Laws & Regulations
To operate a motorcycle on public roads, you must possess a valid Michigan driver's license with a motorcycle endorsement. Operating a motorcycle without an endorsement can cost you in the resulting court fines.
Definition of a Motorcycle
A motorcycle is a two- or three-wheeled motor vehicle with a saddle or seat that can attain speeds greater than 30 mph on a level surface. Some vehicles, such as "pocket rockets" or "mini choppers," may meet this definition, but do not have all of the equipment required by Michigan law to legally drive them on public roads and will not be registered by the Department of State.
- Definition of a Moped MCL 257.32b
- Definition of a Motorcycle MCL 257.31
- Definition of an Autocycle MCL 257.25a
Effective October 11, 2017 an operator of an autocycle will not be required to obtain a motorcycle endorsement to operate an autocycle.
- Examination and Testing MCL 257.309 (10)
- Motorcycle Endorsement MCL 257.312a
- Motorcycle Helmet MCL 257.658
- Motorcycle Helmet Use in Michigan
- Motorcycle Legislative Highlights
- Motorcycle Safety Course MCL 257.811a
- Motorcycle Safety Education Administrative Rules (R 257.1701 - 257.1727)
- Motorcycle Safety Program Funding Source MCL 257.312(c)
- Motorcycle Safety Program Funding Source MCL 257.801(1)(n)
- Motorcycle handlebar restrictions MCL 257.661a
- Motorcycle head lamps MCL 257.685
- Motorcycle safety course conducted by private business enterprise MCL 257.811b
- Motorcycle spot lamps MCL 257.696
- Motorcycle stop lamps MCL 257.697b
- Requirement to take the motorcycle rider safety course MCL 257.312b(2) Anyone who has failed the Rider Skills Test twice and individuals under 18 years of age must take a Motorcycle Rider Safety Training Course to obtain their motorcycle endorsement.
- Temporary Instruction Permit MCL 257.306