Skip to main content

New drivers

Drivers under 18

Teens under age 18 are required to complete the Graduated Driver Licensing program (GDL) to obtain their first Michigan driver's license. GDL includes two segments of driver's education (Segment 1 and Segment 2) and three different licensing levels. Additional hours of supervised driving practice are required. Drivers under 18 are also subject to certain restrictions at each licensing level.

First-time license or ID requirements

The Supervised Driving Guide

What Every Driver Must Know

Technical resources list

 

  • Per Michigan law, you must complete and pass the following requirements to be issued a Michigan driver's license before turning 18 years old. Classroom and driving instruction will be integrated and related, meaning both should be completed around the same time.

    1. Enroll in a certified driver's education course: Per Michigan law, you can enroll in Segment 1 of driver's education once you are 14 years and 8 months old. To locate a driver's education provider, go to Online Services and select "Driver Education and Testing Businesses" under the Business Services option to search through state-certified instructors.

    2. Segment 1 of driver's education: You will need to complete all required classes, instruction hours, and pass a written knowledge test before graduating from Segment 1.

    3. Apply for your Level 1 learner's permit: Gather all required documents. Photocopies won’t be accepted, and all documents must be in English or include an English translation.
    4. Complete required practice driving time of at least 30 hours with at least 2 hours at night: The Level 1 license allows you to drive with your parent/legal guardian, or a parent-designated licensed driver who is at least 21 years old. You are required to practice driving for at least 30 hours, including at least 2 hours of night driving before you can enroll in Segment 2. The Level 1 license expires on your 18th birthday.

    5. Enroll in Segment 2 with the same provider: You will need to complete all required classes, instruction hours, and pass a written knowledge test before graduating from Segment 2.

    6. Complete additional required practice driving hours: Before you take your on-road driving skills test you must complete a minimum of 50 hours of practice driving with a licensed adult, 10 of which must be at night (this includes the time accumulated during Level 1).

    7. Schedule and pass on-road driving skills test: Contact your driver education provider or a certified driver testing business to take your exam. Upon passing, your driver’s permit will be automatically upgraded to a Level 2 intermediate license when you turn 16.

    8. Complete Level 2 license probationary period: Once you’re issued your Level 2 license you can drive without the supervision of a licensed adult, however certain restrictions will apply. A probationary period will be in place for at least 3 years.

    9. Meet requirements for Level 3 license: If you are 17, have held a Level 2 license for at least 6 months, and haven’t received a citation for violating probation requirements for at least 1 year, your Level 2 license will be automatically upgraded to a Level 3 license with full driving privileges.

    10. Complete GDL at 18: If you have met all graduated driver’s licensing requirements by the time you turn 18 the Michigan Department of State will mail a standard Michigan operator’s license (standard driver’s license) to you. If you haven’t completed GDL by the time you turn 18, you will age out and need to start the process at a Secretary of State office.

    Michigan Graduated Driver Licensing Checklist

    Go to Online Services

    Schedule an office visit


  • Segment 1 Segment 2

    Course eligibility
    • You must be at least 14 years and 8 months old to enroll in Segment 1.
    • All residents age-out of the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program - which includes driver’s education - at 18.

     

     

    To enroll in Segment 2, you must:

    • Maintain a Level 1 learner’s license for at least 3 consecutive months without receiving a citation for a driving or licensing violation.
    • Complete 30 hours of supervised practice driving, including a minimum of 2 hours at night, with a licensed adult aged 21 or older.

    Classroom instruction
    (Excludes study time at home)
    •  Complete at least 24 hours of in-class instruction (no more than 2 hours per day)
    • Providers have the authority to mandate additional requirements, which may include homework or assignments.
    • Complete at least 6 hours of in-class instruction (no more than 2 hours per day)
    • Providers have the authority to mandate additional requirements, which may include homework or assignments.

