required N/A Required
Classroom Record Keeping Form - Adult N/A

Required

N/A
Behind-the-Wheel (BTW) Instruction Outline Required N/A Required
BTW Record Keeping Form - Teen Required N/A Required
BTW Record Keeping Form - Adult N/A Required N/A
Student In-Car Evaluation Checklist Required Required Required
Segment 1 Registration Form Required N/A Required
Segment 1 and 2 Student Contract Checklist Required N/A Required
Student Contract - Segment 1 Required N/A Required
Student Contract - Segment 2 Required N/A Required
Adult Student Contract Checklist N/A  Required Required
Student Contract - Adult N/A Required N/A
Graduated Driver License Timeline For Review N/A For Review

Many of the documents on this page are in PDF format. What's this?