Skip to main content

Pre-registration

Diverse group of students taking a selfie

Pre-registration

Pre-registration

In late 2023, House Bill 4569 was passed to allow eligible 16 and 17-year-olds to pre-register to vote.

This section provides information about pre-registration and helping young people participate in the elections process. 

 

  • Pre-registration allows 16 to 17-year-old individuals to “pre-register” to become a registered voter in Michigan. Once pre-registered, individuals would automatically have active voter registrations when they reach the eligible registration age, which is 17.5 in Michigan.

    People who pre-register can participate in early in-person or absentee voting for an election as long as they will be 18 on or before Election Day.

  • To pre-register to vote in Michigan, an individual must:

    Be a Michigan resident

    Be a United States citizen

    Be at least 16 years of age

    Not be currently serving a sentence in jail or prison

Pre-registration information (Choose tab)

If you are between the ages of 16 and 17.5, you can now legally pre-register to vote.

You can pre-register online at Michigan.gov/Vote, or print, complete, and mail the following form to your local clerk’s office. You can also contact your local clerk to request a form be mailed to you.

If you pre-register, you can participate in early in-person or absentee voting for an election, as long as you will be 18 on or before the date of that election.

Pre-register to vote online

Print a pre-registration form

Look up your local clerk’s office

Learn more about upcoming elections and options for voting

Parental voter education and assistance: Research shows that young adults are more likely to vote if a parent educates them about the voting process, and even more likely if a parent is an active voter themselves. Serving as a good role model for your children is critical to developing healthy, lifelong voting habits.

Here are a few points about parents and children when it comes to voting:

  • A parent cannot register or pre-register their child to vote or forge their child’s signature on a registration form or absentee ballot application. Voters with disabilities may legally request assistance in completing election forms and ballots. 
  • A parent is allowed to return their child's completed election forms to the clerk's office when asked to do so by the child. 
  • Parents are free to discuss their political views with their children, except when they are within 100 feet of an early voting site or polling place, or inside an early voting site or polling place. Attempting to influence another person's vote, even if they are a family member, is considered electioneering and is against the law.

What parents should know about voter registration: Parents should be aware that if their child registers or pre-registers to vote at a different address, such as their campus address, it also updates their child’s address of record for their Michigan driver’s license or state ID. This may potentially impact address dependent insurance coverage, and a parent’s ability to claim their child as a dependent for taxes. 

Teens may pre-register to vote when they are 16 years old in Michigan and do not need parental approval to do so. They must be 18 by Election Day in order to vote. Once a minor turns 18, the choice of where and how to vote is legally up to the voter. 

Clerks who register young adults are not required to contact a parent for permission to register a young voter in their jurisdiction. Students who are registered to vote at their campus address always have the option to revert to their hometown address after the election.

The Michigan Department of State is proud to partner with the Michigan Department of Education to bring pre-registration and voter education information to schools across Michigan. (coming soon)

 

Voter education resources

Print a pre-registration form

Mock election resources

Help young people learn about Michigan Elections by hosting a mock election, or inviting our Public Engagement team to host one at your school.

Mock election guide (coming soon)

Mock election presentation (coming soon)

Request a mock election at your school (coming soon)

Serving as an election worker

You must be at least 16 years of age to serve as a paid election worker (i.e. poll worker) in the State of Michigan. The rate of pay for election workers varies by municipality. To learn more about serving as a paid election worker, visit the statewide election worker recruitment program webpage at Michigan.gov/PollWorkers or contact your local clerk’s office.

Complete the poll worker interest form