    Driving instruction
    (With a provider)
    • Complete at least 6 hours of on-road driving instruction with your driver’s education provider. You can drive up to 1 hour each day.
      • Before beginning on-road instruction, you must complete at least 4 hours of class.
      • At least 3 hours of on-road driving instruction must be completed before the final class. Remaining time should be completed within 3 weeks of the final class.
    • Observe another student’s driving for at least 4 hours with your driver’s education provider. No more than 3 students can observe another driver at a time, with no more than 2 people occupying the front seat of the vehicle.
    • Your parents/legal guardian must provide written consent before you can begin on-road driving instruction.

    On-road driving instruction and observation with a driver’s education provider isn’t required for Segment 2.

    However, providers do have the authority to mandate additional on-road instruction or observation.

     Testing

    You must pass a written driver knowledge exam provided by your state-certified driver’s education provider.

    You must pass a written driver knowledge exam provided by your state-certified driver’s education provider.

    GDL licensing level (With a passing score)

    Upon passing Segment 1, you will be eligible to apply for a GDL Level 1 learner’s license with your parent/legal guardian at a Secretary of State office.

    You must have a Driver Education Certificate of Completion to apply. You will be issued a Driver Education Certificate of Completion if you have successfully done all of the following by the time complete Segment 1:

    • Completed all required Segment 1 class instruction hours
    • Completed all required on-road driving instruction hours and required observation
    • Passed the written driver knowledge exam

    The certificate isn’t a permit to drive and can’t be treated as a driver’s license.

    After Segment 2, you will be eligible to schedule an on-road driving skills test with your driver’s education provider or a certified driver testing business, if you have successfully done all of the following:

    • Completed all required Segment 2 class instruction hours
    • Passed the Segment 2 written driver knowledge exam
    • From the issuance of your Level 1 license, completed and logged a total of 50 hours of supervised practice driving, including a minimum of 10 hours at night, with a licensed adult aged 21 or older

    Once you pass the road exam, the provider will add your certificate to your driving record with the Michigan Department of State, which will automatically upgrade your Level 1 license to a Level 2 intermediate license.

  •  Level and Description Eligibility Issuance Restrictions
    Parent Driving Permit

    The Parent Driving Permit allows you to practice driving under the supervision of your licensed parent/legal guardian while you are enrolled and attending a Segment 1 course.

    To be issued a Parent Driving Permit, you must be:

    • At least 14 years and 8 months old
    • Actively enrolled and attending a Segment 1 course

    The Parent Driving Permit is issued by state-certified driver’s education providers.

    The permit is only required if you plan to practice driving outside of your required on-road driving instruction hours with your driver’s education provider while taking Segment 1.

    •  Can only be used to practice driving under the constant supervision of your licensed parent/legal guardian
    • Permit is only valid while completing Segment 1

    Additional restrictions may be issued by your provider.

    Level 1 learner's license

    The Level 1 learner’s license is the first of three licensing categories in the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program.

    A Level 1 learner’s license allows you to practice driving with a licensed parent/legal guardian or designated adult who is at least 21 years old.

    As you progress through GDL, your Level 1 learner’s license card – which is issued at Secretary of State office – will be automatically updated when you become eligible for other licensing levels.

    To apply for your Level 1 learner’s license, you will need to:

    • Complete and pass Segment 1 of driver’s education
    • Receive a Driver Education Certificate of Completion for Segment 1
    • Meet the state requirements for quality of vision and physical and mental standards that are mandated for operating a vehicle

    You will need to apply for your Level 1 learner’s license at a Secretary of State office with your parent/legal guardian to provide the following document:

    • Driver Education Certificate of Completion for Segment 1
    • Proof of legal presence
    • Proof of Social Security number
    • Proof of identification
    • Proof of Michigan residency (2 documents)

    At your visit, you will take a photo for your Level 1 card and complete a vision exam.

