The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Important dates for the statewide general election
Voting early in person by absentee ballot begins at your clerk's office Thursday, September 29 Last day to register to vote online
Monday, October 24
Return absentee ballot by mail to avoid potential for mailing delays
Monday, October 24
Last day to request an absentee ballot online or by mail
To avoid mailing delays, it is strongly recommended to request an absentee ballot no later than Monday, October 17
Up to 5 p.m. on Friday, November 4
Vote early by absentee ballot at your clerk’s office
Through Monday, November 7 at 4 p.m. Register to vote in person at your clerk’s office
Eligible residents must provide official proof of residency if registering to vote between October 25 and November 8
Through Tuesday, November 8 at 8 p.m.
Return absentee ballot to your designated drop box or local clerk’s office by hand
By 8 p.m. on Tuesday, November 8
Voting in Michigan
1. Voter registration
To register to vote in Michigan, you must be:
- A U.S. citizen
- At least 17.5 years old (18 years old when you vote)
- A Michigan resident for at least 30 days
- Not currently serving a sentence in jail or prison
Register online or by mail
Eligible citizens can register to vote online with their Michigan driver’s license or state ID number up to two weeks before Election Day.
If you don’t have a Michigan license or state ID number, you can still register to vote by mail or in person at your local clerk’s office by completing a paper application.
Register in person up to and on Election Day
Request an absentee ballot online or by mail
Vote early with an absentee ballot at your local clerk's office
Request and return an absentee ballot to be tabulated on Election Day by visiting your local clerk’s office beginning 40 days before Election Day and ending at 4 p.m. on the Monday before Election Day.
Voting in person on Election Day
Registered voters can request and complete a ballot at their designated polling place on Election Day between 7 a.m. and 8 p.m. If you are in line to vote at your polling place when it closes at 8 p.m. you can still cast your ballot.
Per Michigan law, you will be asked to show a form of ID when you check in to vote. If you don’t have one, you can still vote. If this happens, expect a poll worker to ask you to sign an affidavit before you vote that explains you didn’t have an ID. Your ballot will be included with all others and counted on Election Day.
Returning your absentee ballot
Your signed and completed absentee ballot must be returned by 8 p.m. on Election Day to be tabulated. There are three ways to do so:
- Designated dropbox: Return your absentee ballot to a secured absentee ballot dropbox in your city, township, or village by 8 p.m. on Election Day.
- At your local clerk’s office: Return your absentee ballot by hand to your local clerk’s office by 8 p.m. on Election Day. Check your clerk’s office website for their office hours.
- By mail: To avoid potential mailing delays, it is strongly recommended that you mail your absentee ballot no later than 14 days prior to Election Day.
If you requested an absentee ballot but decide to vote in person instead, you can surrender your incomplete absentee ballot at your designed polling place on Election Day and request a new ballot.
Changing your vote
If you would like to change your vote after returning your completed and signed absentee ballot to your local clerk's office, you can "spoil" the original ballot by requesting a new ballot.
- Spoiling your ballot by mail: Your written and signed request must be received by your local clerk’s office by 5 p.m. the Friday before Election Day.
- Spoiling a ballot that has already been submitted: Your written and signed request must be received in person by your local clerk’s office by 10 a.m. the Monday before Election Day
- Spoiling a ballot that has not yet been submitted: Your written and signed request must be received in person by your local clerk’s office by 4 p.m. the Monday before Election Day.