Truck Driver Education Provider Information
PA 384 of 2006 , known as the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act was signed into law effective October 1, 2006. The goal was to eliminate overlap in statutory requirements, create a level playing field for Michigan's driver education program, achieve consistency in program objectives, strengthen and improve curriculum, and establish appropriate requirements and qualifications for driver education providers and instructors.
The Secretary of State's focus is on the administration of driver education programs by providers. This includes ensuring that providers maintain established office locations where records will be kept, possess continuous surety bonds, maintain injury and property damage liability insurance on training vehicles, and obtain and maintain provider certification. In addition, the Secretary of State regulates what information and documentation that must be included in the student records and contracts, investigates consumer complaints, and periodically performs inspections.
If you are planning to apply for a driver education provider certificate and offer truck driver education courses, access the application documents provided below and mail the completed forms to:
Michigan Department of State
Lansing, Michigan 48918
Please allow 4 to 6 weeks processing time for your driver education provider application.
Select "Required" in the table below for information necessary to complete driver education provider application forms (where applicable).
|Truck||Educational Institution or Governmental Agency (Truck)|
|Provider Name Selection (cannot use name of existing provider)||Required||Required|
|Fee (payable to State of Michigan)||$360||Fee-exempt|
|Assumed name filing / partnership agreement / Articles of Organization or Incorporation||Required||N/A|
|Photo of Sign (attached to building)||Required||N/A|
|Original Application for Driver Education Provider Certificate (DES-014)||Required||Required|
|Livescan Fingerprint Background Check Request||Required||Required|
|Classroom Approval/Fire Marshal Verification (DES-024)||Required||Required|
|Driver Education Provider Liability Insurance Certificate (DES-017)||Required|
|Driver Education Provider Surety Bond (DES-019)||N/A|
|Training Vehicle List (DES-018)||Required||Required|
|Driver Education Instructor Employment Form (DES-022)||Required||Required|
|Student Contract Checklist||Required|
|Student Contract - Truck||Required||Required|
|Classroom Instruction Form - Truck||Required|
|BTW Record Keeping Form - Truck||Required||Required|
Many of the documents on this page are in PDF format. What's this?