    Level 1 license may only be used to practice driving with a licensed parent/legal guardian or a licensed aged 21 or older who is designated by your parent/legal guardian.

    Note: It is prohibited by law to use a cell phone while driving (Kelsey’s Law - MCL 257.602c).

    Level 2 intermediate license

    A Level 2 intermediate license allows you to drive independently, without a parent/legal guardian or authorized adult, under certain restrictions.

    Your Level 1 card is automatically upgraded to a Level 2 license by the Michigan Department of State when you successfully complete and meet all requirements under GDL.

    To be eligible for a Level 2 license, you must:

    • Be at least 16 years old
    • Completed and passed Segment 2 of driver’s education
    • Completed and logged at least 50 hours of supervised practice driving (at least 10 hours at night) with an authorized, licensed adult aged 21 or older, since the issuance of your Level 1 license.
    • Held a Level 1 license for at least 6 months
    • Passed the on-road driving skills test
    • Not been at-fault in a traffic accident, received a citation or license sanction, or been convicted of a driving-related violation for at least 90 days before your on-road driving skills test

    After successfully completing all GDL requirements and passing the on-road driving skills test, your Level 1 license will be automatically upgraded to a Level 2 license.

    Unless you have a limited-term legal presence in the United States or were issued a paper Level 1 license (instead of a hard card), you don’t need to visit a Secretary of State office.

    When your licensing level is updated, you will be sent a letter confirming the change.

    Unless you are driving with your parent/legal guardian or designated licensed driver aged 21 or older or you are driving to/from your place of employment or another authorized activity, you aren’t permitted to:

    • Drive between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m.
    • Drive with more than 1 passenger under the age of 21 (unless they are an immediate family member)

    These restrictions will remain in place until you have maintained your Level 2 license for 6 months, are at least 17 years old, and haven’t received a citation for a driving or licensing violation.

    Note: It is prohibited by law to use a cell phone while driving (Kelsey’s Law - MCL 257.602c).

    Level 3 full license

    The Level 3 license is the last licensing category of GDL and expires when you turn 18.

    A Level 3 license allows you to drive independently without restrictions, just as you would with a full-privilege driver’s license.

    To be eligible for a Level 3 license, you must:

    • Be at least 17 years old
    • Held a Level 2 license for at least 6 months
    • Not been at-fault in a traffic accident, received a citation or license sanction, or been convicted of a driving-related violation for at least 1 consecutive year

    After successfully completing all GDL requirements, your Level 2 license will be automatically upgraded to a Level 3 license.

    When your licensing level is updated, you will be sent a letter confirming the change. You don’t need to visit a Secretary of State office.

    There aren’t any specific restrictions for the Level 3 license.

    However, if you are ticketed for or convicted of a driving or licensing violation or are at-fault in a traffic accident, you will be placed on driver probation, referred for a driver assessment reexamination with the Michigan Department of State, and risk having your license suspended.

    Standard operator's license (Aging-out of GDL)

    All drivers age-out of GDL when they turn 18 years old.

    Drivers with a valid Level 3 license will be issued a standard operator’s license (standard driver’s license) at 18.

    If you don’t meet all GDL requirements prior to turning 18, your Level 1/2 license will expire, and you will no longer be a licensed driver.

    To be issued a standard operator’s license, you must be:

    • At least 18 years old
    • Completed and passed all permitting and testing requirements (whether through GDL or the license application process)

    If you have met all GDL requirements through the Level 3 license, the Michigan Department of State will mail a standard, vertical operator’s license to your address around the time of your 18th birthday.

    The license will expire when you turn 21.

    If you don’t meet all GDL requirements prior to turning 18, you will need to start a new application at a Secretary of State office.

    There aren’t any specific restrictions for the standard operator’s license.

    However, depending on when your Level 1 license was first issued and whether you have been since ticketed for or convicted of a driving or licensing violation or were at-fault in a traffic accident, you may be required to complete a probationary period after your standard license is issued.

