Select Secretary of State offices to remain open on Election Day

Office NoticesOCTOBER 22, 2018

Secretary of State Ruth Johnson reminds residents that select offices across the state will remain open on Election Day for customers who must conduct urgent business on that day.

Most state government offices will be closed on Tuesday, Nov. 6, because of a 2004 agreement with labor unions that makes Election Day a state employee holiday. However, Johnson is keeping several offices open with minimal staffing.

“Sometimes an urgent visit to a Secretary of State office is unavoidable,” Johnson said. “With that in mind, we’re keeping some offices open on Election Day with limited staffing. Those customers without urgent business are encouraged to visit an office on another day or use our online services at”

Johnson said that late fees for licenses and registrations expiring Nov. 6 will be waived if customers renew the next day. She also reminded customers that many transactions, such as vehicle plate tab and driver’s license renewals, now can be completed online at

In addition, many offices contain Self-Service Stations for quick processing of license plate tab renewals. Many of these offices will be closed on Election Day but their Self-Service Stations that normally are available 24 hours a day will be available to serve customers. Residents will need a renewal notice and a Visa, MasterCard or Discover credit or debit card to use the Self-Service Station.

Other Department of State service areas also will be closed on Election Day, except for the Bureau of Elections.
Voters can find election information, including contact information for their clerk’s office, and review their sample ballot at

A list of open offices follows.

Secretary of State offices open on Election Day

* Self-Service Stations available 24 hours

Southeast Michigan

C. Macomb County PLUS (Shelby Twp.) *
Clinton Township SUPER!Center *
Detroit New Center SUPER!Center *
Downriver Area PLUS *
E. Oakland County PLUS (Troy) *
Livonia Area SUPER!Center *
N. Macomb County PLUS (Chesterfield) *
N. Oakland County PLUS (Clarkston) *
Oakland County SUPER!Center *
S. Oakland County PLUS
St. Clair County PLUS *
S.E. Macomb County PLUS *
S.E. Oakland County PLUS *
S.E. Wayne County PLUS (Taylor) *
S.W. Macomb County PLUS
S.W. Oakland County PLUS *
S.W. Wayne County PLUS *
Washtenaw County PLUS *
West Wayne County PLUS (Canton) *

West Michigan

Calhoun County PLUS *
Grand Rapids Area SUPER!Center *
Kalamazoo County PLUS *
Muskegon County PLUS *
N.E. Kent County PLUS *
N.W. Berrien County PLUS (Benton Harbor) *
Ottawa County PLUS (Holland) *
S.W. Kent County PLUS (Wyoming) *


Capital Area SUPER!Center *
Jackson County PLUS *
Livingston County PLUS *

Central Michigan

Mecosta County PLUS

Flint-Thumb Area
Flint Area SUPER!Center *
Saginaw County PLUS *

Northern Michigan
Roscommon County PLUS *
Grand Traverse County PLUS *

Upper Peninsula

Marquette County PLUS *
Delta County PLUS
Sault Ste. Marie

Additional 24-hour Self-Service Stations available

While the following offices are NOT open on Election Day, Self-Service Stations are available.

Southeast Michigan
C. Wayne County PLUS (Westland)
Detroit Area SUPER!Center
Hamtramck Area PLUS
N.E. Wayne County PLUS (Redford)
Rochester Hills
Sterling Heights
S.W. Detroit PLUS
West Bloomfield
W. Oakland County PLUS (Highland)

West Michigan
Montcalm County PLUS (Greenville)
S. Kalamazoo County PLUS (Portage)
St. Joseph County PLUS (Sturgis)
Van Buren County PLUS (Paw Paw)


Lansing Area PLUS

Central Michigan


Flint-Thumb Area

Bay County PLUS
Lapeer County PLUS
North Genesee County
Tuscola County PLUS
Sanilac County PLUS
Shiawassee County PLUS

Northern Michigan



For media questions, please call Fred Woodhams at 517-373-2520.

Customers may call the Department of State Information Center to
speak to a customer-service representative at 888-SOS-MICH (767-6424).