What is acceptable documentation?

Michigan law requires every driver's license to include a person's residence address. A person's "residence address" is the place that is their settled or permanent home, where they usually sleep and keep their personal belongings. State law also requires a driver's license or ID card to include a residence address.

All applicants applying for an original driver's license or personal identification card must provide two proofs of Michigan residency. Any item presented to establish proof of residency must include the applicant's name and a Michigan residence address (no P.O. boxes or Mailbox Plus addresses). Applicants may present any of the following:

  • Utility bill or credit card bill issued within the last 90 days (Electronic copies are acceptable.)
  • Account statement from a bank or other financial institution issued within the last 90 days. (Electronic copies are acceptable.)
  • Michigan high school, college or university report cards or transcripts less than two years old.
  • Mortgage, lease or rental agreement. (Lease and rental agreements must include the landlord's telephone number.)
  • Pay stub or earnings statement issued with the name and address of the employer.
  • Life, health, auto or home insurance policy.
  • Federal, state or local government documents, such as receipts, licenses or assessments.
  • Michigan title and registration (The registration must show current residential address.)

Note: Residency documents in a family member's name may be used if the family relationship can be established by other forms of documented proof.


Related Documents & Topics

 

 

If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner. Or send us an e-mail by clicking on “Contact the Secretary of State” also in the upper right corner and we will help you get the information you need.