  • Enrolling in driver’s education

    Your teen is eligible to enroll in Segment 1 once they are 14 years and 8 months old.

    • Class size: Segment 1 and 2 courses are limited in size and can’t exceed more than 36 students. This requirement is waived for educational presentations for up to 1 hour during Segment 2.
    • Classroom instruction: While in Segment 1, the in-class instruction time is limited to 2 hours or less per day.
    • On-road instruction: Your teen is required to complete at least 6 hours of on-road driving instruction with their driver’s education provider. If one is provided, your teen may log up to 2 hours of on-road instruction at a provider practice range, however, the remaining time must be completed on public roads. Students are also required to complete 4 hours of driving observation with the provider and other students.

    To enroll in Segment 2, your teen may need to present their Segment 1 Certificate of Completion, Level 1 license, and driving log or parent certification of driving hours (30 hours with 2 hours of night driving).

    Locate a state-certified driver’s education provider under the Businesses Services section of Online Services. Select the link for “Driver Education and Testing Businesses”. You will be routed to a new page, where you can select the option to search for providers, classrooms, and instructors.

    Go to Online Services

    Michigan Graduated Driver Licensing: A Guide for Parents

    Michigan Driver Education Curriculum Guide

     

    Supervised driving requirements and practice

    You are responsible for supervising your teen while they practice driving or must authorize another licensed adult who is at least 21 years old to supervise driving practice with your teen. While your supervision is strongly encouraged as much as possible, there are segments of the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) process when it is required:

    • Parent Driving Permit – If your teen intends to practice driving outside of the required on-road driving instruction while they are enrolled and actively attending Segment 1, you must obtain a Parent Driving Permit from their driver’s education provider. Only you are allowed to supervise their driving practice and it’s required that you have a Parent Driving Permit to do so.
    • Level 1 license: 30 hours – Your teen must log a minimum of 30 hours of driving practice, that includes at least 2 hours of driving at night. You must be in the vehicle to supervise your teen’s driving practice. You are able to designate a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old to supervise if you are not able to be present. Your teen must complete at least 30 hours of driving with the included night hours before enrolling in Segment 2.
    • Before Level 2 license: 50 total hours – Your teen must log a minimum of 50 hours of driving practice, that includes at least 10 hours of driving at night. You must be in the vehicle to supervise your teen’s driving practice. You are able to designate a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old to supervise if you are not able to be present. Your teen must complete at least 50 hours of driving with the included night hours before scheduling their driving skills test that is required for the Level 2 license.

    After your teen graduates to their Level 2 license, you will need to supervise if they are driving between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. or with more than one passenger under the age of 21 (unless they’re driving to/from their place of employment or an authorized activity).

    Throughout GDL and after they turn 18, it’s important that your teen exercises safe driving habits and limits distractions in their vehicle. Under state law, it’s illegal to use a cell phone while driving if you are under the age of 18 (Kelsey’s Law - MCL 257.602c). Texting while driving is illegal for drivers of all ages and license types.

    The Supervised Driving Guide

    The Supervised Driving Checklist

    Technology Resources for Safe Driving

     

    Authorization

    While your teen may be the one behind the wheel, you hold the keys as the parent/legal guardian. Your written authorization is required for their enrollment in Segment 1 and 2, and on their application for a Level 1 learner’s license. Anyone who supervises your teen while they practice driving must also have a valid driver’s license, be at least 21 years old, and receive your prior authorization.

    You are required to visit a Secretary of State office with your teen when they apply for a Level 1 learner’s license. At this time, you can provide your valid, unexpired driver’s license or ID as proof of identification for your teen.

    You may provide two Michigan residency documents with your name and address on behalf of your teen, if you provide other legal documentation proving that you are their parent/legal guardian (i.e.: birth certificate, adoption paperwork, court order, etc.).

