Office Hours

Image of clock

SECRETARY OF STATE ALERT

Customers can make an appointment up to six months in advance or for the next day online at Michigan.gov/SOS.

Appointments from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. can be booked up to six months early. Appointments from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. and from 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. are reserved for customers to book one day in advance.

Morning appointments open for booking at 8 a.m. EST the previous day. Afternoon appointments open for booking at noon EST the previous day. Monday appointments open for booking Friday.

Many transactions can be completed from home by mail or using online services. Vehicle registration tabs can be printed immediately at any of our self-service stations.


 

  • 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. EST Monday through Friday

  • Smaller offices may close for a lunch hour. All offices are closed on state holidays.

  • Visit Secretary of State Branch Office Locator for specific office hours for the office in your area.

All Secretary of State offices will be closed on the following days:

  • New Year's: Thursday, December 31, 2020 and Friday, January 1, 2021
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Monday, January 18, 2021
  • Presidents Day: Monday, February 15, 2021
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 31, 2021
  • Independence Day: Monday, July 5, 2021
  • Labor Day: Monday, September 6, 2021
  • Veterans Day: Thursday, November 11, 2021
  • Thanksgiving: Thursday, November 25, 2021 and Friday, November 26, 2021
  • Christmas: Thursday, December 23, 2021, Friday, December 24, 2021
  • New Year's: Thursday, December 30, 2021 and Friday, December 31, 2021

Related Documents & Topics