Office Hours

Image of clock

As of Oct. 1, 2021, Secretary of State offices are returning to regular hours of 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Effective Aug. 23, 2021, face masks are required in state buildings by all persons, whether vaccinated or unvaccinated.

Residents can schedule a visit or stop by any office unannounced and staff will serve them immediately if there is availability, invite them to wait or return for the next opening the same day, or assist them in scheduling a convenient return visit, often for the next day. 

Vehicle registrations, driver licenses and state IDs with expirations between March 31 and August 1, 2021, have been extended 120 days from the original expiration date. Late fees will be waived upon renewal and can be refunded retroactively upon request to those who paid them.

Most transactions can be completed from home by mail or using online services. Vehicle registration stickers and temporary licenses and IDs can be printed immediately at any of our self-service stations.


FAQ ABOUT DEPARTMENT OF STATE SERVICES 


  • 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. EST Monday through Friday NOTE: See text above for special hours.

  • Smaller offices may close for a lunch hour. All offices are closed on state holidays.

  • Visit Secretary of State Branch Office Locator for specific office hours for the office in your area.

All Secretary of State offices will be closed on the following days:

  • New Year's: Thursday, December 31, 2020 and Friday, January 1, 2021
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Monday, January 18, 2021
  • Presidents Day: Monday, February 15, 2021
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 31, 2021
  • Independence Day: Monday, July 5, 2021
  • Labor Day: Monday, September 6, 2021
  • Veterans Day: Thursday, November 11, 2021
  • Thanksgiving: Thursday, November 25, 2021 and Friday, November 26, 2021
  • Christmas: Thursday, December 23, 2021, Friday, December 24, 2021
  • New Year's: Thursday, December 30, 2021 and Friday, December 31, 2021

Related Documents & Topics