    First-time license or ID requirements

    The Supervised Driving Guide

First-time drivers 18+

When you are over 18 and looking to get your first driver’s license you can follow this easy six step process.

Applying for a first-time license at 18 or older (Choose tab below)

To apply for a Michigan driver’s license at age 18 or older, you will need to:

  1. Complete and pass the written driver knowledge exam and a vision exam at a Secretary of State office.
  2. Present all required documents and take a photo for your driver’s license. 
  3. Practice driving with a licensed adult for at least 30 days, using the Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP) issued to you at your Secretary of State office visit. 
  4. Schedule and pass an on-road skills test with a driver testing business. 

In Michigan, driving skills test services are provided entirely by a privatized driver testing program. This program utilizes a statewide network of approved public and private driver testing businesses that employ examiners authorized by the Department of State to conduct driver skills tests. Fees charged by testing organizations are not regulated by the department. Fees and polices vary.

  1. Open the CARS eServices application.
  2. Locate the "Business Services" heading on the left, and within Business Services select the hyperlink labeled "Driver Education and Testing Business."
  3. Locate the heading “Driver Testing Business,” and select the hyperlink labeled “Search Driver Testing Business Locations.”
  4. Pick a county for your search using the "Required" drop-down arrow.
  5. You can increase your choices by including neighboring counties in your search.

Schedule an office visit

What Every Driver Must Know

To be issued a Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP) in order to practice driving, you must pass the following at a Secretary of State office:

  • Written driver knowledge exam 
  • Road signs test
  • Vision exam 


A $25 testing fee will be due at the time of your visit. 

Prepare for the written driver knowledge exam by reviewing What Every Driver Must Know and the Driving Skills Test Study Guide

It is strongly recommended that you schedule your office visit in advance. Tests are offered at all Secretary of State offices up to one hour before offices close. 

Schedule an office visit

What Every Driver Must Know

Driving Skills Test Study Guide 

Accessibility and accommodations  

Language services 

Once you have passed the written and vision tests, present all required documents at a Secretary of State office:   

  • Proof of legal presence (1 document)
  • Proof of Social Security number (1 document)
  • Proof of identity (1 document)
  • Proof of Michigan residency (2 documents)

After your documents have been reviewed and verified by Secretary of State staff, you will take a photo for your license. 

First-time license or ID 

At your visit, you will be issued a Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP). A TIP is valid for 180 days and allows you to practice driving with a licensed adult or a certified driver education instructor. 

You must practice for at least 30 days before taking your driving skills test. If you have a valid foreign driver's license, a license from another state or were previously licensed in Michigan, the 30-day practice period may be waived.

Driving Skills Test Study Guide 

You are required to practice driving with a licensed adult for at least 30 days after your TIP is issued. After the 30-day practice period, contact a driver testing business to take your on-road driving skills test. 

Locate a driver testing provider under the Business Services section of Online Services.  

Upon passing the on-road skills test, the Michigan Department of State will mail your driver’s license to the address recorded on your TIP. You may also print a copy of you temporary paper license from your online Secretary of State account to use until your driver’s license arrives in the mail. 

If this is your first license, you will be on probation for three years. Some medical conditions could mean restrictions on your license.

Additionally, if you have temporary legal presence in the U.S., you will be issued a limited-term driver's license. The limited-term license is valid for only as long as you are authorized to remain in the country.

Go to Online Services

Congratulations! You have successfully met all the requirements for obtaining a Michigan driver's license. You may visit online services to verify you license has been issued and print out the Temporary License Permit until you receive your license in the mail. If your license has not been issued you may visit a Secretary of State office and bring your skills test certificate, TIP, and appropriate identification documents, such as your certified birth certificate. If this is your first license, you will be on probation for three years. Some medical conditions could mean restrictions on your license.

If you have temporary legal presence in the U.S., you will be issued a limited-term driver's license. The limited-term license is valid for only as long as you are authorized to remain in the country.

