Secretary of State
The Department of State can provide vehicle records (which include registration and title histories along with supporting documents) upon request. Record information is available to individuals, commercial customers and government agencies.
You must meet the criteria requirements under the Driver Privacy Protection Act in order to receive record information.
Michigan government agencies must complete a Record Lookup Request for Government Agencies form (BDVR-155). Out-of-state government agencies must use the Non-Account & Individual Record Lookup Request form (BDVR-154). If a company working on behalf of your government agency (i.e. carrying out the functions of that government agency) will access the requested records, a copy of your subcontractor contract is required.
As part of the application process, provide the following:
Individual record request forms may be mailed to:
Michigan Department of State
Record Sales Unit
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, Michigan 48918-1502*
Completed record request look-up forms may be faxed to 517-335-6169 or 517-335-6184. Records will be mailed back to you.
The Secretary of State Secondary Complex, 7064 Crowner Drive, Dimondale*, also processes requests for vehicle records. Same-day service is available for either non-certified or certified copies of your own vehicle record. Requests for a non-certified copy of another person’s vehicle record will be ready the following business day unless you are informed differently.
Phone (for questions):
If you have any questions about ordering records, call 517-335-6198.
* The mailing address for Crowner Drive is Lansing, the physical address is Dimondale.
Government agency requests:
No fee for Michigan government agencies.
Out-of-state government agencies - $11 per record. For a certified record, add $1.
Secretary of State Secondary Complex in Dimondale:
Cash, checks, money orders, and Discover, MasterCard and Visa credit and branded debit cards. (Make checks and money orders payable to the State of Michigan. A processing fee is charged for credit and debit card use.)