Motorcycle Temporary Instruction Permit
The intention of the motorcycle Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP) is to give new riders an opportunity to practice riding on public roads under the constant supervision of an experienced motorcyclist before taking the motorcycle skills test. The TIP is simply a transitory tool used to obtain the Michigan motorcycle endorsement.
To obtain a motorcycle temporary instruction permit you must:
Be at least age 16
Hold a valid Michigan driver's license
Pass the vision test and motorcycle knowledge test
Pay the TIP fee
If you are age 16 or 17, you must show proof of enrollment in a motorcycle rider safety training course. A parent's signature is required for a minor (under age 18) to obtain a motorcycle TIP unless the applicant is an emancipated minor.
The TIP is valid for 180 days. While driving on the motorcycle TIP, you cannot ride at night or carry passengers. Also, you must be under the constant visual supervision of a licensed motorcycle operator who is at least 18 years old at all times.
Effective January 1, 2015:
Michigan law allows the issuance of no more than two motorcycle Temporary Instruction Permits (TIP) in a 10-year period.
TIPs issued prior to 2015 under the previous law will not be calculated under the new law.
If your second TIP has expired or if you have failed two motorcycle skill tests, you must pass a motorcycle safety course to obtain your endorsement.
To find a motorcycle safety course near you, visit www.michigan.gov/motorcycling