Commercial and Industry drivers

In addition to the standard driver’s license, The Michigan Department of State also offers a commercial driver and enhanced license, also known as a CDL. This type of license applies to those seeking to become commercial truck drivers, school bus drivers and other heavy weight vehicle operators.

First-time commercial drivers (Choose tab below)

A commercial driver's license is needed if you are operating a vehicle:

  • With a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more
  • Towing a trailer or other vehicles with a GVWR of 10,001 pounds or more with a gross combination weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more
  • Designed to transport 16 or more people (including the driver)
  • Carrying hazardous materials in amounts requiring placarding
  • Drivers between the ages of 18 and 21 who are a U.S. Citizen or Lawful Permanent Resident can operate a commercial vehicle only in Michigan. You must be at least 21 to operate a commercial vehicle across state lines or to transport hazardous materials in amounts requiring placarding.

Commercial driver's license (CDL)

To apply for a commercial driver’s license, visit a Secretary of State office and provide:

  • Your current valid Michigan driver’s license 
  • Proof of legal presence in the United States
  • Proof of Social Security number 

If applying for a hazardous materials endorsement, you must also provide proof of a Federal Security Threat Assessment. 

At your visit, you will need to:

  1. Complete an application which includes a statement certifying that you meet medical and driver qualifications. If you have had any change in your physical condition since your last driver license renewal which may affect your ability to drive, you may need a special form from the branch office for your physician to fill out before you can apply for your license.
  2. Meet driver record eligibility requirements as determined by Secretary of State staff. 
  3. Pass the CDL endorsement(s) written knowledge and vision tests. You must pass all required knowledge tests to obtain a Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP). If you do not pass a knowledge test on your first attempt, you must wait one day to retake the test. There is a one-day wait period for any subsequent retest.
  4. Pay your CDL fees and schedule your on-road driving skills test. 

Upon being issued your CPL, you can begin driving under supervision of a driver who has a CDL for the type of vehicle you wish to drive. After practicing for at least 14 days, you may schedule a CDL on-road driving skills test with an approved driver testing business. Your skills test must be scheduled at least 2 days in advance of when you are eligible to test.

Locate a driver testing provider under the Business Services section of Online Services.  

After passing your CDL skills test, you will need to return to a Secretary of State office to pay the group endorsement fee ($5/endorsement) and correct your standard license for $9. Your corrected CDL will be mailed to you at the address on your driving record. 

Commercial driver’s license (CDL)

CDL medical certification 

The Department of State offers the industry or commercial driver license (CDL) in both a standard and enhanced version. The enhanced CDL is an attractive alternative to the standard CDL because it allows you to re-enter the U.S. by land or sea from Canada, Mexico, Bermuda, or the Caribbean without the need to show additional identity or citizenship documents at the border.

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

  • Yes. New drivers, including teen drivers under Graduated Driver Licensing, (GDL) are placed on probation for a minimum of three years.  The probationary period is a way for the Secretary of State to monitor the driving performance of new drivers.  Although probation is a separate program from GDL, the objective of both programs is to help inexperienced drivers reduce their crash risk and drive safely.

  • Yes. In fact, crash rates are highest during the first six months of licensure without supervision. The major reason for crashes among newly licensed drivers is the failure to accurately spot and react to potential risks. The most critical time for parents to be involved with young drivers is during the first six months of unsupervised driving.

  • Bring your current out-of-state driver's license, proof of a valid Social Security number, U.S. citizenship or legal presence if not a U.S. citizen, identity and at least two documents establishing Michigan residency to a Secretary of State office. You will be given a vision test and your out-of-state driver's license will be converted to a Michigan driver's license. All documentation is subject to Department of State approval. In some cases, document approval may not occur in the same day and may require an additional visit.

  • Yes. All new Michigan drivers, regardless of age, are probationary for a minimum of three years if they have not been previously licensed. The probationary period is a way for the Secretary of State to monitor the driving performance of new drivers.

