Pesticide Product RegistrationAgency: Agriculture and Rural Development
The Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development registers pesticides that are sold in the state of Michigan. Michigan law requires that all products which make a pesticidal claim must be registered with the state. The state defines a pesticide as "a substance or mixture of substances intended for preventing, destroying, repelling or mitigating pests or intended as a plant regulator, defoliant, or desiccant." A pest is defined as "an insect, rodent, nematode, fungus, weed and other forms of terrestrial or aquatic plant or animal life or virus, bacteria, or other microorganism, except viruses, fungi, bacteria, nematodes or other microorganisms in or on living animals."
A. NAME OF PERMIT OR APPROVAL:
B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, 1994 PA 451, as amended; Part 83, Pesticide Control
C. APPLICABLE REGULATION: None
D. SUMMARY OF PERMIT/APPROVAL PROCESS:
1. Applicability (activities that require the permit)
Any pesticide that is distributed, sold, exposed, or offered for sale in the State of Michigan must be registered with MDARD; including those minimum risk pesticides that are exempt from EPA registration under FIFRA section 25(b).
2. Pre-Application Requirements
All registered pesticides must comply with Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, 1994 PA 451, as amended; Part 83, Pesticide Control.
3. Application Submission Requirements
- Download and print the Pesticide Registration Application.
- Complete the application and return it to the address listed on the application. Be sure to include a check made out to the State of Michigan for the required amount.
Firms that currently have registered pesticides will receive a renewal application via US Mail. Renewal applications are mailed out in March and must be received by MDARD before July 1. If you do not receive a renewal application by April 15, you should immediately contact Lisa Leibrand at (517) 284-5656 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
4. Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval
- All pesticide registrations expire on June 30 and must be renewed annually.
- A properly submitted application will usually be processed within 4 weeks.
5. Operational Requirements
- Firms must provide a label for each product being registered or renewed.
- Each product must go through a 2-year discontinuance period prior to being canceled.
- Sales based fees for non-specialty products are due by October 1st of each year.
6. Registration Fee
- $40 per product
Groundwater Protection Fee (per product)
- Specialty Products - $100
- Non-specialty Products - .75% of the wholesale value of the previous year's product sales for use in the state ($150 minimum). The minimum fee of $150 must be submitted with the registration application.
- $100 for any renewal application received after June 30th.
7. Appeal Process
Appeals regarding a refusal, revocation, or suspension of a pesticide registration can be made by contacting the Pesticide and Plant Pest Management Division Director.
8. Public Input Opportunities
Pesticide registration related complaints can be directed to the Pesticide Registration Program Manager, by contacting the phone number below.
E. Contact Information:
MDARD Customer Service Center at 1-800-292-3939, Monday - Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.
September 25, 2014