  • Yes. You may be denied a driver's license for any of the following reasons:

    • A physical or mental disability
    • Visual impairment
    • Failing a written, road sign or driving skills test
    • Refusing to be photographed
    • Refusing to sign the application
    • Failing to provide a valid residential address
    • Two or more moving violations on your record within the preceding three years (original license only)
  • If you currently have a hazardous materials endorsement, federal rules require you to take the hazardous materials written test every time you renew the endorsement. You must present a Federal Security Threat Assessment letter from the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) and proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residence to renew a CDL with a hazardous materials endorsement. A vision test must be passed. No other CDL written tests are required unless you want to upgrade the group designator, remove an air brake restriction, or add a new endorsement when renewing your license.

  • More information about CDL licensure is available at the following Web sites:

    The Transportation Security Administration

    TSA is the federal agency responsible for administering the portions of the USA PATRIOT Act related to federal background record checks for hazardous materials drivers.

    www.tsa.gov and Universal Enrollment Services at: https://universalenroll.dhs.gov/.

    Universal Enrollment Service Call Center - Toll-free number 855-DHS-UES1 (855-347-8371) call to:

    • Pre-register for a background record check,
    • Inquire about the status of BRC results, or
    • For other TSA questions

    The UES' call center hours of operation are from 8:00am to 10pm Eastern, Monday through Friday.

    Electronic Code of Federal Regulations information can be found at www.ecfr.gov.

    The CFR provides the legal authority and basis for requirements for a federal background record check.

  • If your temporary license isn’t issued after passing your on-road skills test, visit a Secretary of State office to provide the following: 

    • On-road skills test certificate
    • Your Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP)
    • Proof of identification, such as your certified birth certificate
  • You are exempt from certain restrictions if you are driving to or from any of the following activities with your valid Level 2 license:

    • Your place of employment
    • School (private, public, or home school) or a school-sanctioned event or activity
    • Sporting event or activity, or extracurricular event or activity, even if it’s not school-sanctioned but is part of an official sports league or association, or an official extracurricular club. Or if it is paid for as a service offered by a business specializing in those events or activities, or training for those events or activities.
    • Vocational instruction class or program offered by a college, community college, nonprofit association, unit of government, or by a business specializing in vocational training.
    • Event or activity sponsored by a religious organization that is tax-exempt under federal law.
    • Emergency transportation of an individual in need of immediate emergency care or personal protection to a health care professional, hospital, police station, domestic violence shelter, or public safety location.
  • If you receive a ticket or conviction while holding a GDL Level 1 or Level 2 license, it will impact your eligibility to move to the next licensing level and may extend the minimum time you will be required to maintain each licensing level. If you are found at-fault in a traffic accident, receive a citation or license sanction, or are convicted of a driving-related violation in the 3 months prior to scheduling, you will not be able to schedule the on-road driving skills test for the Level 2 license.

    Once you receive full-driving privileges with a Level 3 or standard operator’s license, you, and all new drivers, will be on probation for a minimum of three years. If you receive a ticket or conviction during your probation period, you may receive a letter of contact from the Michigan Department of State for each violation. Depending on the violation, the contacts can range from warning letters to a driver assessment reexamination. If you receive multiple violations the contacts will progress in severity in response to continued unsafe driving. At a driver assessment reexamination, your driving privileges may be restricted and/or suspended.

    You must complete the last ten months of probation without any unsafe driving events, such as traffic convictions, at-fault crashes, or suspensions. Most alcohol laws relating to "zero tolerance" or "minor in possession" require that a driver's license be suspended upon conviction. If an unsafe driving event occurs in the last ten months of probation, the probationary period is extended until you are able to complete 10 consecutive months without an incident.

    Note: Points placed on your driver record during probation or post probation are not automatically erased when probation ends. Most points remain on your driving record for two years from the conviction date.